W.O. Larsen Black Diamond

(2.90)
A black cavendish with a brilliant, mild flavour. The best from burley, Virginia and Orient Blattgut, specially broadly cut. A black cavendish, for a long time matured and black tobacco diamonds loosely pressed, provides for brilliant, mild flavour.
Notes: This blend is a re-branding of the classic Stanwell Black Diamond. Same tobacco, different print on box.

Details

Brand W.O. Larsen
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Nuts / Beans, Orange
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.90 / 4
2

5

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2021 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is really easy to talk about this 100 gm tin after your first smoke. The room note is so nice, everyone will feel the chocolate smell. No tongue bite. The taste never change till end if you smoke slowly and let it cool. Highly recommend.
Pipe Used: BIGBEN Sylvia
PurchasedFrom: Loard Shop, Mr.Askari
Age When Smoked: 5 years of experience
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2019 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The sugary black cavendish is one of the main components. The nutty, earthy, woody burley gives it fair competition. The floral, woody, earthy, spicy Oriental is the third most important varietal. The grassy, citrusy, lightly honey-ish bright Virginia is mostly a condiment. The chocolate and vanilla toppings have some richness, and are a tad more more obvious that the nut and very fruity orange additives. The latter two toppings are always evident (especially the orange), providing an omnipresent undercurrent of flavor. The toppings do sublimate the tobaccos to a moderate extent. The strength is just past the center of mild to medium, while the taste just hits the medium mark. The nic-hit is almost in the center of mild to medium. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns a tad warm and clean at a reasonable pace with a mostly consistent taste that lightly lingers when you’re finished. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Not quite an all day smoke as it seems a little more filling than expected.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 22, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I waited several years to smoke this tobacco, which I only saw on european catalogues. The tin is impecable and luxury. Upon opening the tin you will find thick ribbons of black, brown and yellow tobacco. The smell is sweet, with a notes of bread, lemon, and honey. This is a true cased aromatic, in a good sense.

Packing can be a challenge because of the cut. My tin came a little dry, but once remoisturized it wa all ok.

The tobacco is very nice, easy to smoke and sweet to the palate. This is one of those mixtures that taste as they smell, with the adition of a nicotine sting. This can easily be an all day smoke, never boring the puffs.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
it is a very sweet tobacco, round in the mouth and very pleasant. That can be smoked all day long.I love it, it is really excellent.
Pipe Used: Butzz Choquin
PurchasedFrom: Tabac Besson
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2015 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
Out of the pouch the tobacco smells very sweet. The mixture between Burley, Black Cavendish, Virginia and Orient is good. The cut of the tobacco is wide cut. The tobacco burns very well and cold. The taste is very mild. But I can't taste any of the described Flavouring. Only a little bit of sweetness. There are no tongue bites. The roomnote is very good. But the taste not. For me the tobacco is not so good as the Danske Club Black and Virginia.
Pipe Used: Briar Half Bent Dublin & Full Bent Apple
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2014 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Mild aromatic tobacco with a light smoke. Burns easy, not so wet, not so fat. Tastes well in meerschaum but tastes nearly nothing in a briar pipe using 9mm balsa.
Pipe Used: Eskisehir Meerschaum, Savinelli Extra Dry
PurchasedFrom: Duty Free
Age When Smoked: 6-7 months after packing
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I've tried a few bowl of black diamond, it is very fun. Feels soft and not too sweet compared to other Larsen. Taste in the mouth is not hard so that tobacco can I consume daily.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Punto oro / Bjarne
PurchasedFrom: Swiss
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoked it on my meer, it has a light smkoe and lighting is very easy. This tobacco most like an aromatic fruity tobacco that an oriental.

Its a good tabacco BTW, not bad for a try, but i dont buy this again.

Maybe its better smoke on the brair.

Edit: Smoked in brair was worse.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2023 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
My father gave this tobacco to me, him being an elder pipe smoker, who tried a lot of good tobaccos, thought it was a fine selection for me to try. Althought he left it in his cupboard for far too long, I was able to rehumidify it and boy was it a pleasure. I still was a lit dry, but tasted and smoket incredibly well. I usually resort to vanilla tastes when smoking aromatics, but this chocolaty taste was also one to remember. If you rae able to buy one and would like to have a tobacco which is easy to smoke, is not full of nicotine and also gives a pleasant feeling to the people around you (as it is a smell-bomb in the very best sense), do get one.
Pipe Used: Hungarian Szabó tabletop pipes
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco shop in Vienna
Age When Smoked: old, do not even know how old
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2022 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
Nice and sweet aromas in the tin, some peach, oranges, caramel, and chocolate. Pleasant smoke, with a very nice room note. It burns very well, does not bite at all, and is very easy to smoke. Recommended for a relaxed long smoke full of sweet flavors.
Pipe Used: John Aylesbury - Billiard Dunkelbraun
PurchasedFrom: Cigarworld
Age When Smoked: 1
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"