4noggins Essence of Vermont

(3.32)
A wide cut, hearty burley with the essence of fresh maple, blended with enough St. James Parish perique to give it an aged sweetness with a slight hint of spiced raisins. Easy to smoke, it is the perfect all day baccy that won't assault your taste buds.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Perique
Flavoring Maple
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.32 / 4
14

6

4

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 25 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
An interesting maple aromatic burley blend. The aroma is delightful with modest, nothing like ordinary aromatic blends. Burley is out-front note with subtle, ancient-incense like perique in the background. It will get hot and even a little bity if you puff hard. Great room note even my wife agrees. Smoking it in car never gets you trouble. Worth a try!
Pipe Used: corn cob
PurchasedFrom: 4 noggins
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The earthy, woody burleys have a nice, light cashew, molasses flavor as the lead components. The perique is mostly a condiment, but the spicy, fig, plum and raisin tones are noticeable. The maple topping is rich, and I find it dominates the other flavors somewhat. The strength is in the center of mild to medium. The taste is a couple of steps past that center. The nic-hit is very mild. Won't bite, or get harsh even when pushed. If you dry it some, the burleys are a little more noticeable to your taste buds. It burns at a moderate pace, cool and clean with a very consistent, smooth flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl and doesn't requires many relights. The after taste and room notes very pleasantly linger a little. It passes the wife test, but if you're on a diet, smoke it before you have your morning eggs and toast, and you won't need any pancakes!

-JimInks
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2011 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Rich Gottlieb needs more credit as a blender. This is an absolutely superb offering for those who want to enjoy a unique combination of Perique and Maple. Spicy yet sweet and a biteless all day smoke that packs a delightful punch due to the quality Burley. Not much aromatic essence and a full tobacco taste. Four stars all the way!
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
4noggins - Essence of Vermont.

A dark brown, slightly coarse, mixture that's a little moist to the touch when fresh. From the pouch's aroma there's no argument that this has a sweet topping.

Of the tobaccos it's the Burley which is running the show, the Perique is much lighter: it adds a subtle seasoning. The topping comes across as definite, albeit not at all heavy; I wouldn't go too low on the flavour rating, but it is NOWHERE near being sticky/gloopy. The temperature from Vermont is cool, without a bite in a bowl. This is seldom in need of a re-light.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: pleasant.

A blend that deserves a recommendation:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2016 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I recently finished a generous sample of this I had received a while back. It wasn't till I read some of the reviews that I even knew there was any perique in this blend. Needless to say, I did enjoy this blend. So much so, that I purchased some more to jar and cellar before I finished the sample.

This is one of those blends that summons yester year to me. A burley with a soft aromatic topping. It reminds me of PA, SWRA and CH. In other words this is a drugstore burley, that is well done. It comes rather moist in the bag, but burns fine with no goopiness left behind.

I read some reviews where it was stated that this was a biter. I did not find this to be bitey at all. I believe the use of Perique is a credit to the gentle nature of this blend.

The taste, to me, is certainly maple and some liquer type essence. Probably a rum. It is a unique taste to be sure. I would say the topping is pretty mildly applied and does well to accentuate the natural nutty sweetness inherent in the burley.

A very well done blend. 4 stars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2012 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I picked up some of this weed more than a year ago and for whatever reason I wasn't all that fond of it. I came across it this weekend in the cellar and I'm so glad I didn't toss it out. Given the fact that this is mainly a Burley blend, I doubt the time in the cellar added much to the quality. This is a fine tobacco. It is an aromatic, but the burley flavor is forward, well ahead of the casing. The perique lends a nice light spice to the mix, but those that are not fond of perique shouldn't worry as it's added with a light hand. This blend is only mildly sweet and there is plenty of tobacco flavor to be had. It burns nice and dry and could be an all day smoke for Burley lovers and those that enjoy light aromatics without Cavendish. If you are looking for a “full on” American style aromatic, you may want to seek out other maple blends. Highly Recommended.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
I ordered a few ounces of this when buying a pipe and some other stuff from 4 Noggins. More of an impulse buy than anything. But I did read the reviews here and thought it sounded like a nice change of pace.

It's fantastic.

Very much Walnut or Carter Hall with some maple topping; but it's quite well done. I find I really enjoy this and it's one of those I find myself distinctly craving at certain times.

Bone dry and more of an essence than a heavy flavoring. I guess it is called the "essence" of VT afterall.

I'm not one for heavy candy like tobaccos. But this one is quite nice despite the fact that the maple translates noticeably, but not obtrusively, to the smoke and doesn't get left behind in the tin.

If you like subtle maple essence that compliment rather than embellish the underlying tobacco you'll like this I think.

I personally think a small dose of latakia would really set this off. But then again Rich does this for a living and I push pencils.

In any event a sold 4 stars to my taste against the field and not just in its "Class".

5/15 edit: I'm dropping this one star down to 3. It's become a bit monotonous and I'm sort of feuding with burley right now i guess. Tend to get bitten more often that not.

Still a very very good aromatic. Smokes dry. Isn't syrupy. The perique makes it more interesting than most. But it's still a maple flavored aromatic. And really that can only take you so far IMO.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 27, 2015 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The perique is subtle, but it does keep the underlying tobacco interesting. The maple is also mild, and could mostly be found in the first quarter of a bowl. This is no goopy overly-sweet aromatic, but a mild, fairly flavorful blend.
Pipe Used: briars
PurchasedFrom: 4 noggins
Age When Smoked: 1 month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The great thing about 4noggins aromatics is you can taste the tobacco. It is not a heavy wet overpowering flavor. This blend has a light maple taste however the sweetness of the tobacco comes through. The room note is great and I can pickup the maple there. This is a good somewhat complex smoke.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2016 Very Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
Dark red ribbons. Homogenous colours. To the nose, lots of maple, sugar, and balsamic vinegar? Is it a sauce for a summer salad? A very humid tobacco. I let it dry a whole day.

I fill a meerschaum test pipe and fire it up and it is a charm as it needs no relighting.

The aforementioned bouquet of smells is undetected in the smoke. Instead, only sweet and slightly sour aromas are detected in the smoking process. Nothing too special in the tobacco tasting department. I could barely notice the perique as the burleys largely dominate the blend. Mild burleys at that. Vitamin N wise, I feel dissatisfied and need more. The cafeine in my coffee had more effect!

Still, it is an all day smoke for those who enjoy a very mild (maybe flat) smoke. Not for me though. The blend doesn't allow the tobaccos to develop their taste and shine. Could be used a mélange for mixing with other heavier ones.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I think you could mix every one of the 4noggins blends together and come up with this blend. Seems to me they keep using the same tobacco and just add various flavorings to it. You just can't sink your teeth into any of the blends I have tried so far. Sorry to be a curmudgeon...
Pipe Used: Corncob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: 63
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"