Stanwell Vanilla (Sungold)

(2.75)
A subtle mix of Danish dark cavendish, burley and Virginia enriched with matured Samsun from Turkey. Vanilla flavours created the soft sweetness and fruity character of the blend. Rich in contrast and with a perfect balanced of aroma.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is now sold in those countries as "Sungold".

Details

Brand Stanwell
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Plum, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 50 grams pouch, 125 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.75 / 4
18

30

17

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 75 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 04, 2009 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
to strong flavoring its fruity but i not find vanilla its something else.not buying again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Jan 03, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
Excellent tin aroma translates pretty well to flavor in the bowl. Good blending and base tobaccos are evident. After things settle down from the single light after the char, the vanilla (and hint of semi-sweet chocolate?) tone down to a pleasant background, with very good pure tobacco flavors coming through. Smokes cool and dry all the way down. Performs extremely well in the churchwarden. 3+.
Pipe Used: Bjarne Churchwarden, Stanwell, MM
PurchasedFrom: The Briary, Homewood, AL
Age When Smoked: Tin date 20-JAN-2012
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2009 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Based on how much I liked Malange, and I love MB Vanilla Cream, i thought I would give this a try and expected to really like it. While it is a mild, nice smelling blend that lights very well and stays lit, there is a tartness to it that was very unexpected in a vanilla blend. i think of vanilla blends as very soft with the sweet taste of vanilla wafting through. This one has that but has the added flavor that I am at a loss to identify but it left my mouth very dry and with a sourness on my palette. It is very nice in the tin, a mix of black cavendish a and medium brown in a ribbon cut. It is not neccessary to dry it out and it loadeds very well in my pipe. It is like the Melange where it is not a typical aromatic in that it leaves no moisture or goopiness in the pipe and smokes all the way down the pipe to a fine grey ash. Nothing about the tin aroma eludes to the tartness when smoked, it smells like a vanilla blend should smell. I cannot five it more than two stars though as it just is not what I expected and enjoy. I don't like the tartness at all. But it is a nice quality leaf and if one is predisposed to liking the tartness, it would be a great blend. It that ingredient were left out of the blending, it would be a great one of it's type.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 09, 2015 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
>> Update: my taste developed I guess, more towards natural tobaccos. This ones aromatic taste is less favorable. Downgraded to 3 stars.

Great tin note, smells really like Vanilla 🙂

Smokes well, not moist at all. For an aromatic it's a good one.

Room note is marvellous. Wife likes it.

You can smoke this all the way down into grey ashes. This is one tobacco I keep coming back to in rotation.
Pipe Used: BigBen Crossly, Chacom Match
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Fresh - 6 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2014 Extremely Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Unnoticeable
I usually smoke at least a whole tin of something before I review it. This time, I couldn't bear the olfactory torture. The only taste I could discern from the time I lit the bowl was a sour-vegetable-like note that barely mellowed during the smoke. At first, I thought something I ate caused it. So, I dumped that bowl, and came back to it the next day after a bowl of Kendal Kentucky. The KK tasted like it always does, and the Stanewell Vanilla was still a sour wretched mess. Therefore, based only on 2 half bowls (hey, I'm a coward, okay?) I'm tanking this one. Easily the worst blend I've ever tried.
Pipe Used: cob, briar
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I confess I was disappointed by this one… Extreme artificial flavour out of the tin box, almost no vanilla flavour while smoking and a very discrete aroma. Left an "ash-like" taste in my mouth. I will try it drier in the next time.

On the other hand, it smokes well, no tongue bite and burns completely to the end, no gurgling whatsoever. That is my opinion…

REVISITED AFTER 1 MONTH: It greatly improved after cellaring. The artificial taste has dwindled to the point of being tolerable and even agreeable.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Stanwell - Vanilla.

I love vanilla aromatics so a blend named Vanilla was a no-brainer!

The blend isn't presented as your normal vanilla aromatic, it's not just black, but a selection of black, brown, and bright yellow ribbons. It's been firmly packed into the tin but isn't too moist.

There's quite a lot going on in the smoke, for a vanilla aromatic. Of course, there's vanilla, but that isn't the only flavour. The Samsun gives definite flavour, and is more than just a 'seasoning'. It gives the smoke a floral flavour, more-so after halfway. The Virginia and Burley are a stable addition, but they taste nothing out of the ordinary for what I'd would expect from them. The Cavendish is what surprises me, it isn't 'just' a sticky black Cavendish taste, but much 'fresher' and lighter than normal: honey sweetness and Virginia grass. I can't identify any plums like in the description. On the negative side of things the burn's too warm. And it's a bit of a biter.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: pleasant.

Stanwell Vanilla? In a market that's awash with vanilla aromatics one will need to have an exceptional quality to get highly recommended. This is worth two stars:

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Atinok Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Three months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2017 Mild to Medium Extra Strong Overwhelming Tolerable
This blend made me quit smoking aromatics. It has an extremely artificial flavor, starts off with a pleasant vanilla taste, then an absurdly strong citric taste hits your mouth, leaving an unpleasant after-taste that will linger for hours. After trying the Melange flavor, I was looking forward to this blend, but was very disappointed.
Pipe Used: Diplomat Corn Cob Pipe
Age When Smoked: 0-1
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2014 Very Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
I get the same unpleasant sour / tart mouth sensation a few other reviewers have mentioned. Akin to holding a battery to my tongue when I was a kid. Also just too mild for my liking. The room note is quite good but not up there with the best. Definitely prefer the excellent Stanwell Melange to this.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2012 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
I started smoking a pipe fairly recently and did so with this tobacco. My original idea of pipe smoking was to smoke aromatics exclusively so as to not plague my surrounding loved ones. I have since then decided on going with a more "to hell with them, I'm smoking what ever I damn well please" approach... but I digress.

The tin offers a almost sickeningly sweet scent with promises of apricots and vanilla. The vanilla carries through in the room note but I struggle to find it in the taste. I get a vaguely fruity taste of undefinably origin mixed in with sugary virginia. Mild and sweet, simply put. A "ok" tobacco in terms of quality, taste and room note... calling it vanilla is a bit of a stretch of the imagination though. I also find that it leaves a very dry, ashen taste in my mouth after I've finished a bowl which isn't all too pleasant.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is another Go To aromatic in my collection. If you are a fan of vanilla hints and fine tobacco this is a good one to try.

In the Tin

A strange but not unpleasant tin note. I expected a heavy vanilla extract smell but instead I am meet with a mild vanilla and a fruity scent, apricot perhaps? Whatever it is this tin smells great. The tobacco is a blend of light and dark making a very visually appealing blend that is not very heavily cased. The tin was rather moist but a few hours with the lid open solved that problem.

The Pack and Toast

This blend is a little sticky when packing. I found rolling it in my palm helped reduced some of the stickiness (and now my palm smells great!!) The toast revealed a large range of unexpected flavor. First and foremost is the tobaccos themselves but the vanilla and fruity flavors come a close second. Right after toasting I thought the flavoring might be a little much.

The Rest

After a second light the flavors settled nicely. No longer was there a heavy flavor but now a subtle one that seemed to change as the bowl burned down. Vanilla at first then the Virgina and Turkish. All the while a slight fruity sweetness in the background. This was a great smoke from start to finish but it is pretty sweet and will not be an every day smoke. Once a week instead of a sweet treat after dinner perhaps.

A good one for any aro smoker
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"