4noggins Chipman Hill

(3.38)
Chipman Hill is a great all day smoke for the English blend lover, even if its not a crowd pleaser, (can you say "Latakia"), but who do you smoke for? The cut is dark and stringy. Packing qualities are good. The aroma is full and the taste rich in orientals and sweet spice.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
11

7

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
One of Rich Gottlieb's masterpieces, Chipman Hill is an outstanding English blend with big smoky woody flavors. Not overpower in latakia, rather balanced and no harshness. Best English blend in 4 noggins in my opinion. 3 and half star but wait to see how it ages.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
When I first came upon 4 Noggins house blends several years ago, Chipman Hill was at the time of the first blends I purchased. I am a bit surprised that there are not more reviews of this blend. CH is comprised of very thin ribbons that with a bit of dry time pack with ease. It is a medium blend, that isn't very complex, but far from boring. It is a solid, all day, cool burning English blend. Most English blend smokers will not find the Latakia to be overpowering, but enough to satisfy a Latakia craving while still allowing the other blend components to balance things out. One of the things I like a lot about Chipman Hill is how the flavor really blooms when aged for two or even better, three years. The fact that it is only sold in bulk makes cellaring some well worth it. 4 Noggins has created a nice stable of blends and Chipman Hill is certainly one of them.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
There's a nice interplay between the Latakia and the Orientals, each vying for the lead position. What I love most about this blend is the combined flavor of the Virginias and the Perique. That combo creates a rich, sweet, spicy, raisin/fig flavor that I find delightfully delicious. It really makes this a four star blend for me. This is a high quality smoke all-around. Medium in body, medium to full in flavor.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 25, 2012 Strong Medium to Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
A slighly modified English mixture, since in adiction to the classic Virginia, Turkisk and/or Orientals and Latakia, it haves also Perique and contains Light Golden Virginia tobacco.

The result is very good, wonderfull!. In the Pouch, the smell is very good, evidence of a quality English blend.

Burning, flavour and taste show an well combined, amalgamed, complex, but with each tobacco type may be detectable: Taste of Latakia, of Perique,of Orientals etc...

Even better than Presbyterian (a known benchmark standard) and much less expensive. Is nearly to perfection.

Although the comparison is not rigorous (since some are Balkan Mixtures and other are English mixtures) between the 4 Stars revised by me this is the first favorite: 1. Chipman Hill 2) Penzance 2) Britt's Balkan 3) Bald Headed Teacher Even better than Balkan Supreme,Stoneheaven, Altadis similar 965 and Three Blind Moose. If you enjoy Latakia and English or Balkan Mixtures, try this tobacco!
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I recently got a sample of this blend with an order from 4Noggins. I smoked 2 bowls from the sample and immediately ordered a pound of this bulk blend. The flavor is outstanding, but not overwhelming. It is perfect for an all day tobacco. Since I got my pound, I have been starting the day with this blend, and smoking a few bowls throughout the day. It lights very well, and burns cool and dry to the bottom of the bowl without relighting. This would be a great blend for a slow smoking contest. I find it to be an excellent all day blend and I recommend it to those who love Latakia blends.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
4noggins - Chipman Hill.

This is a well made blend, but it's not something I'd smoke regularly.

I'll get this out of the way first: as ever, the Virginia's lost on me! If I'm honest, the Latakia isn't as sharp as I like, it's a little too laid back. The Lat' may not be fully responsible for this, actually, I'm thinking that it's partly due to the Perique and Orientals rounding and softening the flavour: there's a plummy sweetness that detracts from the usual astringent English style. The temperature from Chipman Hall is cool, and it's very tame where tongue bite's concerned: none. After about a quarter of a bowl I begin to detect a very slight/subtle vanilla like quality; nothing cased, or suggestive of a topping, but a delicate creaminess; a little synonymous to black Cavendish.

The room-note's only tolerable and I find the nicotine just below medium.

This is a well made blend, sort of like a dichotomy between a beginners blend and an experienced smokers one!

Not one for me though:

Two stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Golden Supreme Meer'
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Two bowls down in a smallish-bowl Sach's Canadian. Same prep as before, one thing I've noticed thusfar with the 4Nog blends is that the cut is really good for codger scoop or sprinkle+tamp.

Smell in the pouch? Earthy, stinky latakia - leather, boot polish (but in a good way), and campfires. Char and inital light is a flood of smokey, rich, and savory. Where my previous sample's subtlety put it in the range of a very mild English, this one is definitely more on the "Lat Bomb" side of the spectrum. Dark and brooding smokey, with an almost curry like spice on the tail end of the exhale, and this doesn't change throughout the bowl. As I've mentioned with other lat-forward tobaccos in the past, I compare this to sumatran coffee vs. columbian, cello vs. violin, or Grieg vs. Beethoven... it may be one note, but that note is incredibly rich, deep, dark, and enjoyable. I did get the "burning tires" comment from the wife so the room note is, well, latakia.

Nicotine was mild on this one, nowhere near what Button Bay put me through.
Pipe Used: Sach's Canadian
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: Unknown
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 24, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I've been searching for an all-day English blend and this is it! An ideal balance of Lat and Orientals. Nice shag cut packs easily and burns with few relights. As an added bonus, Rich and 4Noggins are wonderful to deal with!
Pipe Used: Radice Poker
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
What can be said of this tobacco? Wow. What a pleasent suprise!

I found a perfect bulk all day english!

It stays lit. The whole bowl. I can put it down, and pick it up and puff away. It is the perfect moisture out of the pack(Most 4noggins blends need some drying time IMHO). It tastes like a good english blend should, at least to my mind. Much nicer than MCC's 5110. All my pipes smoke it well so far. It doesn't dry my mouth out like the FrogMorton blends.(I know, strange, but they give me the pasties, and yes....thats all I smoked.) It isn't creamy(soapy?) like Ashton's Artisans Blend, but very neutral. It has a great price. I like spending my money at a place that provides excellent service, timely shipping, and the OWNER takes his time to answer any questions and provides free insight into his knowledge. 4noggins is that place. I am a really happy and loyal customer, and get no kick backs. It is an english blend, and my wife crumples her nose at it....but it is an english blend. Nothing competes in the blend, all the supporting cast play well together. Also burns down to clean ash, no gurgle.

Just go and buy some. If you really are scared to try it, ask for a sample with your next order from 4Noggins. I plunged in and ordered 2oz with my last order based on the reviews. Next order will be a pound.
Pipe Used: Bulldog and Stanwell 03
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins of Course
Age When Smoked: As shipped
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2013 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I have a penchant for English blends, I've tasted many, but this time I did something I don't do everyday—I put three tobaccos head-to-head in a blind taste test. Yep. On the level. Chipman Hill went up against Stokkebye's Balkan Supreme and Beck's Ol' Limey Bastard—and Chipman Hill won. That's not to say the other two aren't any good, they are, I've enjoyed them both, but Chipman Hill seems to suit my palate the best. What more can be said?

Cheers!
Pipe Used: Favorit straight billiard
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: ?
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2011 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I, too, received a 1 oz. sample with a purchase from 4noggins. I was pleasantly surprised with Chipman Hill--a tobacco of which I had not previously been aware. An English blend, it emphasizes balance between the components as none predominate. As such, CH is perfect for an all-day English if you are so inclined. It won't knock your socks off but will act as a rich companion through your hours. Next order to 4noggins will include some. Recommended.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"