Hearth & Home American Heritage

(3.45)
A combination of matured Burleys, Red Virginia, Turkish and a touch of Latakia. This blend will be mild and cool smoking with just a little spice. Definitely an all-day type of smoke.

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Signature Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Pipes & Cigars
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 1.5oz Tin, Bulk
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.45 / 4
6

4

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 11 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 24, 2017 Very Mild None Detected Mild Very Pleasant
This is my first HH blend from Russ O. When I first opened the tin I got the usual notes that you would get from an English blend. That leathery, peppery, musky odor that really sets me off. Nice ribbon with large specks of Latakia, dark brown Virginia surrounded by Turkish and Orientals and followed up by what I believe to be cubed Burley. It packs really well. I use a tobacco grinder. One that is three inches in diameter. But the most wonderful experience was when I lite up the bowl. My gosh what a pleasure. Everything came together. All the ingredients just melded into one of the most pleasurable smokes I think I have ever had. No one leaf outdid the other. Just a pleasure to smoke. All the way thru bowl. Nice gray ash at the bottom of the bowl...no dottle. Should be 5 stars but all we have here is 4. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson Patent
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I have not smoked Blue Boar since the 80's and so my memory may be faulty. I claim this is close to Blue Boar, and I find it a great blend. I can taste the burley, and the latakia is there but does not overpower. There is a touch of sweet Viginia. This is a wonderful mix of flavors. While it is not my regular smoke, I find I keep it around and enjoy it. I have one pipe currently devoted to American Heritage, and it has a smallish bowl. I may try it in a larger bowl.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2005 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
American Heritage is but one of an increasing collection of tobacco's from the blender Russ Oulette. While I have sampled quite a few of his blends and finding worth in all of them but one (Capitol stairs), this blend has got to be one of his best in that it doesn't try to shoot for the stars like some of the others, but remains true to its name, American Heritage. This for me means that you get a very nicely balanced, unprepossesing all day smoke where all the ingredients add up to great flavour and burning characteristics. I really like the inclusion of the cubed Burleys, very small and there is just enough latakia to give it its slightly smoky character.

It packs easily as well. I imagine it would appeal to the smoker who enjoys PA etc. but would love something with a little more flavour. Great stuff!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
While I fail to grasp what burley fans find to be so captivating and unique about their weed, this tobacco has had me captivated since I first tried it, and burley is a major component here, I take it. I've waited so long to review this as I had to be certain what exactly I think I've been tasting. I'm still not sure, but I know I love it, and that's why I'm singing its praises now.

Complexity and balance like this makes the joy rather subtle, and I often forget that this an English hybrid. Nothing in particular stands out, not even the Latakia. Burns better than anything else I can recall.

Only seven reviews here and I find that astonishing. I could swear there were more reviews here when I selected this last spring.

If I was an all-day smoker, this would be the stuff, or Daybreak. Many might like this for what its not, rather than what it is, which is hard to identify and rarely distracting. Four full stars.

Pipe Used: cobs, meers, nothing in particular
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: purchased this last Spring
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2006 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is a very skillful use of burley in an English blend because I can't taste it at all, only sense it in the body. The entire blend has a kind of balance which makes it suitable for all day smoking. Much more complex than most of this genre too (burley and English), of which there are a lot of mediocre examples.

I would like it more if it had a nicotine kick, but I realize most people don't want this.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 19, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Hearth & Home - American Heritage (Signature Series).

The contents of the tin aren't exactly conducive with the label of Ribbon. Sure, there's ribbons in there but there's also cubes, broken flakes and a couple of twigs. The blend's a bit too dry; smokeable, but the ribbons are a touch crispy. The cube-cut pieces aren't anywhere near as dehydrated though, so when filling I make sure I've put plenty of those in, and not just ribbons alone to get a lengthier smoke.

The Virginia's easily gives the least flavour, it's the Latakia that spices the Burley/Turkish smoke. Like a few others state, the Latakia doesn't smother my palate, it's more of a mild appurtenance that slightly enriches the flavour rather than ruling it. The Turkish plays second fiddle to the Burley: as well as the nuttiness there's a lovely sweet and sour/colourful note from the Turkish. The burn from American Heritage is very good, but the smoke can issue me with a bit of a bite if I puff avariciously; I sip gently!

I'd say the nicotine's about medium and I like the room-note.

American Heritage? Yeah, it arrived a bit dry and can nip a bit but the flavour's spectacular: very charismatic and enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Pererson Harp #03
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Three Months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I think this is an unique blend, Ameican style English. It's smoother and mellower than I expected. Burns well and cool and the flavor are layered. The strength develops as the middle of the bowl.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a very well-rounded, well-behaved blend. Some burley nuttiness with a nice richness and slight spiciness from the other components to make it complex enough to keep it interesting. Generous amounts of smoke with a clean finish. Pairs well with coffee. A great all-day smoke. I keep this one in regular rotation.
Pipe Used: briar, meerschaum, cob
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh tin
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
LV9
Mar 07, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Strong
No fuss burley, latakia blend there's probably yellow virginia and very little perique, it comes ready to smoke out of the tin, this is probably what grandpa smoked when he had money to splurge in a expensive blend. definitely a must buy for burley connoisseurs.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Looking for a summer time blend to take on fishing trips ? This will do just fine. I even added a bit of carter hall to it and let it sit in the jar for a while. An easy going anytime of day kind of smoke. Relax with the Missouri Meer country gentleman corn cob and drift along fishing from the canoe. p.s i had checked the wrong box for flavoring, it should read none detected
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2005 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Normally I approach a blend much like I did food when I was a chef, really breaking it down? not this one? the name really nails it & I treat it as such, heritage? I don?t like to over think it. Comfort blend, that is what this is for me, as Smoking Rob states, much like PA, I smoke this when I want to relax or just carve in my shop and don?t want a lot of ?stuff? going on with my pipe. However, this is not one-dimensional, not at all, it is subtle, but it has some good stuff in there? with a wonderful tasting Burley interacting brilliantly with Russ?s, always delicious, Red Va?. That is what I notice more than anything else, the Latakia and Orientals are like a seasoning to the basics to this blend and do so fantastically, almost like top-notes, but they are there, more so later in the bowl. This packs, lights and smokes effortlessly, is a beautiful blend all around. I have nothing negative to say about it at all. Four stars, hands-down for what it is? No I don?t smoke this every day, because I am more of a Balkan smoker, but when I want a Burley, I will smoke this 90% of the time and is the first Burley I have ever purchased more than 8oz of. It surprised me how much I liked this blend. Namaste? Robert
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"