Mac Baren Cube Gold

(2.33)
27 different tobaccos have been blended to achieve this mild and yet satisfying tobacco blend. We have used loose cut golden Virginia tobacco and a little ready rubbed Burley. Then a special Virginia Cavendish was added to complete this blend. When smoking Cuber Gold you will experience a mild, fruity taste with underlying sweetness. The blend is mild and will keep the same fresh taste from start to end.
Notes: Very similar to the original Cube but with a slightly different fruit flavoring.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Henrik Halberg
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 40 grams pouch, 3.5 ounce bag within a box
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.33 / 4
2

8

6

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
CUBE GOLD: Heavily cased, heavily topped, in a word excessively flavored. This is not a scented tobacco, this is a perfume. Better: not a tobacco with scented notes but a “cologne” with tobacco notes. Wonderful the scent when you open the pouch and wonderful the room note. That’s all. The taste: cloying! Nauseating, too sweet and too strong. Of course ideal for all those who love flavored mixtures heavily cased and topped but in my opinion there is no taste of tobacco. Cube Silver, its different twin, is definitely much better (there is also Cube Bronze but I haven’t tried it yet). Unfortunately in my personal system rating (from 1 to 10) my score is 3 and only a star because in my opinion smoking tobacco is not smoking a perfume.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Cube Gold's presentation at the match is of a mild Virginia/Burley combination and you'll get the light fruit flavoring (what it is, I don't know), along with the palate filling natural flavor of Mac Baren's famous special processed Black Cavendish. A mild and cool Aromatic that lovers of this style of tobacco should really enjoy as it reeked of quality leaf all the way.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a ribbon cut Danish aromatic with just a little broken flake, and hydrated to the perfect level for smoking. The tobacco smells stronger in the pouch than in the room or your mouth, though it's kind of pungent. It's milder and creamier than the Cube Silver, and the sweet topping is slightly less fruity, more citrusy and berry-like, and just a little less perfumy. There are fewer sour notes here, too. The grassy, citrusy golden Virginia and toasted cavendish are a little more obvious here than in the Silver, as is the vanilla from the black cavendish. The strength and taste are closer to medium than they are to strong. Less complex than the Cube Silver, it burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a very consistent flavor. Does best when sipped. May tingle the tongue just a mite if puffed fast. The nic-hit is mild. Requires few relights and leaves just a little moisture in the bowl. The after taste and room note do linger a short while. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2009 Mild None Detected Very Mild Very Pleasant
This tobacco is a real riddle to anyone that will try to figure out its ingredients.

It definitely contains Virginia, but with regard to his perfume, it is much intense that it was impossible for me to precisely say what it contains. I tried to clarify the situation looking up at other reviews. Maple, Caribbean sugar, chocolate liqueur, etc. I did not taste anything of the above, despite only a smoke which is too intensely aromatic and moist that killed my throat and my tongue.

It leaves very beautiful perfume in the room. You can buy it, if you want, as a room deodorant.

Mac Baren keeps on disappointing me completely.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2019 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The fruity note in this tobacco is persistent in the air and in the pipe even after months. This tobacco attracted me for the packaging (the 40g pouch). If you like strong flavourings, you have definitely to try it, otherwise i would suggest something more organic like Mac Baren Mixture Scottish Blend.
Pipe Used: Moretti prince
PurchasedFrom: Italy
Age When Smoked: 4 month
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
I hope you like very heavily cased tobacco because Cube Gold is extremely cased! As a matter of fact, I don't think I have ever seen a tobacco as cased as this one is. Of the 3 Cube tobaccos, this one is, as others have said, the most heavely cased. As for the tobacco composition, there is a mixture of broken flakes and Ribbon Cut ranging from golden to black. The tobacco is not ready to smoke right away; it requires 3-4 days once open. A. Strength: Strength refers to the intensity of the nicotine. It's mild to medium, slightly past the middle point. B. Flavoring: As I stated, Cube Gold is extremely cased: it's just crazy, but in a good way. I believe it's cased with mango and chocolate coated cherries. Its intensity diminishes after 2 to 3 weeks after opening; then, it becomes average. C. Taste: The first two weeks, the casing completly 'overruled' any tobacco taste. Only once at the last third would I get any. The thing is, I enjoy the casing so much that it didn't bother me. Afterwards, as the casing had significantly settled down, the tobacco taste started being evident past the first third; and "overruled" the casing by half point. The nutty character of the burleys is dominant, with some hayness from the virginias and a sweet note from the black cavendish. The casing really stays in the background, if you will. D. Room Note: It is strong the first 10 minutes, but without being obstrusive. Of course, Cube Gold is an absolute winner with the crowd. E. Rating: If you don't smoke it when it's really moist and do wait until it is at minimal moisture level; if you pack it on the tighter side of things (but NOT TOO tight!); and if you mind your cadence, you may just realize) that it's a brilliant tobacco, to paraphrase Stevie B. (well done, mate!). Otherwise, you will absolutely hate it: it will smoke hot and it will bite! In other words: Cube Gold is not for beginners! As for me, I am simply thrilled by this very high quality, luxurious aromatic offering, as it gives me the pleasure of a refined aromatic combined with that of true tobacco! 3.5 stars.
Pipe Used: Stanwell; Alpascia Curve; Ashton
Age When Smoked: 2.5 YO
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I seem to have had the same experience as reviewer smoketses with this one. When I read that this contained 27 different tobaccos, my first thought was why?

The topping is strong and there is an overriding perfumey scent to this one that tends to obscure the sweetness that I think most closely resembles apricot. In any case, there is really no tobacco flavor to be sorted through. I think this one is pretty much a disaster, but there are some who do enjoy it.

I am giving this one two stars for the effort and the cool tin, but I really can't see recommending this one to anyone.
Pipe Used: primarily a cob
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2016 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Pleasant
To my liking, it is the last one coming among other cubes. Too much of flavoring, it feels like sticking your nose into a bowl of fruits. All cubes have a mild strength and a mild taste, but even if it is mild, this one feels fruits in your mouth. I have to admit, there was a time I liked that flavoring but I didn't know what real tobacco tastes like. Anyways, if you like aromatic, it is a good choice for a fresh starter, or an experienced smoker who wants to rest the tongue from time to time.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
M42
Jul 11, 2014 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
This is a very delightful tobacco, not to be confused with its cousin Cube Bronze, which is very flat and without any depth, complexity or flavor. Upon opening the pouch you are greeted with essences of fruit and berries. It is a course ribbon cut that's neither too dry or wet.

It takes a good second lighting to get the tobacco started, but once started it burns very evenly. At first you get a whiff of the fruit in the first couple of puffs, but then what comes through is a nice carmel essence that knows how to stay in the background and not get in the way of the tobacco flavors that remain in the forefront. This tobacco smokes very cool and never gets goopy or harsh. I don't think you could get this tobacco to burn hot or bite even if you pushed it. One of the best quasi aromatics on the market today.
Pipe Used: Kirk Bosi
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2020 Mild Very Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
The aroma from the pouch is superb. It's extremely strong and sweet and fruity... and would be a nice candy, if it would translate to the smoke correctly. But as soon as you out fire to the bowl - it's a sickening soapy chemical mess!

I don't know why they bother with 27 different tobaccos in this mix. You don't get a tobacco taste at all. Moreover, I tried adding 10-15% of this stuff to a bowl of non-aromatic VaPer, but those 10% overpower and completely obscure the rest with it's soapy chem
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2019 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Sweat, sour, taste like Indian milk tea with prunes and amaretto. Not very aromatic, but sugary and annoying. Recommend to people who like sweet and aromatic tobacco tastes.
Pipe Used: Churchwarden 2.2g
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"