Borkum Riff Original

(2.01)
A natural tobacco, strong but soft to smoke with a neutral light aroma, Borkum Riff Original is a specially selected and processed Virginia and burley tobacco flavoured with the lightest touch of vanilla. It is carefully prepared and offers unique smoking pleasure. Pouch Description: The original recipe consists of 60% Black Cavendish from the Philippines and Africa mixed with 40% Virginia from Brazil, India and Africa.
Notes: Formerly called "Borkum Riff - Ultra Light", named changed due to tobacco regulations.

Details

Brand Borkum Riff
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By Skandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 250 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.01 / 4
6

20

21

31

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 78 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
THE POUCH DESCRIPTION YOU CAN FIND ABOVE IS UNFINISHED: AT THE END THERE IS ALSO WRITTEN - FLAVOUR: CHOCOLATE, PRUNE AND FRUITY NOTES.

Really a good scent, taste so and so. Not wonderful not bad. Of course this is a flavored blend, but you can taste the tobacco too. Mixture Original is the new version of Borkum Riff Ultra Light, but it is not exactly the same blend. First of all it is stronger than Ultra Light and second in Original Mixture the main ingredient is Black Cavendish (not so in Ultra Light). Also the flavoring is different. In the pouch is written flavour: chocolate, prune and fruity notes. I believe there is also some rum in this blend. Chocolate is evident, prune and fruity notes less. In my opinion Original is better than Ultra Light, more tasty, more rich, with a middle perfect strength. Finally, in my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 7 and two stars.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Dry as a bone in the pouch, it doesn't improve very much when moistened. Has a mild amount of tobacco flavor, though the grassy, light tart and tangy citrusy Virginia is slightly noticeable when moist. The nutty, toasty, earthy, woody burley is just a little more noticeable. The vanilla and whisper of chocolate are very light. There seems to be a fruity note from a topping as well. The strength and taste levels are mild. Has a very mild nic-hit. Burns hot even when sipped, and can cause tongue bite. Has a weak after taste and negligible room note. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Requires few relights. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I really like this blend. The smell of burly was evident when I opened the pouch. I didn't taste any vanilla but what I liked was the flavor of the burly which is well complemented by the sweetness of the Virginia. My only gripe with this blend is that it burns quite fast. I never had enough time to fully enjoy it. Smoke it slow and dry it a little before packing it and you will be surprised.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 01, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Just tried this mixture for the first time. On opening the packet, you'll find that you can't disagree with the 'programme notes' - it is exactly as it says, namely 'chocolate, prune and fruity notes.' For me, the fruity notes include apricot.

The tobacco was not too dry and not too moist, in fact it was in the Goldilocks zone.

Lights well, smokes evenly, pleasant aroma. Doesn't need all that much re-lighting. However, you will probably be surprised to find that your bowlful lasts a little less long than you expected. Very fine ash residue.

I can recommend this as an excellent smoke, in fact one not to be missed, but I'll need to have smoked quite a few more packets to get a deeper and wider perspective on this one. First experience has been very pleasant, anyhow.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I tried this a few years ago in its old package and although i got along with it it was something i wouldnt miss if it dissapeared.

However i tried the BR bourbon and was impressed enough to give the original another try and it has come along leaps and bounds. Firstly the flavours are a lot more improved and much less in your face. The chemical taste has dissapeared and the moisture content is a lot more desirable. Burn has also improved dramatically and is a lot more uniform.

The only reason i am giving this 3 stars instead of four are the flavours could be a touch stronger as could strength. But the positivity on these two factors is it could be a great all day smoke without becoming sickening if you enjoy aromatics.

A word of advice from me slow gentle puffing is advised and it is not a baccy for a quick smoke as it can have the potential to nip. But slow puffs and a gentle pace and you will have a richly rewarding all day smoke with good flavours and pleasant aroma which should please even the most ardent none smokers.
Pipe Used: falcon bent with plymouth bowl
PurchasedFrom: a small smoke shop in crete
Age When Smoked: 6 months
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Well looking at the reviews of this its been pretty much panned, now im not going to do the same. It is a nice tobacco dont get me wrong the aromas and taste are nice, nice vannila slightly chocolatey tang to it, but do not try and rush this one if you do it wont take prisoners and it will knack your tongue, but smoke it slow and it will reward you. Not a bad tobacco but not amazing, would be happy to buy it again as a change of pace or if it was gifted to me but i wouldnt make it my exclusive smoke. Also towards the end of the bowl and i do mean the last 3-4 draws on my pipe it does get a bit tarry and chemically.

Update may 2014. Tried this mix again due to the new and different packaging. Opening up the cut is thinner and the tobacco holds its moisture better. The flavours are delicious nutty and a slight over tone of chocolate with a deliciously moreish sweetness. Burning is very much impoved with a more uniform burn rate and burns to fine grey ash. The chemical tasting towards the end of the bowl has vanished. The recipe to me has been tweak and for the better. The only niggle is it could be a touch stronger in flavour and strength but due to the mildness it makes a great all day smoke. I know this has been panned on here but to me it is an excellent flavourful tobacco which i do enjoy.

Update friday may 16th 2014. Hello guys been doing a little experiment with this one and ive found it pays dividends. Firstly out of the pack it is perfect moisture just to pack and light but its the packing of this one that makes all the difference. Treat it is you would if it was the last bowls worth of favourite tobacco, pack it right and with care. I have found packing this one that little bit tighter makes a very good difference the flavours seem more pronounced and the resulting smoke is very cool flavoursome and satisfying and it doesnt burn down as quick. All in once you have it packed right and with slow gentle sips it is a very good rewarding smoke that i would happily buy again.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Just like Captain Black Royal but a little easier to smoke. Just another chocolate/vanilla/fruit blend. Drier than most and a little less expensive. Stays lit very well but will get the pipe hot if chugged on hard. I'll be buying it again, just to keep around for when I want something different. It's pretty ho-hum but not unpleasant.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2014 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
I bought this one as a follow up to BR's fabulous Bourbon Whiskey. I tried not to get my hopes up in spite of how much I enjoyed my previous smoke. Turns out I needn't have worried.

The packet aroma is one of very mild vanilla, no surprise there. The packing is easy and I never had any problems with the light. The taste continues as the aroma, very mild vanilla, sometimes it can be hard to pick up, but not obnoxiously so, packing it tightly usually rectifies this. There are occasional hints of cigarettes and something slightly metallic, but it never really bothered me. It does smoke a bit quick but rarely bites.

On the whole, a nice if rather mild tobacco. It's not a patch on the bourbon whiskey or a lot of other tobaccos, but it doesn't pretend to be. The mild flavour and the quick smoke are the only real downsides but I think there is a place for it in my rotation. Often I have had a ten to fifteen minute slot where I want to fit in a smoke but most tobaccos I have take a lot longer. This fills that hole perfectly, pop it in a small bowled pipe, maybe pack a little less and it provides a nice mild quick smoke to keep me going.
Pipe Used: Finlay's Laureate Knobby
PurchasedFrom: mysmokingshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: Fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2014 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
You don't have to read too many of the reviews here to see this blend is somewhat vilified. Most reviewers were not fans at all. The truth is, the fact that this blend can be found in almost any gas station and grocery store in my area means it must have some redeeming factors and popularity.

I purchased this blend because I received a coupon from the manufacturer allowing me to purchase a pouch for only one dollar. Here in Vermont tobacco taxes are somewhere in the 90% area so a pouch of this blend was marked 13.99 in the store. Not going to pay that for a pouch, but who would turn down a pouch of pipe tobacco for only one dollar?

Overall this blend was not terrible by any means. It certainly was not great either. It was quite blase to me. Very subtle flavors, boring if you will.

On opening the pouch I first noticed the tobacco was very dry. There is no way to know how long this pouch was sitting on the shelves, but I do know that recently Borkum Riff redesigned their packaging (and they look great by the way) so I know this pouch was not too old.

The pouch aroma was very pleasant, and upon light the initial tastes were good. Very vanilla and fig like. This tobacco burned very well and although it was not exciting I did not have too much trouble with tongue bite.

Every once in a while a strange pine like flavor would pop up. It was not totally unenjoyable, in fact at times it was quite nice.

Certainly would not buy it at its normal price but glad I got to give this one a run.
Pipe Used: butz choquin cadre noir
Age When Smoked: Purchased in 2014
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2010 Mild Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
The Borkum Riff people really could sell water to dolphins! They've done it again (on porpoise, no doubt): made a tobacco that is purely and simply rubbish, yet managed to create a market for it. How DO they do this???

"Strong but soft to smoke with a neutral light aroma"? Everything in this sentence is untrue. BR Original is awful: hot, tasteless, characterless and a waste of money. Smoking this worthless dreck is a complete non-experience.

I have yet to come across a BR tobacco that is worth a damn. This one is beyond terrible.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2019 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is another very well executed Borkum Riff recipe by the Scandinavian Tobacco Group. Beautifully pouched and airtight sealed, it will show off a fantastic tobacco bar / block when the seal is broken. Reveals a fantastic aroma of dried fruit, raisins, prunes and a tad of chocolate maybe? Block brakes down easily into ribbon pinches that will easily load into your pipe. Goldilocks moisture content, it will receive the charring light like a charm and will keep going til it hits the bottom of your cob, briar or meerschaum. Fine dry ashes with no goop is what you get after an enjoyable and relaxing session with this mixture. Get it to smoke as slowly as possible as it tends to go fast and may get a bit hotter than desired if you over puff. Enjoy the retrohaling and let some whafts to slowly penentrate your nostrils for a full flavour experience. Nicotine is on the mild side...easy smoke. Room note is terrific. It tastes sweet but not cloying, I get a true tobacco flavor enhanced by the fruity prune / raisins touch added to the recipe. A very enjoyable pipe experience for me!
Pipe Used: Vauen, Savinelli, Stanwell
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 1 year or so
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"