Peterson Luxury Blend

(2.80)
A smooth and exquisite blend of golden and orange Virginias, sweetish black cavendish, fragrant burley and a fabulous aroma of honey and the all time favorite vanilla flavor. New Tin Description: A unique mixture of selected tobaccos including Virginia, Burley and Maryland blended with some Black Cavendish. Blended with hand-rubbed Virginia Flake.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Maryland, Virginia
Flavoring Honey, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.80 / 4
26

41

33

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 107 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2008 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I give this Peterson offering 4 stars not because I think it's the best tobacco the world has ever seen, but because for the style of tobacco, it is at the top of its class.

Tin is densely packed, smells like heaven. I can see the subtle topping being mistaken for something more run-of-the-mill like "just vanilla" but really, I think the blender's description is bang on - orange, honey, and just a little vanilla.

The tobacco is of excellent quality, like all Peterson offerings, with no hint of humectants. In the pipe, it starts quite sweet, and develops into a stronger more tobacco-oriented flavor at the bottom of the bowl. It smokes almost like a Lakeland at the bottom. The topping changes or fades out, but never disappears. A very light smoke with a nice full taste, not as spicy as Connoiseur's Choice, and not as heavily topped. Certainly not as heavily topped as most Danish aros, like Larsen, for instance.

I enjoy this stuff. Puff slow - it will heat up, like any virginia-based aromatic.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Peterson - Luxury Blend.

In the tin you have a good selection of tobaccos right from jet Black Cavendish up to lighter Burley and Virginia, with a pleasing honey-sweetness to the aroma.

It lights easy and gives a wonderful flavour. The tobaccos are quite well balanced, without either being too prominent. The honey comes across well, it's not just 'any old sweetness', but a delicately aromatic honey one. The vanilla gives flavour without being too sticky. A bowl burns reliably and cool.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: brilliant.

A great aromatic. Four stars:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2005 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
While similar in nature to Sweet Kilarney and Sunset Breeze, Peterson's Luxury Blend was a little less sweet and had more of a tobacco taste than those two aromatics. Still too cased for this cowboy, though.

I liked the thicker, shorter cut which made packing easy, but the sweetness was certainly hemmed in by the cavendish and exploded at the match. This one also smokes a bit wet, so a slow burn might help prevent your pipe getting a bad case of the gurgles.

Luxury Blend sure smells good both in the tin and at the match.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Very Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
The first thing one notices is the aroma from the tin. It is wonderfully delightful. It packed well and lit easy. The second thing is the room note. According to the gentlemen sitting next to me smoking cigars, it is very pleasant. It is not offensive at all. As for the taste, the sweetness of the Cavendish is present but not overpowering. It is however not for beginners. The tongue bite on this one is strong if one is not too careful. It requires a slow draw and infrequent puffs, making you take your time and enjoy it. I can taste a hint of the orange and the vanilla of course and the honey as well, which is the flavor one is left with at the end of the puff. At least for me. It is slightly creamy (vanilla, I presume) and with the citrus flavor, it lends itself to being more of a summer smoke I would think.
Pipe Used: Pete #999
PurchasedFrom: Heroes and Legacies (B&M)
Age When Smoked: About 6 months
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2014 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
I bought a tin of this on my 31st birthday while I was taking my son to the park. I wanted something sweet. I don't really like aromatic blends anymore, but this one surprised me. I also bought a cob in the drug store across the street bc I'm always wary of putting aromatics in my pipes meant for other things. They can be goopy, ruin a pipe until it's cleaned thoroughly. Even then maybe not.

The tin presentation is kinda on the light side. More golden colors than browns. The tin aroma is very pleasant, light tobacco scent with a light whiff of honey and a bit stronger smell of vanilla. It was a little moist, so I dried I for a few mins before packing. It took three chars to get an ash layer on top, but it lit well after that.

It took about half the bowl to get things really going the first time. The flavor intensifies after that a bit. It's still not very strong, but it is very tasty. Well done aromatic in my opinion. Not goopy, not too sweet. It has a great vanilla taste, and the honey is a bit more of a background note to me. Pretty mild flavor even towards the end of the bowl. The topping hangs on almost all way as well.

I would recommend this one to most smokers, as it can work well in mixed company, and you may even be able to smoke this inside without getting your balls broken by the old lady. Also, it goes ok with bourbon. At least knob creek from my experience. I think its pretty tasty, and it probably won't ruin a pipe on you. I would still suggest a cob dedicated to it however. It may be a bit mild, and not very strong, but it's better than smoking in exile during social events. I kept the tin around for some time and broke it out for parties and such. I may get more some day, but for now my social circle seems to have adjusted a bit more to my pipes' prescience.
Pipe Used: MM legend
PurchasedFrom: Wallingford tobacco, Wallingford ct
Age When Smoked: Fresh tin
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2014 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
When I read the tin, I immediately thought I would love this....a blend of three different Virginias, Burley and Cavendish with a hint of orange, honey and vanilla. Well, I couldn't find any honey; not in the tin or in the smoke or on the palate, but surely orange and vanilla. I didn't get the bite as some warned. The room note was pleasant! Funny, my son smelled "rooibos", a South African grown tea. The vanilla was more noticeable in the room note while the orange was more on the palate. Overall a pleasant smoke.

A few weeks later, and I can say...the honey was there. Very nice balance between the nuttiness of the Burley, some sweetness from the Virginia to counter the Burley and the touch of honey, orange & Vanilla. Honeybush!

http://youtu.be/mPqPhkumX2o
Pipe Used: George Jensen
PurchasedFrom: Ye Olde Tobacco Shop
Age When Smoked: Immediate
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2011 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Peterson's Luxury Blend smells and tastes as though it were a special, secret, hand-crafted blend of which only the worthiest of pipe smokers were allowed to partake. And for just around twelve bucks, you too can feel like you're part of that royal brotherhood of distinguished pipe smokers...because no experienced and distinguished pipe smoker would ever turn this down. Luxury Blend by Peterson is a beautifully crafted leaf through and through. Where to begin? Upon opening the tin, you are immediately greeted by the variety of Virginia tobaccos, and you can really smell each different one. A delicious amalgam of fruity, almost fig-like smells, a nice roasted and aged woodsy undertone, and to top it off, a peppery spicy smell that's sure to tantalize tickle your nose. Add the sweet and chocolaty aroma of Black Cavendish and the toasted nuttiness of good old Burley, all cased in a delicate, sweet smelling citrus-honey-vanilla casing, and you have yourself one hell of a smoke. The taste is quite luxurious indeed. Beautifully complex and flavorful, but mild enough to not overpower the smoker (or his mates) with heavy and overly rich tobacco taste and smell. The smell of Luxury is definitely distinct and may not be enjoyed by everyone, but those who do enjoy it will have a symphony of great smell and flavor from their first puff to their last. Furthermore, this blend smokes cool, dry, and without bite. It makes for a very relaxing, rich after-dinner smoke, and can be enjoyed just as fully as the world's finest cigars. In summary, this stuff is a damn fine smoking tobacco. If you like pipes and feel like smoking a bowl of the King's private stash, save yourself a count of treason and possible beheading and find this instead. You'll have bested the stingy King, and be smoking higher quality stuff than all of the crowned heads of Europe. Win win for the savvy smoker with royal tastes.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
I thought that it was about time I added a few reviews to this great website, so here's the first of a few more to come...

This Peterson Luxury Blend has the most amazing aroma when the tin is opened, rich & heavy. It's quite moist when first opened from new, but once rubbed into the bowl it lights nicely with big puffs of smoke. It smells way richer and fuller than it tastes, but that is always the way with aromatics. You need to smoke this slowly to ensure no tongue bite, as bite it will if rushed. It's not a strong tobacco nicotine wise, but enjoyable enough, with a pleasant room note which others seem to like. Won't be in a rush to buy another tin, but nice to have tried it and to bring it out for bowl every now and then.
Pipe Used: Peterson Killarney 338
PurchasedFrom: James Fox Dublin
Age When Smoked: First out the tin & 1 year later
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I enjoy this tobacco a lot. It has a mild aromatic flavour not overpowering and my wife appreciated the pleasant room note. It was a comfort to smoke and not overwhelming. The flavour changes as you smoke to the bottom of the bowl from a little taste of citrus to vanilla. I noticed a little bit of moisture collecting towards the end of the smoke. Great morning smoke with coffee or tea. This is definitely a tobacco at the top of my list.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A wonderful blend with a subtle, but defiantly noticeable, sweet taste of honey and Vanilla (although less vanilla). The only time I get an astringent taste (I think some may refer to it orange) is if it's smoked repeatable and often, taking too big of a draw and not letting the pipe rest between puffs. For me to get the full taste of the honey casing is by clenching on the pipe in the teeth and ever so gently, slowly and calmly puffing and letting the smoke almost float out of my mouth. Otherwise I get what others have described as orange / citrus (as I mentioned, for me a bitter astringent taste)

Once you've got the hang of it, you will be rewarded with a full flavoured quality aromatic.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2017 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a very new pipe smoker (previously a non-smoker); and this is the 3rd Peterson aromatic that I've tried over the last month (the others being Connoisseur’s Choice and Sweet Killarney).

I got the Luxury Blend today based on reviews on this site. I wasn't very excited by the tin note initially, took some out and left to dry for about 20 minutes, before packing my pipe, charing the top and then lighting up... what a revelation!

I loved the mild taste and very pleasant aroma; and really enjoyed this bowl - in fact I wished it wouldn't end. This smoked very cool, though I had to re-light the bowl several times, especially towards the end.

This is by far my favourite blend so far.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Dry System
PurchasedFrom: JJ Cale
Age When Smoked: New out the tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"