Davidoff English Mixture

(2.67)
A traditional English middle-cut (a little wider than ribbon) blend of Virginia, burley and latakia, with a touch of perique spice tobacco added to further enhance the bouquet. This is a mild blend rich in tobacco flavors and backed by a touch of spice.

Details

Brand Davidoff
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Orlik Tobacco Company
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.67 / 4
14

21

21

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 63 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2021 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
Out of the tin smells like a campfifre. Once in the pipe I can detect some spicy flavours, probably from the latakia. Nicotine for me is quite high. Does not bite. Although is a nice blend as all Davidoff's blends, is by no means, one of my favourites.

Pipe Used: Poker, cherrywood
PurchasedFrom: pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 3 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Tolerable
I read many of the reviews on this site before purchasing this blend and noted in particular the negative (sometimes bordering on hysterical) criticisms of its name by those proclaiming that this is not an English blend. Phrases like 'breach of the Trade Descriptions Act' being bandied about. Calm down.

Those making such complaints would have served themselves better by spending a minute or two on the maker's website where they would have observed that this is described as a 'subtle' blend. Subtle does not equate to bad, nor is it right to say this is not an English blend. It is.

A cool smoke, the Virginias and Burleys are to the fore, with Latakia and perique in the background. Some have spoken of a sweetness and some sort of casing, but to me it is the citrus of the particular Virginias that provides this.

All in all, a really pleasant, easy all day smoke. Very high quality tobaccos. The one negative that I would have to agree with is the room note which someone described as cigarette-like with which I would not disagree, but that in itself is not enough to demur from my 4 star recommendation. Lovely stuff.
Pipe Used: Peterson 05
PurchasedFrom: mysmokingshop.com
Age When Smoked: New
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I would compare Davidoff English to Dunhill's Nightcap (Murray's version) except that it lacks the same depth, mainly due to the lack of unflavored black cavendish to give the blend heft. The Perique element is also a little more pronounced here. A quality blend with a solid presentation for those who like the mid range English fare with a dose of Perique.

Pipestud
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
That's a very good quality tobacco.a low content latalia blend.when you open it you get the latakia but not very much.packs and lights easy.burns nice without getting hot.if you go slow you get mostly the nuts and spicyness .if you go hard you get some latakia.a nice blend to start your day but not to end it at late night.if you are into light english mixtures defenitelly try it!
Age When Smoked: When opened!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2008 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
As others have mentioned, this is a tobacco that defies categorization. Unfortunately, Davidoff falls prey to their own blend by trying to name it, and doing so inaccurately.

I smoked an entire tin of this and could never put my finger on what was in it. There's some extremely mild casing on top of the light virginias but it's so subtle that it eluded me. It's an enjoyable if somewhat mono-dimensional tobacco. It simply did not develop for me. What I tasted on the first light is what I tasted on the last puff. There's something very comforting in that and hence, I consider this a comfortable smoke that I've enjoyed and may go back to from time to time but not one that I'll rave about to others. If it were a little less pricy, who knows?
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Davidoff - English Mixture.

There are a few arguments as to whether or not this is a true English blend, me? well I don't care if it's an English, Scottish, or from the planet Mars!! On with the review:

The first thing that'll bother a lot of folks is the price, I paid £18.20+post for it... ouch, for that money it had better be good!

The first thing to give credence to the price is the moisture in a freshly opened tin: not wet, not dry, perfect; I want more for my money than just that though!

On to the taste, I detect absolutely zero Latakia: no woodiness or smokiness. The flavour I get is a lot more of a VaBur/VaPer/ VaBurPer (I'll use that term again LOL!). I can taste a bit more than just a 'touch' of Perique from it like it says in the description, it actually seems very sharp at times. The Virginia gives more flavour in comparison to the Burley; this, again, is very mild.

The nicotine's only a little above mild from this, Mild to Medium would seem a fair value.

I stated how I paid the best part of £20.00 for this and wanted it to be worth it; is it good value? No, it's not worth that much money, not when there's loads of choices for around £12.00. If it weren't for the price I'd give it three stars, but considering the price of it two stars is what it's going to get.

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson #68
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2009 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The worst thing about this mixture is, beyond any doubt, the name. We're used to see English Mixture in tobaccos that've got a definite topping and sometimes a moderate casing, but naming English a mixture with a clear topping, no Orientals, almost no Latakia and no Virginias dominance is beyong anyone's imagination.

Anyway, this tobacco will hardly fit any categorization whatsoever. No casing for an aromatic and too much Burley for a VaPer, the closest one can think is a Scottish Mixture, mainly because this term has so many different definitions.

To the point: a very fine mixture with burley as the main leaf, nicely balanced with bright virginias, a good dose of perique and just a pinch of Latakia (around the same amount than Royalty), topped with some whisky. No tongue bite and good burning characteristics complete a solid pipe tobacco that can be enjoyed if one's mind is rid of categorizations.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is a mid-morning smoke; there is no doubt, Burley forward. I saw an earlier review which compared this to Nightcap "without the depth" - which means Early Morning Pipe, folks. In fact, its EMP with just a touch more Latakia, and less Burley forward.

That Burley-bacci is the "cigarette" smell; it's not a bad thing: consider it analogous to using club soda in a mixed drink, rather than ginger ale. What Davidoff is doing is using a subtle leaf that doesn't get in the way of the light bit of very high-quality Cyprian Latakia (and, the smoke isn't too hot). The result is a medium bodied smoke which doesn't blow out your palate at noon.

If you are occasional smoker, don't waste time with Burley: you'll be happier sticking with VaPers or big Latakia, like Nightcap. Avoid aromatics as they burn too hot. BUT if you are an all-day smoker (the kind of person who said, "Yup" when I mentioned the problem with aromatics, a moment ago) then add this to your rotation as a mid-morning or EARLY afternooner.

I take morning classes, online, which start at 5:30 a.m.; so, I wake up with coffee and Early Morning Pipe. The next bowl, usually around 6, stays EMP...but, by 7 a.m. I've moved on to Davidoff English Mixture. It's nice until noon, when Seattle Pipe Club's Plum Pudding is pie. Then, whenever I get overwhelmed with the puddin', I move up to Seattle Evening and finish with Nightcap. It's a nice rotation for the Lat-lover, or the academic-type.
Pipe Used: Nording Compass
PurchasedFrom: David's Tobacco
Age When Smoked: Fresh from can
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2016 Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I think a lot of the lackluster reviews of this mixture come from a misleading name, and perhaps a bit of a steep price. Both are correct, it is more a mild Danish with only a faint hint of traditional English character that's maybe 20% more expensive than it should be.

But, it's also a very enjoyable smoke. I tend to like latakia forward English blends best, followed by milder Danish blends as my occasional "sweet tooth" crave. This scratches the Danish itch for me quite well really, I'll buy it again.

Subtly sweet and very mildly tangy, I enjoy this as a first smoke of the day. If you've already enjoyed a heavier smoke in a given day, you might miss the subtlety and calm presentation of this blend. Quality of the tobacco is top notch and I think where the price might come in (although Davidoff is generally an expensive mark, there's probably some "name brand" penalty too).

Forgetting the expectations of traditional English, and enjoying it as the first pipe of the day cast this blend in the right light for best enjoyment. It's actually a bit unique from just about any other "themed' blend, worth a shot.
Age When Smoked: 3 days after opening
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2006 Mild Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
English blend indead! That's damn near false advetisement i was most put out by this so called blend, it was a waste of time and money.

It did burn well but other than that I have nothing good to report on it.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Mr. Davidoff should give a raise for the guy who blended this, and fire the one who named this! That´s all!

I can´t tell what kind of mixture is this, it´s very excentric and unique, and also very good. The quality of the tobacco is top notch, but I can´t sense no latakia at all.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"