G. L. Pease Quiet Nights

(3.52)
Rich, deep, contemplative... Ripe red Virginias, fine Orientals, smokey Cyprus latakia, and a pinch of acadian perique are pressed and matured in cakes before being sliced. The sophisticated flavors and exotic aroma provide a wonderful backdrop for quiet moments of reflection, a good book, and if you are so inclined, perhaps a wee dram.
Notes: This is the second entry in the Old London Series. It is fuller and somewhat more latakia forward than Chelsea Morning, with a higher percentage of Orientals, and less perique. It's rich, complex, leathery and smoky, with a naturally sweet structure from the darker Virginias, and a balanced Oriental spice. It compares in strength and fullness with blends like Samarra and Blackpoint, but the pressing makes it deeper, darker, and brings new dimensions to the flavors and aromas. It's really wonderful. An ideal addition to the series, perfectly complimenting a relaxing evening. Quiet Nights was introduced in May, 2010.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.52 / 4
98

33

10

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 12, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Coming off of a Balkan binge, Quiet Nights at first smoke seemed flat. I missed that overwhelming Turkish overload that dominated smokes like Charring Cross and Bill Bailey's Balkan, and swore that the blend was missing something, going so far as to apply an extra bit of Smyrna in hopes of evening the blend out. That, of course, was unnecessary, and my palate quickly adapted. I suppose that I can be finicky when smoking a blend for the first time, full of expectations and curious about the impressions of others.

In that vein, I've wondered why Quiet Nights has been so "quiet" on Tobacco Reviews, as people have comparatively registered a great many more appraisals of Chelsea Morning. I say this because I expected Quiet Nights to be the showcase in the Old London series--a Pease Nightcap killer. It's been so long since I've smoked Dunhill that I honestly forgot the blend, and having recently acquired some of the new stuff, found myself underwhelmed. The new Nightcap seemed weak, and lighter on the Latakia than I remember, however hazy those old impressions. But that overwhelming strength I was seeking doesn't exist here, as well.

Quiet Nights is certainly a full blend, but nothing that will knock you out, which is probably a good thing for most smokers. It's a rare English in flake form, a beautiful blend in the tin, with broken, soft, thick flakes. The Latakia is far more plentiful than the new Nightcap, and the blend registers a deeper sweetness as well with a contained Perique element, similar to Nightcap. They share attributes, but their differences are greater than some other blend comparisons that can be made.

Now that Quiet Nights is finished and I have that old standby at hand again, I'm realizing that I've come to appreciate Balkans more than I had anticipated, despite my early dislike of the genre. With that, this fight to the death finally ended when the whole event burned to the ground. It was a tasty spectacle.

Four of Five.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2010 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable
Most of the Pease blends that I have tried I haven't really enjoyed without some age on the tin. Quiet Nights is my exception. It may be unfair to Greg, but I think that many will compare this to Penzance. I find this blend to be full right from the start, yet very cool and smooth. It is a little moist right out of the tin, but only requires a short while to dry. QN packs a fair amount of nicotine so beware if that's not to your liking. For those that compare it to Penzance (I find myself somewhat in that camp), QN lacks the sweetness found in Penzance although that may develop more with age. What keeps this from being a four star blend for me is the bottom third of the bowl. To my taste it becomes less complex and more bitter. I have stashed a few tins away to see what a year or two will bring. Recommended.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Wonderful tin note, deep, rich, smokey. First light, smokey Latakia followed very closely with the Red Virginia’s, orientals and perique. Has a spice that plays strongly throughout and towards the end of bowl can get very pronounced. Red Virginia earthy tang shines through though and kind of mellows the spice. This is a well blended tobacco that offers enough complexity to keep a person coming back. With about 11 months age this blend mellowed some but all the components shine through nicely. Later this winter I’ll crack a 2 year old tin and will see how it has held up. I suspect I know already.
Pipe Used: Phillip Trypis Poker, Savinelli Lancilotto
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh and 11 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dry, delicate broken flakes. Intense smell, not totally unlike that of Nightcap to the nose. I found that the experience with this one is best when not rubbing it out, as this tends to lead to a lot of dust instead of the ribbons I was expecting which makes it more difficult to smoke effortlessly.

Starts out discreetly sweet on the char, but soon gives way to a bit of dryness (in the wine sense) on the tongue. A bit of VA grass that melds into a surprisingly mild and creamy latakia against a backdrop of incense-like turkish - a sensation that for me kept evolving and intensifying slowly towards the mid-bowl.

Mid bowl reveals a clearer nuttiness, a bit of fruitiness on the palate, as well as a bit of pepperiness, primarily in the side stream. In other words, the perique accentuates the flavours further.

The finish becomes a bit sharp, from time to time edging the line to bite, but rarely so far as becoming unpleasant. Puffing cadence is however a good idea. The wood notes and incense spice also becomes more prevalent here.

All in all a good, though not spectacular english mixture. Enjoyable, but perhaps a little bit too subtle in some respects for it to become more than an occasional smoke for me personally. However, those on the lookout for a mild and relatively complex E.M. will probably find a lot to like here.
Pipe Used: Peterson 999, Peterson 30
Age When Smoked: 10 months (tin date: 08-23-17).
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Tin note of smoky, spices, and mild tart fruit. Tobacco flake is more of a broken flake. The dark brown flakes rub out nicely, and though moist, I don't think it needs any drying. Burns slow with many relights. The strength is medium and nic is mild. No flavoring detected. Taste is medium and consistent, with complex notes of dry earth, wood, bread, smoky, musty sweet grass, lemon zest, spice, mildly sour herbs, floral, mildly spicy, mildly sweet raisin background note and a peppery retro. Virginia is leading slightly, with Latakia, Perique and Oriental/Turkish supporting. Room note is tolerable, and aftertaste is great.
Pipe Used: 1981 Peterson Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 4 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
To give you a hint from where my below impressions are coming from; I favor aromatic blends (vanilla being my favorite), although I am finding I enjoy English/Scottish blends more frequently, which I could not stand when I first started smoking a pipe. I have been trying more of the English/Aromatic combo blends, which I have found being more and more of that I am reaching for for my everyday smoke

Opening the tin I smelled the Latakia right off the bat, it was not overwhelming but the strongest note.

The flavor I tasted was the Latakia with pepper notes from the Perique, it was a nice strength surprisingly mild after smelling the tin note.

It arrived semi-dry, so no drying time was needed. Was able to light this without issue and hardly any relights. I did not have any tongue-bite with this blend.
Pipe Used: Rattray Goblin 99
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Right out of the thin smells sweet acid and greasy.

It came with some humidity, it is recommended to let the tobacco rest for a while before smoking, an even then it needs several relights.

When smoked the creamy and greasy flavours are very present, with a subtle sweetness. A very interesting and complex blend, it has the GLP´s signature.

I marinated with ‘cocada’ an Ecuadorian sweet made of coconut. It brought all the aroma out front.

It has a very pleasant and long lasting after taste.
Pipe Used: meerschaum bent apple
PurchasedFrom: el estanco Quito
Age When Smoked: 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2018 Medium None Detected Very Full Tolerable
Quiet Nights presented in a coarse flake, begins with velvety rich and smokey Cyprian Latakia, it’s piney aroma along with the Red Virginia’s deep fruity essence form the base of this contemplative blend. The resinous, sour and fragrant Orientals which are present throughout, dance on the palate and are supported by Perique’s unwavering peppery presence in the background. A very full bodied smoke with medium strength that indeed burns cool and pleasantly to a gray ash requiring few relights. A tolerable room note and a slightly sweet finish. An acomplished blend by Pease worthy of the cellar.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2018 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This blend is tangy, with the Latakia being mild but adding a woodsy and smoky note. The other components are present, but contribute only a little amount to the flavor. This is a pleasant smoke with minimal delights. It is a nice change of pace, but I am more found of Gaslight.
Pipe Used: Rossi Bullog
Age When Smoked: 6 months to 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2018 Medium to Strong Mild Extra Full Very Strong
PREFACE: I initially wrote a rather scathing review of Quiet Nights in February of this year. When I first smoked Quiet Nights—and the subsequent dozen pipes thereafter—I got "Lat. Tongue", and wrote it off too soon. After not having touched the tin in eight months, I came back to it with a fresh outlook, and it's produced some pleasant smokes for me as of late. Perhaps it was the age, or the further development of my palette which made me change my perspective. Either way, I had to rewrite this review to set the record straight.

REVIEW: Quiet Nights is a robust, Latakia-forward blend that is anything but subtle or mild. The tin note is reminiscent of the interior of an old stovepipe—rife with the smell of creosote, with hints of spicy tobacco. Upon first light, the presence of leaves other than the smoky Latakia are immediately noticeable; that unmistakable flavor of Virginia comes through with a touch of sweetness, and the orientals stand out as well. The Perique is just barely noticeable, blending in as part of the larger picture rather than being an instantly recognizable condiment. For me, the Orientals stand out as a wonderful compliment to the Latakia, adding that unmistakable spicy tang. Finally, there seems to be a very mild topping, but I cannot discern the exact flavor of it. The nicotine content is medium-low, but it is noticeable if you're sensitive to it. While Quiet Nights isn't an all-time favorite, I very much enjoy the smoky, spicy, and mildly sweet nature of this Latakia-forward blend.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 904 KS, Nording Bent Dublin, MM cob
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes
Age When Smoked: about one year old
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"