G. L. Pease Lombard

(2.96)
Named for the famed winding, twisting street in San Francisco, Lombard starts with a base of red and bright Virginias. It is then enhanced with American 'condimental' leaf, including an angel's share of perique. The twist in this Lombard? A delicate breath of Cyprus latakia is added for a whisper of smokiness and a slightly deeper flavor. A gentle introduction to latakia for the Virginia smoker, or just a delightful change of pace.
Notes: Lombard was released in August, 2005.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Fog City Selection
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Burley, Latakia, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.96 / 4
11

23

11

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 45 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 30, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
My review of this blend isn't very different from my review of Laurel Heights. While Lombard has Burley and Perique, which LH doesn't, they don't come through as much and so the two main noticeable ingredients are Virginia and Latakia.

Where I do feel the difference is the tin note. It's a bit richer than LH. But I still mostly get the citrus, hay, leather, and smoke that I get in LH.

The Latakia comes in the smoke as much as in the tin note. But the main ingredients are the Virginias. Red Virginia tastes spicy to me anyway, and I can't always distinctly taste the Perique. The Burley doesn't come out as much either. It's possible that its only effect here is to round up the blend.

Like Laurel Heights, this one is also best enjoyed smoking slow in a larger bowl. For me, best smoked in a medium-large Canadian pipe. For full enjoyment, this needs to be sipped and really tasted, the same way you would do with a fine spirit. Only then all the flavors are felt and appreciated.

What I get is a layer of citrus sweetness, some spice, and some smoke from the Latakia.

It's a ribbon cut, easy to pack and smoke. Doesn't change a whole lot during the smoke. Moisture level is perfect out of the tin. Maybe one relight. Can be an all-day smoke.

Medium-full in body, medium in strength. Nice bit of complexity between sweet, spice, and smoke. Great balance among the ingredients.

Paired really well with any Whiskey or Brandy I got on hand.

For those who enjoy Latakia as a condiment for Virginia, rather than a Latakia-focused blend, this should be very enjoyable. Reminds me of what is called "American Blend" but with the Latakia and Perique toned down and with higher quality leaf.

I admit that I truly learned to appreciate this once I found the right pipe and cadence. I still can't give it a perfect score because I'm not sure I'll buy more of it anytime soon. But I enjoyed it very much and I think that you should try it.
Pipe Used: Medium-large billiards and Canadians
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2009 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Lombard is typical of most Pease blends in that the quality is there. I think cellaring will probably enhance Lombard's Virginia element, but I'd personally cut the blend with a stronger Virginia as this is a light affair.

This is a rather stringy concoction that is not really very easy to pack unless given a whirl in my one speed food processor. It does stay lit well and the Latakia comes through just enough to make its presence known. The Perique was applied discreetly and perhaps enhances an otherwise typical light Latakia blend.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2008 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
After the excellent Montgomery, the good Telegraph Hill and the intriguing Ashbury, I had only Lombard left to try in the Fog City Selection.

So far, I think it's the most undistinguished of the four. It's not bad at all, but it has little to make it stand out. I am smoking it pleasantly, but it doesn't scream from the tin begging me to smoke it, it doesn't fill a particular hole in my rotation.

If you have smoked Montgomery, you know what to expect: the base Virginias are similar, but there is a pinch of perique and Latakia. Well, that pinch is so light that you might almost think someone forgot it... just a minuscule speck here and there. It's truly even LESS than a hint of condimental leaf! You can probably say that their presence is not felt, but if they were absent you would probably feel the lack of them: I guess that a couple of years of aging will take care of this, melding the flavor from these little perique+latakia speck into a cohesive whole, adding subliminally to the experience.

So far, from a relatively fresh tin, the effect is a bit underwhelming. Even waiting the ordinary 10 minutes from the charring light for the blend to kick in (a trademark of this series), I never felt the same stunning evolution of Montgomery: yes, I compare it only to Montgomery as it's the most similar to Lombard of the four. Montgomery had that wonderful Kentucky in it, Lombard does not. Whatever the reason, the taste of Lombard stays very delicate, with some chocolate, some grassy notes... but never evolves into anything truly mouthwatering. It's not bad, either (nothing is actually wrong in the taste), so if you want something probably even subtler than Montgomery you will love it.

One note about packing: the cut is very irregular but stringy, so take care not to overpack and clog the airhole. Moisture content in the tin was also a bit higher than usual, so take EXTRA care. A medium bowl is recommended: not a little one, as flavor won't have enough time to develop, nor a big one because it can become a little boring (while Montgomery shined in big bowls).

But, as I said, I am curious to see what aging will bring to Lombard: I have four tins in my cellar, and I have a suspicion that in 2007 or 2008 I will have to upgrade the rating, given the nature of the blend and the aging potential.

2008 Update: almost three years have passed, and I am smoking one of the tins I had cellared when released. The blend has actually improved: very smooth, with a very pleasant sweetness. It burns much better (go figure...), it has no green herbal notes... Very pleasant and "low maintenance". Perhaps it tends to burn a little fast now, but it's a minor issue. Rating upgraded accordingly...
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I did not like this blend at all and feel I am being kind at giving it two stars. I am only adding the second star out of my respect for Greg Pease. From the ingredient listing this seemed to be a blend I would like. In my mind, I pictured this to be like a revelation knockoff or the variety of American English blends put out by Cornell & Diehl that comprise many ingredients including Latakia, Perique and burley in addition to the Virginia.

My one hope would be the Virginia may stand out more against the other ingredients as that seems to be a hallmark amongst the Fog City series. What I tasted was just no good. the ingredients never tended to pull together into any form of tasty cohesiveness and I really didn't feel any stood out. I actually tasted this one against C&D's Bailey's Front Porch, which has a very similar list of ingredients. I far preferred the latter product by C & D.

In reality, this deserves a one star in my book, but I did find it smokable. It just was not at all enjoyable to me. It needed something to stand out. Just a little more of any of the ingredients. There is Lat, but the blend is hardly smoky. there is perique, but I did not find it spicy. Ditto the Burley and Virginia. The nuttiness and sweetness both being subdued.

This was not a case of this blend needing more maturity, a common knock on GL Pease products, as this tin was from 2006. Perhaps the age cost it some of its flavor from the burley and the latakia. I really don't know, but know that I won't be repurchasing this one.
Age When Smoked: 10 years
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2015 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The bright Virginias have a little citrus and grass. The red Virginias are mildly tangy fruity with a touch of earth, and is the most notable tobacco present. The burley is nutty and toasty, slightly sweet in a minor role. Other supporting players are the raisin, figgy and mildly spicy perique, and the elusive Cyprian latakia, which is mainly added for a slight smoky, woody push more than it is for flavor, as it’s not usually very obvious. I kind of perceived it more in the second half of the smoke. Has a mild nic-hit. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns at a moderate pace, cool and clean and smooth with a little moisture at the finish. Needs an average number of relights. Has a pleasant after taste. Not quite an all day smoke. Despite the high quality of tobaccos, it doesn’t rate higher than two and a half stars, so I give it two.

-JimInks
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2012 Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Brights and browns that give off a healthy tin aroma that belies the mild taste. Yet, this has a fair bit of strength even while the flavors are subtle. This strikes me as GL Pease's take on the American English. VA and burley in the forefront (burley riding shotgon) with the condiments riding in the rear seat. It had a hint of Middleton's Walnut in the taste but with more depth.

Comparing this to C&D's Epiphany, therefore, seemed appropriate to me, as they appear to be geared toward the same smokers as well as blended in the same kitchen. But where Epiphany had bolder flavor and a higher level of complexity... and was more, well, epiphanous, Lombard just sort of eased onto the scene with a more nuanced presentation. The perique and latakia were noticeable and added their own spice and the VA's were sweet but not overly so. It was a mellow smoke but not wimpy. Developed more body down the bowl if not more complexity. I agree that it has probably succeeded with its intent at a target audience. However, I find it interesting, but nothing I feel the need to stock, or even necessarily smoke again. I prefer Epiphany, hands down.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I like this blend. I was gifted a tin that has some age on it, and found the ribbon cut a unique balance of width and length, that made loading and lighting very easy in a large Autograph. The moisture content was perfect.

This blend under promises and over delivers...a very good thing in this day and age. Understated and elegant in the delivery of Perique and Latakia...very nicely done as condiments/seasonings to the main entree of outstanding Virginias.

I like it very much as a mid-morning smoke with a cup of strong Ceylon tea with milk and sugar. It is also very nice in the late afternoon with a glass of (gasp!) blended Scots Whisky; water, no ice.

Enthusiastically Recommeded.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2021 Mild Mild Mild Unnoticeable
Well this review is from a few bowls that I had at the pipe club that was brought in by a fellow member and a nice guy to boot. The tin was dated 090916, a good four years under its belt. This one I could not quite figure out, it smoked really sweet but not aro sweet more Virginia sweet. A really smooth, mild all-day blend in my opinion no detection of the Latakia at all. When the description says a delicate breath of Cyprus Latakia they were not kidding. It also states a gentle introduction to Latakia. They weren’t joking about that either. If I was a newbie, I might could detect it but not now with these jaded taste buds. Good but just not my preference.
Age When Smoked: 4 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2018 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin note is somewhat sweet and hay lie with a hint of citrus, probably provided by the bright Virginia. The description says that the Perique and Latakia are Angel's portions, meaning there is little of these components. Basically, this is a gateway to Latakia and Perique to someone that wants to try such things for the first time. Flavor is much improved by the warmth of mid bowl. This may not be a bad blend for those wanting to experience Latakia and Perique the first time. For me it is a ho hum blend. I give it 2 stars, but do not recommend this for experienced Emglish blend smokers
Pipe Used: Cayuga
PurchasedFrom: Indiaan River Tobacco traders Grand Rapids MI
Age When Smoked: 2 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
G. L. Pease - Lombard (Fog City Selection).

A tan coloured ribbon, with the occasional speck of black, and just below medium in size. The hydration level's good, it feels slightly moist but not 'damp'.

To my palate the Virginia carries the most weight. The Burley is also easily recognized, forming a leading VaBur taste. The Latakia and Perique sit way back, the Perique more-so; I can barely taste any! It burns evenly, albeit, a bit too warm. And it bites me, quite harshly.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: pleasant.

More than often G. L. Pease blends hit the spot, but this doesn't do it for me, so gets two stars, sadly:

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula #221
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6/7 months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
As others have noted, this is a mild smoke, but it's a delicious one. To my tastebuds it's a vaper, I got nothing out of the latakia. I smoked it after a year, and haven't had it fresh. The virginia base is delicious with a sort of nutty flavor like McClelland's 5100 red virginia, to me, and the perique is more present than what I'd assumed an "angel's share" to be. I rate it as a 3, but it's a solid three, a good blend made of quality leaf, just not necessarily as powerful as one I'd keep in a very regular rotation. No doubt it will be fantastic after a few more years.
Pipe Used: Various meerschaums and briars
Age When Smoked: 1 year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"