Sutliff Tobacco Company Whitehall Black Tie

(2.07)
The Lady killer. A black cavendish with aroma that has taken the public's fancy, like no other pipe tobacco in history. Our No.1 seller. The mildest tobacco available anywhere. Black Tie- You'll love it and everyone will love you for using it.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Other / Misc, Vanilla
Cut Cube
Packaging 14 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.07 / 4
2

4

2

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2013 Very Mild Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I just got my can of it today and I love it. I smoked it as hot as I dared and it didn't bite. My pipe cooled down to a comfortable level within a minute. Right out of the can, it was a little moist and was a little difficult to light, but manageable. I'd recommend letting it sit open for a day or loading a pipe pouch with it before you plan to smoke.

Tin note: Raisins, milk chocolate

Room note: Fig, very mild and pleasant. girlfriend doesn't mind it. Looks like I've found an inside smoke!

Taste: Not a lot of taste, but what is present is mild, smooth, sweet, and slightly tangy, with more of the fig taste. Sure beats the other drug store blends I've tried like Sir Walter Raleigh, Sail, and Captain Black. Inhaling it even went smooth. After a re-light, the flavor picked up strength and got a slight spice to it, but retaining the fig.

Overall: I could smoke this all day. Smoke was pretty mild and wispy. Despite its moisture in the can, I haven't needed a pipe cleaner yet and I'm not even using a balsa filter. I'd recommend this to beginning smokers and experienced smokers who can appreciate subtlety in flavor. It's a good morning tobacco and would pair well with a blonde roast of coffee, milk, or sweetened black tea.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2017 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
There’s very little tobacco taste present: a little grass, citrus, honey and toast from the lighter cavendish, and some sugar and smokiness from the unsweetened black cavendish. The vanilla topping is the most obvious one, but I also get a light cocoa, almond, a little fruitiness and a very light musk-like floral note. The nic-hit is very mild. Won’t bite or get harsh. The tobacco is moist, and may need a light dry time. Burns cool, clean and slightly slow with a very consistent flavor. Leaves some moisture in the bowl, narrowly escaping goop, unless you dry it as it also burns wet and gets a tad syrupy toward the finish. Needs some relights. Has a pleasant after taste, and very sweet room note. Can be an all day smoke. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2014 Extremely Mild Medium to Strong Extremely Mild (Flat) Very Pleasant
A freebie with a tobacco order - probably an ounce, although I did not need to smoke more than one bowl of it to know I never want to smoke it again. This appears at first blush to be Sutliff's answer to Captain Black Royal (or Lane's 1Q). But they added extra PG. I'm told PG has a slightly sweetish taste and perhaps that's the reason it seemed kind of fruity and extra sweet, I don't know. But it was too wet to smoke - it was, in fact, drenched in goop. I smoked a bowl with little drying time and it had a chemical, flat taste of vanilla and something I can't identify (perhaps PG). I'd be afraid to smoke this at a black tie event for fear the juice would spit out of the bowl all over my tux! If this is Captain Black Royal, stick with that instead of this.

I decided to experiment with a second bowl but this time dried it out until it was fairly dry. The goop this left in my meerschaum pipe during the first bowl was much lessened, but the taste went completely AWOL. Which wasn't such a bad thing. But drying it took an extremely long time. I thought about cooking it in the microwave but decided it wasn't worth the extra effort. This is an extremely poor tobacco blend, IMHO. If it's trying to be CBR, it fails. If it's not trying to be CBR, it fails. It does, however, smell very nice, so all is not lost.
Pipe Used: meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: freebie
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2006 Very Mild Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
i just cant stop talking about whitehall black tie pipe tobacco, beleive me i have tried a lot of brands and ofcourse discouraged and ended up trowing it away, it can get quite expensive. you can buy a top notch pipe for what it cost in tobacco. i have to admit i also smoke cigaretts and when you put the two taste together it kills the taste of the whitehall, but since i have tried whitehall, well that means less cigaretts. the other night i took out my stanwell, this is also a good pipe to smoke whitehall in, the taste came through and ofcourse the aroma. last but not least the maker of this blend came up with a winner.again i highly recommend and rate it four stars. thank you DUTCH
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 15, 2005 Very Mild Strong Very Mild Very Pleasant
Really, not bad for a domestic blend consisting of golden and black cavendish tobaccos. Its' the black cavendish that gives this blend a somewhat unique character. It has to be fire cured leaf because a mild but noticeable degree of smokiness comes through in the aroma. The flavoring to this black leaf is a seemingly mild vanilla (not over the top) and to the blend as a whole what I think, but uncertain is a discrete note of coconut. It's flavor is actually lightly sweet, not sickeningly so. The degree and complexity of aroma gives this blend an incrediable fragrance that was even appreciated by myself who does not normally smoke this type of tobacco. The sweet smoky vanilla scent lingered in my nostrals long after I had finished one or two pipefuls like a vivid olfactory halucination. I would not be suprised like the tin says that even non-smokers would be captivated by the aroma. So captivated in fact that they would patiently wait in front of you, in a trance, waiting to do thy bidding. Captain Black Royal smokers and the like should try this one.

- Recommended
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2016 Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
First 1 star review I've given (and hopefully the last). While this tobacco smells nice out of the tin, the scent is mostly absent while smoking. There is hardly any flavor in this blend and I got a bit of tongue bite despite smoking at a normal pace. It's not that this blend is god awful or anything, it's just that there are so many better tobaccos out there so I would not recommend wasting your time on this one.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2007 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Got this free sample from Dead Mans Pipes...My pipes were awesome and so was this tobacco. I actuall orded a tin of it from a web page this morning.

It smelled really good throught the plastic bag and was better in my pipe.

I have to say this my be my new favorite.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2005 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
If you like Aromatics and Vanilla, give this four stars. Reminds me of MacBarens' Vanilla Creme. A bit too damp but lights o.k. This is all about the smell though. An indoor smoke if ever there was one. The only drawback is that if you don't like it you own a whole tub!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2024 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Been a pipe smoker since the early 1970’s. There was a locally owned pipe & tobacco shop in town until the owner passed away at 97. He had some great blends. My favorite from his shop was Bacchus, an aromatic blend. After he passed away, I searched for a similar blend and White Hall Black Tie was a close match. When desperate, I would get Capitan Black White or 1Q & mix it Lane BCA for similar results.

Smoked many a container of White Hall Black Tie. In fact, my garage workbench has dozens of containers now filled with various screws, bolts, nuts, odd parts from all the projects that I was involved with when I owned rental properties.

Pipe Used: Mainly briar, larger bowl oom Paul freehand type
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigar
Age When Smoked: 70
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2019 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
Some blends get an unfortunate bad reputation (mixture 79 and Paladin) usually by people who have never smoked them, while others justify their bad rap (Captain Black Grape). Whitehall Blacktie falls somewhere in between. The tobacco itself is goopy but not hard to keep lit. Where this blend fails is its lack of taste. Oh sure there’s some vanilla in there somewhere, but almost zero tobacco taste. The roomnote is pleasant.
Pipe Used: Cobs
Age When Smoked: ?
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2009 Very Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Very Pleasant
I've smoked numerous tobaccos and out of all of them this one had the most humectant. In fact, I think they just added tobacco as a condiment to a tub of vanilla and humectant. It has no flavor, bits wet and goopy and produces little more than steam. I can find absolutely not positive attributes in this blend.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"