4noggins Owl's Head

(3.35)
A classic mellow, sweet, and nicely balanced mixture of Orientals, Virginias, Cyprian Latakia, and Black Cavendish. An English blend that is just complex enough yet mild enough to smoke anytime of day or all day.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.35 / 4
13

5

5

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 23 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2014 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Although I am a fan of Balkan blends, I prefer medium to full flavor which this is not in the range. The cavendish really adds some sweetness, maybe too sweet for me, and the body just not impresses me. The second half of the bowl deepens a bit in flavor, but I will still reach for Chipman Hill more often.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
First whiff of this tobacco upon opening the bag is strong latakia. I thought I was at the campfire and was going to be knocked away. I let it dry awhile and packed it into a new cob. I was sure it was going to be way too strong, like Maltese Falcon - that's what it reminded me of.

But from first draw to last, I found Owl's Head to be one of the most flavorful, balanced tobaccos I've ever smoked and I've smoked a pipe for 40 years. None of the tobaccos dominate but all compliment each other and add their own touch. Use of black cav is particularly well done - because each puff finishes slightly sweet. Not candy sweet but high quality cavendish sweet.

We're not talking candy and we're not talking steak - just high quality tobaccos working together in a way that I have to admit is among the best I've tasted. Better than 965, Penzance. Let's just call it a great American-English. Burns and tastes the same throughout the bowl. I'll definitely order a bigger quantity next time. I wouldn't necessarily call OH an all-day smoke because it's too good to enjoy more than once or twice a day. 4 stars, deserved.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New/Dried
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Rich is an admirable blender and never seems to use a heavy hand with any of his blends. Owl's Head was a "Steady Eddie" from top to bottom with a sweet English flavor supported, I think, by the good measure of Orientals in the blend. I would compare this one favorably to McClelland's Wilderness, but with more Latakia. A really nice smoke that is not heavy and not light.

Pipestud
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2013 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Strong
An well balanced, complex mixture, the components cannot be easy perceptible, no Latakia predominates, but... Black Cavendish addiction, give sweetness to the mixture.

So Called as English mixture (Latakia, Virginia and Orientals), really is an Americam Mixture (Latakia, Virginia, Orientals and Cavendish).

The result is splendourous, great blend. One more for my favorites, together with Chipman Hill and Penzance.

Superior even to some benchmarks, as 965, EMP, NightCup, Presbyterian.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2011 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was lucky enough to receive a few ounces of Owl's Head prior to its formal release and I must say that Rich really did a great job with this "heavy on the Orientals" new English blend. Although true for most pipe tobaccos (IMHO), Owl's Head really benefits from being well dried before smoking. I prefer my English blends to have an underlying sweetness, (think Legends, 965, Magnum Opus) and Owl's Head leans more toward sweet than savory, although there is enough of each to make for a very enjoyable blend. The Latakia plays more of a supporting role here. I am alway cautious of English blends that add cavendish, but in the case of Owl's Head, it was smartly done. However, if you prefer an English/Oriental blend that is on the stronger side with more of a nic kick, this may not be your blend. 4 Noggins continues to produce high quality house blends and Owl's Head is no exception. Highly Recommended.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2013 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a something of an oddity - a faithful smoker of Continental aromatics for over 30 years now. Yet this is my favourite non-aromatic tobacco, discovered after I got a sample from Rich at 4noggins. There is enough in it to keep me interested with distinctive note of orientals and some hints of latakia, but not so prominent as to put me off since I do not usually smoke latakia. No casing to be detected (if any it is so slight so as to be negligible). The addition of Cavendish keeps it all in a familiar perspective for a continental aro smoker. Burns slightly moist at first, and needs minor drying, but burns well leaving a fine dottle that retains shape of the bowl. Top marks for a fine blend, Mr. Gottlieb. I'll have more.

Edit: after 2 years of storage, I opened it again and the smoke is just heavenly. The blend is beautifully balanced, moisture negligible, orientals and virginia still present, and cavendish keeping a sweet & firm grip on latakia. I have since smoked Dunhill's 965 and Nightcap and there is simply no contest - "Owl's Head" is the best of them by a long shot in leaf quality, blend balance, and reliability. There should be Oscars awarded for this.
Pipe Used: Radford's rhodesian with 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh out of the packet
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 05, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
My first impression of Owl’s Head was that it is somewhat sweet and smoky. I believe that the small amount of Cavendish adds the subtle sweetness to the blend. The Latakia shows itself more as I smoke further through the bowl. I can taste a bit of sourness in the back of my throat, but in a good way. I tried this blend when I was a new pipe smoker and did not like it. Now, two years later I find this to be a very enjoyable smoke. I’m glad I tried it again.
Age When Smoked: 2 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Quoted from my review on the Pax Tobacco Crawl at Pipes Magazine.

Whooaa, now this is what I'm talking about. A lovely, superbly balanced blend with a kiss of smoky Latakia that finishes with a sweet spot of Cavendish.

I packed this into my Missouri Freehand for my morning commute. What a great pipe! Owl's Head moisture content was perfect and the leaf blend required no preparation. It lit with one match and burned evenly down to the bottom of the bowl with no relights required. I give credit to both the blend and the pipe. The flavor profile goes from sweet to more smoky as the bowl progresses.

We're blessed with many incredible English blends, Squadron Leader, Quiet Nights, Penzance, Magnum Opus. Owls Head can compete with the best. The balance is perfect - on the whole, a bit lighter body than some Lat blends. This is not Pirate Kake.

If a novice smoker were looking to try their first English blend, Owls Head would be an excellent choice. The Latakia and orientals don't dominate and the Cavendish establishes a sweet foundation palatable to even the most shy tongue.

I happened to mention to Rich that the market for English blends is so crowded, that it is hard for a blend to stand out. Owls Head is a meld that newcomers or English aficionados can enjoy equally.
Pipe Used: Missourie Meerschaum Freehand & various briars
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 12, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I got this as a sample when purchasing some other tobaccos from 4Noggins. I will be ordering more. The tobacco is blended very well as to where no one type overplays the other. The cavendish plays a very minor role to the orientals and virginias and the Latakia lends a slight smokiness to the blend. Even though I am usually not as into Latakia blends as I am va's and vapers I am slowly getting addicted to this blend. Two thumbs up Rich.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 04, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
4noggins - Owls Head.

If you like Oriental tobaccos this will rock your world! Me, on the other hand, I find the Orientals a little too zealous!

In the smoke, like I said, the Orientals take charge. The others are much lighter in flavour. The Latakia gives a slight smokiness, but it's nowhere near being a Lat-Bomb. The smaller amount of black Cavendish soothes the palate, reduces some of the harshness from the Orientals, and adds a sweetness. There's a subtle fruitiness from the Virginia which has a similar calming effect as the black Cav'. It burns well, fairly cool, and is easy on the tongue.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: not the best.

Unfortunately I'm not a fan of this, so two stars it is:

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 25, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I have been looking for a favorite tobacco in the mild English class. With this tobacco I have found it. It is Oriental forward, tastes delicious, and burns nicely to the bottom of the bowl. Definitly try Owl's Head from 4Noggins if you too like this style. Now one of the handfull of tobaccos in my permant rotation.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"