Peter Stokkebye Proper English (No.52)

(3.11)
The most Latakia of any blend we make combined with old belt Virginias and Orientals for a classic blend.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.11 / 4
41

58

18

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 122 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
mild english
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
The Virginia provides grass/hay with some tart and tangy citrus and a touch of tart lemon. It forms the base of this blend. The smoky, woody, earthy, mildly sweet Cyprian Latakia has a fairly strong presence, and also sports a light mustiness, though this is not a lat-bomb. The Orientals are dry, woody, herbal, floral, vegetative, earthy, sweet and sour with a little spice as a supporting player. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nicotine is in the center of mild to medium. Won’t bite or get harsh, but has a few small rough edges. Burns cool at a moderate pace with a little inconsistent, mildly sweet and rather savory campfire flavor with a little acrid finish. Doesn’t require many relights, or leave much moisture in the bowl. The after taste and room notes linger a tad. Not quite an all day smoke. A working man's English blend. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
58 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 13, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Peter Stokkebye's take on what today is considered a typical English blend...Traditional English blends before mid-nineteenth century contained no Latakia...Only Virginias, Burley, Orientals, and perhaps some black Cavendish and/or Perique...But I digress...This is a very good blend...Those of you who expect and are seeking a Lat bomb would do well to look else where...Latakia in this blend is subdued by the Orientals as it should be...Room note is tolerable but won't win you any friends amongst non-smokers or those who run hiding whenever the words 'English blend' are spoken...Contemplative smoke...Not to be rushed...Sit back and enjoy...Would definitely buy again and again.
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Pouch note is heavy oriental stank and some woodsy/campfire notes, a little fermented fruit like raisins or plums in the backend. Tobacco in the pouch is pretty much perfect for a bowl, almost feeling too dry but with quite a bit of spring when pinched and no crackling or powder.

Initial char is oriental forward and musty, latakia provides a little nasal earthy spice and smoke. The flavor is very well rounded and balanced. While initial light gave a slight promise of a bright, almost virginia flavor, that either blended well with the other components or was just a figment of the imagination... once the bowl was burning well I lost much of that brightness... instead I got a good "benchmark" English, kinda funky, musty, spicy (like fennel or caraway seeds, not like pepper), deep and brooding. Think Grieg vs. Beethoven. Sumatra vs. Kona. Cello vs. Violin.

At the very end, I got a hint of flavor reminding me of cigar leaf. I was left with a coarse dottle and ash, fairly par for the course with most English I've smoked.

Nicotine content was just right for me personally, but I find nicotine content to be very subjective and tolerances vary. It was enough to know it was there and to relax me, but not too much for me to tempt my head to feel swimmy.

This blend stands well as scratching all the itches that an English should scratch. A good blend that I would recommend for anyone that would smoke an English as a daily smoker.
Pipe Used: Edwards Bulldog
PurchasedFrom: WVSmokeshop
Age When Smoked: Unknown (purchased 5/2014)
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2008 Mild None Detected Full Pleasant
Never thought I'd puff on a "Danish English" blend with this much "English" flavor.... Full in the taste department but a "smooth full" if that makes any sense.

Easy to pack and burn due to the cut; this one has a flavor that Latakia lovers, in particular, will enjoy. I can't compare this one to Nightcap as this Stokkebye blend contains no Perique. Maybe EMP is comperable, but certainly revved up in the Latakia department.
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2014 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a very strong and full bodied smoke. Not for those likely anything remotely mild. But if you enjoy a good English then you will enjoy Proper English. has strong notes of campfires and burning wood. The Latakia is tempered by the Oriental and it all comes together perfectly. I typically smoke this out of a smaller pipe since I best enjoy for 15-30min. Not a blend I would sit and smoke for hours on end. But it sure does hit the spot when wanting a good English blend!
PurchasedFrom: BnB
Age When Smoked: 6 months
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
If you are just venturing into the world of English blends this would be a great place to start. There is nothing to herald about this blend, it in no way caused me any sort of pipe smoking enlightenment, but at the same time there is a real appeal to its humble straightforwardness.

The Stokkebye blends are always quality and always a great bargain. I keep many on hand for this reason. This blend is just a good fullish English. No complaints. It is well balanced in the fact that the orientals come through nicely. I really like this blend, and as a bulk blend, any pipe smoker should have a couple ounces of this cellared. Very nice, and will buy again.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
One of my favorite English blends, you can taste the quality of the tobaccos used in this blend, even tho it is a pretty latakia forward blend, there is a good amount of body to the smoke which starts off nice and smokey and then a nice sweet finish
Pipe Used: La Rocca, Fantasia
PurchasedFrom: Alegheny Smoke Works
Age When Smoked: all ages
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
At first blush, it appears to be a "proper english". Fairly dark ribbon, loaded with latakia, backed up by orientals and using virginia as a base. The tin aroma is latakia - big surprise.

The blend started out amicably enough. Not as powerful as I imagined but decent tasting. The latakia is smoky as it should be and prominent. The orientals poke through every now and again and the virginias provide a light sweetness. All seems to be going well. However, the taste took a huge turn for the worse about 1/3 down the bowl. It became bitter and uneven, with a resin-like chalkiness. The mouthfeel became rough and the taste was of something I've never experienced in an English latakia blend. I have no idea what could cause this. Eventually, however, the blend settled down into what can only be called unmemorable-ness. An odd decent-to-awful-to-boring trip. Not to be repeated.

I've had pretty good luck with Stokkebye blends in the past. I cannot call them "great" blends but they are certainly "good". This one I found to be not so good. This may be PS' idea of a proper English, but it is definitely not mine. I'm giving it 2 stars because it's nowhere near as awful as other blends I've given one star to, but neither is it as good as other 2 star blends I've smoked. Low cost pushes it up to 2 stars.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This is my third attempt with English blends. The two blends I tried prior to this darn near turned my off of English blends all together. I purchased a couple ounces of this blend based on recommendations from other patrons at the local B&M. Upon returning home I decided to pack a bowl of this in a cob and give it a try. This blend was easy to pack, easy to light and burned well. Unlike the previous two blends I had tried prior to this, I enjoyed this blend so much that I decided to purchase a pound of this blend at the B&M. This has now become my go to English blend and will always be in my rotation. To be perfectly honest I used to be an aromatic smoker, now because of this blend, I rarely smoke the aro's. Absolutely fantastic smoke and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to venture into the world of English blends.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 05, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
A decent English that I enjoy when I want something milder than my usual heavier blends.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"