McClelland CPCC Scottish Woods

(3.71)
This Scottish mixture is full-bodied and deeply flavored with the finest grades of delicately spiced Oriental tobaccos and cool smoking latakia, lively, refreshing, and very satisfying. Discover why this blend has achieved such a great following of discerning pipe smokers.
Notes: Originally introduced in October, 1990 for the Chicagoland Pipe Collectors' Club, is now part of the Club Blends Series.

Details

Brand McClelland
Series Club Blends
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.71 / 4
17

2

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Unnoticeable
My...My...My...what a wonderful smoke. That's about all I can say. Buy it...smoke it....you will love it. When I first lit up I immediately thought of a winter night...sitting in the chair with a glass of brandy and good book in hand. I suppose that is because I am a Yankee!! LOL 🙂 My first few puffs brought this to my mind but I must add that this is truly a smoke for all seasons. Just a wonderful smoke. This is the first smoke I have tried classified as "Scottish"!. It won't be my last. I have been a pipe smoker for just over 3 years now and I must say I truly enjoy it. I have tried many English/Balkan blends, which are my favorite, and I tend to gravitate towards them. This blend is very similar to those type of blends but has something extra that stands out. It is very rich in taste...but mild. It has authority with a gentleness of spirit. I am a big Latakia fan and it is there in this blend to be sure. But the other tobaccos just perform so exquisitely around it...and the result is quite lovely. Opening the tin...it was the usual steak sauce smell. MC tins are notorious for that. But they do not taste like that. The leaf was semi dry. Just the way I prefer it. Lovely rich deep chocolate color with flecks of reddish blonde. The tin was packed nicely with no unwanted debris. Packed just fine. I always use the pinch...tamp...pinch... tamp until we are topped off. The charring light was orgasmic. Wow...the taste was outstanding. Creamy smooth and it stayed that way down the middle and to the end. And it smoked evenly and true down to the bottom. I only had to relight once. No dottle. Ash was darkish black and gray. If you like English/Balkans and light Latakia you need to check this blend out. My guess is you will be pleased. Five Stars lads.
Pipe Used: Peterson Star 309
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes (Unfortunately)
Age When Smoked: Tin Date 01/2013 Smoked 09/2014
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 28, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
O-M-F-G! This is Serious Manna.

Our Master Blenders have done it again -- Scottish Woods joins the exalted ranks of their top-shelf masterpieces Dark Star, Three Oaks (Syrian & Original), British Woods, and Royal Cajun Dark.

When I popped open the tin and sniffed, I knew this was going to be something extraordinary: if velvety smooth and tender have an aroma, it was this. This sublime concoction is a perfectly balanced oriental forward blend that may be the most velvety, smoothest, assertive-yet-delicate, roundest blend I think I've ever sipped. The oriental -- neither too tangy nor spicy, but fulfilling the promise of oh-so-tender -- is the star of this show; but it refuses to hoard the attention, instead preferring to magnanimously share the stage with everybody else, which, like a great actor or athlete, brings out the best in everybody to create a powerhouse, flawless ensemble.

If you like oriental forward english blends (which I'll now assume a Scottish Blend signifies, since there are so many conflicting definitions), you owe it to yourself to try this one. Even if you don't, you should still try it, since this is a masterpiece of the blender's art. This is the one I've been looking for. My highest recommendation!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
The Virginias are a little tangy sweet, and act as a base for the other tobaccos. The Cyprian latakia is smoky, woody and sweet and plays well with the Oriental/Turkish, though I seem to notice the latakia a little less in the second half of the bowl as the O/T became more prominent. They are mildly sweet, but mainly woody with a few dry sour and floral notes. They are spicy, and as previously mentioned, more so after the half way point. The taste is dryer then, too. The spice may tingle your tongue just a mite, but this blend won't bite. The nic-hit is a shade past mild to medium. Burns slow and cool with a rich flavor, and leaves just a little moisture in the bowl. Needs a few relights. Has a spicy after taste. I recommend a wide bowl for this blend and a moderate smoke rate to catch the full experience. Not really an all day smoke.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is a remarkably tasty blend and I believe it is because of the high grade Latakia (Syrian?) that is used. Sweet n a natural sort of way and boy, do you get clouds of thick smoke when puffing this one. The other components deliver the good, making this a true Scottish rather than English style blend, IMO.

Pipestud
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 01, 2014 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant
Typical "English" brown-to-black mixture with a light and refreshing tin nose of mostly Virginias with a hint of Turkish. I was therefore expecting something along the lines of McClellands Green label oriental series. I got that and much more.

Once again, the masters of Virginia leaf show their forte with stellar Virginias, moderately spiced with orientals and topped off with a bit more than a whisper of latakia. The lack of unflavored Cavendish might keep this from being a true Scottish (or not, depending on your definition) but it was not lacking in mellow sweetness. McClellands has a knack for producing milder mixtures that are rich in flavor and Scottish blends are generally so, at least for me. Delicately spicy and moderately complex, with low nicotine. This can sit proudly alongside Germain's 1820 and Rattrays Jocks or Highland Targe. I preferred it ever so slightly over the Rattrays and it was close to the 1820 and just different enough to make them both staples in my rotation. Try this if you're a seasoned Virginia smoker and want to see what the "oriental mixture" fuss is all about. You'll find your favorite leaf out front and center and the others in mild support. Excellent job again by McClellands!
Pipe Used: meerschaum and morta
Age When Smoked: 2 years
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2012 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I've smoked McClellands English/Balkan/Scottish blends for over 25 years now and this is the first time I've tried this one and I've been missing a FANTASTIC smoke !! I am a Latakia lover and usually smoke Oriental #14 as my daily smoke ( 4/5 bowls a day) and though it is described as a Full Scottish blend, this one is truely a FULL SCOTISH blend in all the sense of that description! First, i did not detect the "McClelland ketchup" scent when I opened the tin, just a full, spicy aroma that gave a hint of what was to come. The moisture level in my tin was just right not needing any drying out and the tobacco was a nice ribbon cut easy to pack and light. Reminded me of the old Dunhill 965 ( pre-Murray days) in looks, texture and burn qualities. It lights easily and stays lit well through the whole bowl. I smoked my first two bowls in two different sized briar pipe, one a group 3 Dunhill Bulldog, the other in a larger Savanelli Autograph and this last bowl in a medium sized Meerschaum and it was in the Meer that the whole thing came together!! It has that nice full Latakia smoky taste and feel in the mouth at first with the Latakia falling back and the spicy Orientals taking charge with the Latakia just there till the bowl was thru. This is not a STRONG tobacco, rather a FULL BODIED blend that has several aspects in a nice balanced blend. This definatly goes on my "list" of tobacco's to always have !
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
McClelland does it once again. What a friend to the Latakia lover!!! This stuff is delicious....period! Upon opening you get that wonderful smoky barbecue aroma. God I really love it. Lights up good as the blend is pretty dry. The first taste is that delicious smoky tangy flavor with a bit of spicy kick but not overwhelming. You can tell there are some real good quality tobaccos in this blend. This blend taste wonderful throughout the bowl getting just a bit more spicy at the end of the smoke. If your a Latakia lover this blend will be a favorite. I call it a full four star smoke. Oh the room note is not going to be a favorite for a non-pipe smoker as it is a bit strong but if your not smoking in the house or at church, well your golden!
Pipe Used: Boswell Poker
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Great blend here. The Orientals are woody, leathery, and spicy. The Virginias are sweet and toasty with just a hint of fruit and a bit of spice. The Latakia is light lending smoke and wood. Smoked this in 3 types of pipe with varying results.

Cob (MM Country Gentleman) - Oriental forward with a fair presence from the Latakia. Virginias in the background. Moderate amount of sweetness. Good amount of smoke and spice.

Clay (7 inch Dutch Gouda) - Oriental forward with very clear flavors. Latakia riding in the back seat. Virginias riding next to the Latakia. Not as much sweetness or smokiness as the cob or briar, but just as spicy.

Briar (Chacom Cutty) - Best balance here. Latakia nearly equal to the Oriental with a good showing from the Virginias. Nicely smoky, sweet and spicy.

It was good in all three, but the briar wins this one hands down. I have to say though, the very clear Oriental flavors in the clay hold some appeal. 3 stars in the cob and clay. 4 stars in the briar.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in flavor. Burns best with some drying time.
Pipe Used: listed in review
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2013 Mild Medium Full Very Pleasant
I just tried this blend for the first time and was very pleased with it. Initial taste was sweet with a great aroma. Half way down the bowl I noticed a little spice and sourness that was very appealing. Leaves a nice taste in your mouth after wards. Very enjoyable and plan to stock up on this one.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yes, Scottish Woods might lack in nicotine, but the taste and richness of the tobacco varieties included will make it very appealing for those who seek a great Scottish mixture that is low in nicotine.

I do believe that it has some unsweetened Black CA as well, which makes it a true scottish mixture.

A good offering from McClelland. The low level of nicotine is what prevents me from giving it 3 stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 01, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I agree with Puro. This is a keeper, for sure. Excellent Orientals, fine Virginias and smokey Cyprian Latakia combine to create this wonderful full Scottish mixture.

Looking forward to seeing what a few years in Ye Olde Cellar does to this already sublime mixture. Many thanks to the McNeil's for bringing this one back!

Highly recommended.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"