Davidoff Red Mixture

(2.93)
This mixture owes its distinctive aroma to a luxurious blend of black cavendish tobaccos and the interesting contrast of Virginian ribbon cut. This is an exceptionally smooth blend, which burns evenly.

Details

Brand Davidoff
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Orlik Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Caramel, Vanilla
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.93 / 4
11

18

8

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 40 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 30, 2020 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
The tin aroma is like prunes, or raisings. A close look at the colors of the tobacco reveals a mix of about 50% dark Cavendish, about 25% brown Burley and probably about 25% yellow Virginias.

Easy to pack, burns cool and dry, with no tongue bite. The fruity taste in the pipe is similar to the tin's aroma. The smell lingers in my skin and clothing for a while. Even my wife likes the smell. It is indeed a pleasant smoke.
Pipe Used: Corncob
PurchasedFrom: pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 4 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginia is grassy and citrus sweet. The black cavendish has a mild vanilla note, and there’s more of it than there is of the Virginia. The toppings are mildly applied, but tone down the Virginia a bit. The vanilla topping is a little more noticeable than the caramel. I notice very slight cocoa hit at times. Has virtually no nic-hit. Burns at a slow to moderate pace, very cool, clean, and silky, creamy smooth with a consistent flavor from start to finish. The toppings don’t weaken, it never gets harsh and there’s no chance of bite. Requires a few relights as the tobacco is a little moist, but I saw no need to dry it. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Has a mild and sweet after taste and room note. Won’t wear your taste buds out in repeat performances.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is a nice aromatic blend.i smoked it several times.when you open it you get a mix aroma of vanilla with less caramel and some citrus.it seems a bit moist but you don't need to dry it out.as you smoke it it might burn a bit but never bit me!as you smoke it you realize that from the beggining till the end it has the same behaviour and the aromas are there till the end.it is a medium nic and i smoke it after launch.for some it might be an all day blend too.if you wanna try a davidoff aromatic this is your blend i ensure you!
Age When Smoked: When opened!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 09, 2014 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
One of my favorites, never before I have smoked an aromatic to be so mild and sweet ! Pros. Extremely pleasant in every aspect; cool burning, wonderful taste and aroma. No tongue bite,in fact a soft and mellow palate hours after the smoke, doubles the pleasure you get from this fantastic tobacco. Cons. High price A benchmark for mild aromatics,for sure !
Pipe Used: BC Millesime 2012
Age When Smoked: new
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2014 Strong Medium Full Pleasant
A nice aromatic from Davidoff, rather satisfactory as some of their blends may not raise to the expectations one has to the name of the brand.

Pleasant smoke. The aromatic touch is discreet, lightly vanilla and caramel. To be tried by smokers used to aromatics and although by the other ones who may want to have a try.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2016 Extremely Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I bought this tin of tobacco looking for a sweet aromatic, something with not just plain old vanilla flavoring. I was looking for Peterson's Sweet Killarney but the tobacco shop was out of stock. The Davidoff mixtures caught my eye and I came to tobaccoreviews.com for information.

Smoking this blend the very first time there was no real room note nor was there a sweet or tobacco taste, Is smoked three bowls with the same result and decided to put it in a mason jar and leave it for a better days to come.

So 2 days back my girlfriend and I were heading to her parents place and I asked her to just grab me a pipe and some tobacco. (I was running late). In the car I saw that she grabbed Red Mixture, I was not in the mood for an aromatic but kept quiet as I was the reason we were running late and it was Christmas eve. I took some tobacco out of the jar to put in the pouch and left the zipper of the pouch open just so that it can dry a bit.

30 minutes later I stuffed the pipe with the moderately but still moist tobacco. On the charring light the tobacco came alive and the room note was sweet, like really sweet but the smoke was tasty, slightly sweet with tobacco undertones. I know they say aromatics do not age but this one really came life after approximately 7 weeks. There was no tongue bite.

Will I buy it again? I seriously might, It is not an everyday tobacco as it is too sweet but it was tasty. I am kind of in the middle of the road here but the tobacco quality is good and it really did transform to a high quality aromatic so I will recommend it to someone looking for a bite-less aromatic.

Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Local Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 7 weeks
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Two of my favorite casings are added to Davidoff Red (Caramel and Vanilla). It's a very sweet smoke, obviously, but not so sweet that you can't taste the tobacco (but you will have to search for it). The great news is that this is quality tobacco and the Virginia element adds to the presentation of the sweetened Black Cavendish. If you enjoy aromatics, this might be your manna from heaven.

Pipestud
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 15, 2011 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The smell in the tin reminds me of my mother's christmas cake and those sweet spice smells of winter. A very smooth, quite smooth smoke with little, if any tongue bite and fills the room with a pleasant smell.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2014 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
The Duty Free store at Changi Airport in Singapore only offers Davidoff brand of pipe tobaccos. I was in transit there a while ago and I quickly read up on Tobacco Reviews of the Davidoff range. This blend came up with good comments. When I got home and gave it a try I was not disappointed. Big thanks to all here on this forum for their contributions.

It is a mild and mellow mixture, low on nicotine, forgiving to seasonal humidity changes and not prone to bite. Absence of Burley makes it light and somewhat plain, but still satisfying. Virginia and Black Cavendish combine well, although perhaps the Cavendish is unnecessarily allowed to overpower Virginia. The gentle vanilla flavouring is kept to a bare minimum. Burns well with minimum or no relighting, leaves fine ash, no bitter aftertaste towards the end of the bowl. Room note is pleasant and attracted good comments from those in the next room. Recommended.

Pipe Used: Georg Jensen briar with 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: Duty Free Changi Airport Singapore
Age When Smoked: straight from the tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
A lovely, creamy, sweet, and cool smoke indeed. perfect with a morning tea or coffee. It doesn't have any tongue bite that I know off, and you can feel the quality of the Virginia they used. A definite blend to keep in my rotation. I knocked off a star for its price. a 50g tin costs 19$ where i live
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Jan 02, 2014 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Burns smooth and cool, albeit very mild in all respects. Slight flavoring goes fairly well with the base tobacco. Sometimes get a caramel-like note from the background flavor that hints of vanilla. Takes to the light easily, and burns clean. 2 stars for what it offers.
Pipe Used: Old basket pipe marked "BR".
PurchasedFrom: CI
Age When Smoked: Tin date 17-DEC-2012
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"