Just For Him Longbottom Leaf

(2.72)
This is the first in the Middle Earth Pipeweed Series! Fragrant Virginias are blended with a hint of vanilla to produce the finest leaf the Shire has to offer!

Details

Brand Just For Him
Series Middle Earth Pipeweed
Blended By Bob Schafer
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.72 / 4
5

18

11

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 36 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2014 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
As with many of us, my inspiration to pick up a pipe were the writings of the great Professor Tolkien. I have been aware of Just for Him's line of Middle-Earth inspired blends for quite some time, but waited to purchase them until I obtained a good churchwarden. I was quite excited to try Longbottom Leaf, but after three bowls of it, I remain unimpressed. There is a lack of consistency in the relation between the Virginia tobaccos and the vanilla flavoring, much more than I have noticed in any of the other blends I have smoked. At times, the vanilla is pervasive while at other times is absent, leaving the smoker with a bland assortment of Virginias. It is uninteresting in taste and is forgettable once the bowl is finished. It leaves an unpleasant aftertaste that is difficult to get rid of. I do not plan on purchasing this again and remain searching for the true Longbottom Leaf.
Pipe Used: Davidson Cherry Gandalf
PurchasedFrom: Just For Him
Age When Smoked: Just purchased
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 04, 2009 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Longbottom Leaf is a light aromatic with an obvious essence of Vanilla. A high class blend with enough tobacco taste to keep me interested for awhile. It turned a bit sour on me as I neared the bottom of the bowl, but the first 2/3rds were doggone good.

If you are a fan of lightly sweet Vanilla tobaccos, this one might zoom to the top of your list of favorites.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
Longbottom Leaf is to Middle Earth what Lane's 1Q is to the real world.

That doesn't mean anything negative. It is just a very basic, sweet, mild and pleasing tobacco, but not something to store in a chest away from the world only to be had on special occasions. It is probably what a hobbit would consider an everyday smoke.

It is very mild, so perfect for a beginner, the aromatic qualities would also be very pleasing to any new piper. The strength just isn't there. If you roughhouse with this, it will bite.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2015 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
This is the fifth and final Middle Earth Blend I tried. It is listed as purely Virginia with a Vanilla casing. I definately think there is some other types of tobacco blended in there. Maybe a little Burley or even Latakia but maybe my tastebuds lie. It has a sweetness but to me really isn't pure Vanilla, almost a honey/nut flavouring to it. Like all other Middle Earth blends it lit well, stayed lit, little to no tongue bite. I highly recommend this blend, I think this and Old toby are the two top MEB in the series. They all have high quality ingredients and are perfect for hiking in the woods, picnicks etc. Or reading/watching the Tolkien books/films as they were inspired by. The blender as a note to ALL these blends is very thoughtful with what and how much of the ratios of ingredients go into them. They could all stand on their own but I think Longbottom Leaf is mild enough to be an all day smoke but interesting enough not to get borring.
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie Drinkless Billiard Style
PurchasedFrom: Just For Him
Age When Smoked: Opened from Trial Pack
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2015 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant
An exceedingly mellow smoke. It's a very light blend that is only half aro. This blend reminds us how enjoyable the taste of tobacco can be. Moisture content was beautiful. This tobacco smoked dry and completely. No bite to be found. If you are looking for a traditional aromatic with ample flavoring you will not find it here. Instead you will find a very mild yet very enjoyable smoke which is certainly worth trying. DBM
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Just for Him
Age When Smoked: Aged 1 month
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2014 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Very Pleasant
I thought I was not a fan of vanilla but when it is subtle like this it is very nice. This tobacco packed and lit easily enough but it just stressed me out. Where is the strength? It is frustrating to smoke because the taste is so weak but so nice. It gave me the feeling that my pipe went out and in order to chase the flavour you end up turning your pipe into a flamethrower. A damn shame.
Pipe Used: Mr brog
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2014 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
This blend had a great initial taste, but it did kind of bland out towards the middle . It wasn't dry, but had a bit of a tongue bite if puffed too fast.

The Virginias used were of pretty good quality and would have been better untouched, in my opinion. It had decent body.

I give this a generous three, it would be a two, if it was anything else other then what they say it would be. I would still like to try other pipe weed blends.
Pipe Used: H.I.S Egg, Cob
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
LV9
Feb 12, 2012 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Longbottom leaf is a good introduction to the aromatic smoker making a transition to virginias, is very easy to light and to keep going very forgiving for constant puffers since, the virginias almost have a lemony flavor to it and in my opinion overpower whatever the cavendish provides I recommend to use a pipe dedicated to aromatics because it will flavor a pipe, in the aromatic category you could do much worse. Would I buy it again probably not, but nevertheless it is a intriguing blend.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2017 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is my first review of the Just For Him- Middle Earth series and if the other blends are this decent, I will be very happy.

Straight forward Virginia with some pleasing vanilla gravy. The flavour is sweet and simple, though not cheap or boring. Grassy, sweet, and a rich quality to the vanilla that made me think of brown sugar. I chugged my way through this bowl. Very smooth. I tried to get it to bite out of curiosity and it would not. It burned all the way down needing only one relight and left a brand new virgin cob dry.

Very little to say about this blend in the negative. The vanilla wanes late-bowl and it gets a little ashen in flavour. The Virginia is there and has life to it, but you will have to smoke slow and retro-hale to sort it from the obvious topping.

To summarize, I probably wont buy this again, but it was fun to smoke. This blend puts OTC drugstore Aros to absolute shame. Quality tobacco and no goopy chemical casing. Excellent for beginners and vanilla VA lovers alike.

JustForHim.com The site design is very 'Bleh,' but it was a smooth transaction and I received my order just two business days later with the cheapest postage option! Will certainly order from their site again. Great job guys and I look forward to touring the rest of Middle Earth with you.

2 Stars for me personally, but 3 Stars for Aromatic lovers.
Pipe Used: Virgin Missouri Cob
PurchasedFrom: JustForHim.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh from Bulk
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2013 Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Starting off on the pouch note, predominantly clear about this tobacco is the sweet casing that has been applied. As a primarily non-aro smoker, I find the sweet smelling Vanilla casing just on the right side. It is not as revolting as the ones you would experience on say, Planta or the deathly Mixture 79. Upon light, as usually the case with most Aros the sweet smelling vanilla does not translate into the smoke. However, the choice of Virginia used in this concoction is delicious and being a Va lover I am quite surprised to see my self liking this blend.

Room note was fantastic, akin to the toasted caramel note that you get with Captain Black (White Pouch). Honestly, this is note the kind of tobacco I would buy again, but if I were marooned on a dessert island with no other choice to smoke, I would live.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Ozark Mountain Hardwood
PurchasedFrom: JustforHim
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 27, 2013 Mild Mild Very Mild Unnoticeable
Very light flavor with a hint of vanilla. Not much to comment on because not much to smell or taste.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"