Cornell & Diehl Mountain Camp

(3.05)
At the request of an old customer, we took the recipe for Bayou Night and reversed the proportions of Latakia and Perique to create a full English in the Scottish vein. If Bayou Night is perfect for an evening on the bayou, Mountain Camp is a peerless choice for a day spent fishing. The same tobaccos as Bayou Night with the proportions of Perique and Latakia exchanged, making this a heavy Latakia blend for the English smoker.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2oz tin, 8oz tin, Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
11

24

7

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 43 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 13, 2024 Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl
Mountain Camp

Blend notes: “At the request of an old customer, we took the recipe for Bayou Night and reversed the proportions of Latakia and Perique to create a full English in the Scottish vein. If Bayou Night is perfect for an evening on the bayou, Mountain Camp is a peerless choice for a day spent fishing. The same tobaccos as Bayou Night with the proportions of Perique and Latakia exchanged, making this a heavy Latakia blend for the English smoker.”

Mountain Camp is a really delicious strong English that could easily be called a Lat-bomb. The blend is seriously underrated on TR.

The Perique is more sour than plummy or raisiny, which adds to the strength of the smoky, slightly sweet Latakia. The Orientals add a bit of spice. The Latakia has an interesting side-note — it’s as if you can ‘taste’ the sweet char which you might smell sitting by an open flame campfire in the mountains. The burley gives a bit of toast. All of these elements are supportive of the prominent Latakia.

If you are a fan of Pirate Kake or Ten Russians this Mountain Camp blend might be a good one to try. It is really, really tasty.

4 out of 4 stars.
Pipe Used: IMP Meerschaum
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I have to set the scene for this. I live on top of a high ridge in the Ozarks. Great view. I can see for miles. Wooded ridges, distant rolling pastures dotted with cattle. A fresh 12 inches of snow on the ground. My recliner pointed toward the view. Warm and safe inside. A mug of strong English tea ( dark, no cream or sugar ). A little light jazz in the background. A bowl of Mountain Camp in my pipe. Perfect. On to the blend.
Shortly after lighting the Latakia and the Orientals meld into one delicious flavor indicating balance. The Perique is felt on the tongue and in the nose. A perfect amount of sweetness from the Virginias. The Burley almost hidden. Wonderful, wonderful flavors from start to finish. Enjoyed the bowl so much I had to have another. Perfect body and rich clouds of smoke. I think this was one of the best smoking experiences I've ever had. No doubt the setting played a part, but I think the blend played the biggest part.
Bayou Night has been my favorite blend for some time. I knew I had to try this one. Took me a while, but I'm so glad I did. You should too.
Pipe Used: MM General, Nording Freehand
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
The richly deep, smokey, woody, musty, lightly sweet latakia is the star component, and yes, I would consider this to be a lat-bomb. The Orientals have a little woody dryness along with a minor sour note that you’ll always notice, the latter more so at the finish. The perique is raisins and a bit of pepper, and are mostly more obvious than the Orientals due to the spice content. The Virginia is grass and citrus in the role of a condiment. The toasty, butty, moderately sweet burleys show themselves more than the Virginia in a supporting role. I believe there is an extremely mild sweet topping, but it is hard to identify. Has a medium nic-hit. Won’t bite, but your tongue will tingle due to the peppery perique. Burns well, cool and clean with a little creaminess, some smoothness, and a fairly consistent flavor. Requires few relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. Has a spice, wood and smoke after taste that really lingers on your tongue like a glaze. Not an all day smoke, but it is a filling one when you’re in the mood for that kind of English blend. More of a two a half star blend in fair part because of the cloying taste issue during the last quarter and the after taste.

-JimInks
25 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Mountain Camp is a once in awhile smoke for me. The heaviness of the Latakia and strong Perique presence make it tough to smoke often as I'm not one to take to such a combination even in light doses. I do believe that those who enjoy this style of tobacco will like Mountain Camp as it delivers as advertised.

Pipestud
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2010 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Mountain Camp is a daily smoke for me. I find Latakia and Perique to have a natural affinity, together they create a balanced taste that I crave, sweet, sour, smokey, and peppery all at the same time. My wife is a non smoker and tolerates the room note well. MC smokes very cool and dry, very easy on the tounge. C&D will press one pound blocks if you like and I recommend this as the pressing really marries the leaf. The nico level is just north of true medium and just right for my needs. Highly recommended for those in search of a Latakia blend with backbone. (as a side note, the folks at C&D are great to deal with)
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2018 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl - Mountain Camp.

Quite a fine ribbon and although I bought bulk it felt slightly damp to the touch. The blend smells of Latakia but not as heavy as a lot of English blends.

I like the smoke, it's pleasant, but it doesn't meet with my Lat-Bomb expectations. The flavour's a lot zestier, sharper, and vibrant than the archetypal Lat-Bomb. The Latakia's prominent, but the other components add to the flavour: fresh Va, spicy Perique, some sourness from the Orientals, and a VERY minor addition of Burley; this is a really light flavour. As the bowl burns down it develops a citrus note; reminiscent of a subtle topping. It burns well and doesn't bite.

Nicotine:medium. Room-note: tolerable.

Mountain Camp? Quite unique. Three stars:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: Friday Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a medium chopped ribbon with a few pieces of mostly rubbed out flake. There is a lot of latakia in this from just looking at the bag. It came at a good level of hydration - thank you C&D.

The smoke is latakia forward. There is a slight sweet and bitter edge to the burley. The orientals present as a little sour. The perique provides some pepper. I am not getting much of a Virginia, but I find some grassiness if I am looking for it. There was a slightly thick and chewy quality to the smoke.

Smoked, this was very good, and I enjoyed it. It took a match as I expected, and it smoked without event. I have been smoking it in various cobs and pots. I did not discern any particular pipe it was suited to.

This is a solid 3. It is easy to recommend, and I thought it was very good. In my book it does not rise to the 3.5 = "I will buy a pound of this."
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2015 Medium None Detected Very Full Strong
Whew. I'm a big fan of Bayou Night, in fact it's my no. 1 smoke. Make no mistake, this is a Latakia bomb, a la Nightcap.

The Latakia here reminds me of pitch, of burning chunks of coal in the wintertime clogging the air. Of pine tar.

It has good strength and some complexity (whereas Bayou Night is fairly monochrome). However, there's a bit of roughness here whereas BN is silky smooth to my taste buds.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
I received a 2 oz complimentary sample of this from C & D while placing my first order with them. I have struggled between 2 and three stars on this. Based on the fact that it is C&D and the inherent quality of their blends I cannont fathom ever going below 2 stars.

This must be smoked slow or it will coat your mouth and you will taste nothing else til the next morning if you are lucky. The latakia is, of course, heavy. That said i do enjoy it once in a while as it took me three months to finish the 2 oz sample. I love Latakia, but feel my limit to be just a little south of this blend and will likely not reorder it. That said, it do prefer it over the other Lat bombs in my cellar and actually do kind of taste the Va and Perique, but only slightly.

Definitely recommended to the latakia lover and possibly highly recommended. If you are not a die hard latakia fan, don't waste your time or money.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
This is my second review of the nine bulk blends I bought during the Labor Day Sale. I have all of these jarred. It has a nice mild Latakia tin note and puts out a ton of smoke. I personally do not find this to be a heavy Latakia blend but milder to medium. I realize that obviously my review is mine and mine alone. I also know that my sense of smell and taste buds are shot. I even add more coffee grounds than I use to, to make the same pot of coffee. Sort of like eating peppers, you start out with the mild chilis and work your way up to the Habanero and Ghost Peppers. So, what I am getting at is that what my not be a Lat Bomb to me could very well be one to you. This is a good smoke but I just wasn’t feeling the love. Tastes good, smokes like a good Lat blend but no wow factor. I smoked this listening to Bill Withers. Look him up. About half way down the bowl the Lat starting fading away and the other tobacco took over. I will try to remember to take it to the club and let the other members way in on this one. The enjoyment I get out of this ‘hobby’ is that who knows, a few months jarred and the next time I try this one it might completely blow me away. P.S. Maybe I got the bottom of the barrel and all the Lat was gone. 🙂
Pipe Used: Charatan's Make, Lane Special
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2018 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This one smells like a campfire on a mountain somewhere... I think I prefer Bayou Morning (it's cousin) due to the later's additional perique compared to the extra dose of Latakia in this one.

Taste: Latakia forward without being overpowering. Could taste the burley, but didn't get much or any Virginias. I'm considering adding some extra VA Flake to it to balance it out a little bit.

Strength: I found this a pretty strong nicotine to my taste at least. I see this as an evening smoke after a meal instead of a morning blend.

Burn: Burns great on a single light and down to a grey ash in any pipe I've smoked it in.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh to one year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"