Peterson De Luxe Navy Rolls

(3.56)
De Luxe Navy Rolls are made in Denmark using hand-stripped Virginia tobaccos from Brazil and Africa, married with perique from Louisiana. This recipe produces an aromatic smoke with natural tobacco flavors and lovely sweet notes.
Notes: Formerly known as Dunhill Deluxe Navy Rolls, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.56 / 4
143

48

16

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 171 - 180 of 210 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2004 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Extra Full Very Pleasant
This is my favourite tobacco. If it has right humidity, if it is right put in the chimney, you will smoke it long, with much pleasure. It is not easy to smoke this tobacco, but if you can - you must try, because it is VERY TASTY!!!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 13, 2003 Medium to Strong Mild Medium Pleasant
I decided to take the advice of wiser folk than me when I first tried Navy Rolls. I did not rub out this tobacco as is my wont, but rather rolled two slices and filled my Peterson churchwarden thusly.

Rich, sweet, sublime.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 21, 2003 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
October-2003. Dunhill's De Luxe Navy Rolls. When I'm in the mood for Virginia & Perique I alway's go to Escudo,but after trying De Luxe Navy Rolls I have no hesitation in recommending this. Light's extremely easily & smoke's beautifully all the way down to the bottom of the bowl,leaving a nice clean ash.No goop with this one & the flavour of the Virginia & Perique both come into play in a most clean delicious straight smooth way.As with Escudo I highly recommend this also.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2003 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I have smoked two tins of this DNR roll cake in Ashtons (XX and XXX). I have also smoked several tins of the new Escudo (both new and aged) in a small Dunhill and Bjarne high grade. It took me years to get down to this review, but I still need to keep trying them side by side to get a final opinion, but who needs to wait for that. I do find DNR as having a little more depth than the new Escudo, close but after all a matter of a degree or two in pipe tobacco transforms a good blend into a great one. Escudo aged for a couple of years or more is closer to DNR.

I never tried the old Escudo, which DNR is advertised to approximate better. Indeed both DLN and aged new Escudo give me an experience close to what I hear the old Escudo created. The new unaged Escudo tin just seems lighter to me. I think new Escudo needs to be aged for quite a while to achieve that old Escudo punch, while DLN is probably closer to the original off the shelf. (However, I have ben told by some, but not all, experienced old Escudo buffs that there is no detectable difference between the old and new. Opinions do differ here (e.g., Ephermis articles) in these subtle evaluations.)

I compared the two (DLN with new but aged Escudo).

Tin aroma: DLN - plum cake, ketchup, rich; aged new Escudo - more sour like. DLN smells better. I don't think a new tin of Escudo smells as strong (or bad) as the aged one. I don't think either has any or much scenting; just aged, matured virginia.

Visual: DLN - 24 large thick rounds of brown and bright tobacco with some darkness. Aged new Escudo - similar if not identical disks but after two plus years of aging, very dark and black, almost like mostly dark flake. A newer tin of Escudo has a similar disk color appearance as DLN. I found the Escudo rounds rolled better (the way I pack it is to roll and stop down with my thumb); DLN's broke up a wee bit more, but o.k.

Room aroma: DLN - light presence but "hit and run" ((probably from the scent of the perique). Aged Escudo - ashy; similar to a cigarette to an untrained nose. But not a heavy room aroma.

Taste: DLN - flavor quickly builds to a melancholy red virginina type ("fruity") sweetness with a dark spicy side. The more split up the coins, the deeper the perique presence and less sweetness from the virginia. Not as heavy or sweet as St. Bruno or as strong (or bitey) as Esoterica's Dorchester. Still cool and biteless, unless you break it up too much or smoke to quickly, then the perique will get you. Aged Escudo - similar but a slightly darker flavor. (I recall a new tin of Escudo being lighter in color, taste, and complexity. You didn't taste the perique much except as a slightly pepperly note toward the finish.) Still fairly cool; a quality smoke.

Overall, I think DLN wins by a nose (no pun intended), but both DLN and new aged Escudo are quality curly cut smokes. Matured virginia sweetness with a dark note if you roll the coins in the bowl lengthwise and plug or stop them down. Neither is difficult to light or to keep lit. Neither is a wet smoke. Neither is heavy (unless you break them up too much or just don't like perique at all). Both are cool. But again it takes new Escudo a while in the tin, in my opinion, to approach DLN. Similar is all other respects.

Maybe someone scientist/reviewer can do a more detailed scientific comparison.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2002 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Judging by the packaging, content, and roll-cut, this is clearly Dunhill's answer to Escudo, and what an answer it is! If Escudo is a rough-and-tumble trip on a four-master, Deluxe Navy Rolls is a smooth, luxurious ride on the QE2. It's a class act all the way.

The Rolls are a dead-ringer for Escudo; they look, smell, and rub out exactly the way Escudo does. But upon lighting up, the difference becomes obvious. DNR is considerably more refined and smooth than its predecessor. The quality of the Virginias is first rate. The Perique presents itself and does its work well, without overwhelming the smoker as Escudo often does. Not as sweet as Three Nuns, nor as woodsy as McClelland 2015, DNR shoots straight down the middle with a robust, flavorful smoke with just enough spice to keep it from ever becoming uninteresting. (And I'm a guy who generally doesn't care for Dunhill Virginias.)

If you're a fan of Escudo, you should seek DNR out and try it. If you've smoked Escudo and come away either overwhelmed or underwhelmed, you should _definitely_ try DNR. It's a crime that this stuff isn't available in the U.S.!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2023 Medium None Detected Very Mild Pleasant
Peterson De luxe navy rolls

Upon opening the tin for the first time the aroma of dried figs permeates from these coin cuts.

The first smoke is surprisingly clean. Low the flavor miles on the grassy, maintaining a room note similar to the unscorched aroma, but to a lesser degree. Smokes cool to warm on the palate with a moderate heat in the bowl.

3.5 stars

1= wont finish the tin
2= I’ll finish the tin but won’t buy again
3= enjoyed and buy from time to time.
4= will keep in stocked.
Pipe Used: H.I.S. Straight barrel
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 1-2 weeks
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
10/8/2023

First time trying this and I found it phenomenal. Also my first experience with coins; I fully rubbed them out for this inaugural bowl in my Peterson 303 Zippo System P-lip. Moisture out of the tin was perfect for me. Required no relights, which is rare for me. Never smoked any of the early variations so my I can’t compare. There is a sweetness that lingers in the finish. Given the expense, I was worried I might regret this purchase. Happily, I do not! I find most blends quite similar to one another, this is one that stands out. I hope this magic continues throughout the rest of the tin.
Pipe Used: Peterson System 303 Zippo P-lip
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Coin cut tobacco is my favourite. Love the way it packs and the way it burns. VaPers are my favourite. Love the sweet and spicy interplay of the tobaccos. As far as DLNR goes, it's an excellent tobacco. The concept and execution are similar to Escudo, which is a Top 3 all timer for me. To my taste buds, DLNR is sweeter and tangier than Escudo. Less grassy and bready, and I get less perique spice. If Escudo is a breakfast pastry, DLNR is a dessert. I love 'em both but prefer Escudo.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2023 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Dunhill/Peterson DNR and Escudo are always compared, so for me it must be a very fine line as to why I prefer one over the other. If it’s any indication I gave the rest of my Escudo away, while I kept DNR. My Dunhill tin had five years on it when I opened it, and I have another from the same order that I will open when it is ten years old. This is the only coin Va-Per I’ve had that I think warrants aging, not Escudo, not Davidoff, not any of the others I’ve forgotten.

Others who are more passionate about their Va-Pers have described the differences better than I because I’m not one to visit Va-Pers that often. For me, Escudo was too dry and grassy, and left me thirsty, DNR is less grassy, more of the toasted oat bread profile, not quite what I’d call malty, but sweeter on the finish than Escudo. Some have said that Dunhill/Peterson is fuller in flavor, but I think this is just because it is rounder on the palate, without the bright tones of Escudo. I also like the Perique used here better, not the stale peppercorn type of Escudo, but tasting like maybe a small amount of prune juice was used in the casing.

My favorite 4-star Va-Per is Rattray’s HOTW, but that isn’t exactly a classic style. For a classic benchmark coin Va-Per DNR would be my recommendation. 3+ stars.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2022 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
It is almost impossible to review Peterson De Luxe Navy Rolls without comparing it to Escudo Navy De Luxe, so I won't even attempt it.

Both are excellent and archetypes of the Virginia-Perique style. The perique in each manifests as more plummy/raisiny than peppery, although I get just a touch more pepper from Peterson. The quality of the cut coins of tobacco also seems slightly inferior in Peterson De Luxe Navy Rolls. They are cut slightly rougher with less precision than Escudo, and they don't seem to be arranged in the tin quite as meticulously. Escudo is also a bit cheaper.

For these reasons, I would say Escudo just edges out Peterson. But Peterson De Luxe Navy Rolls is still excellent. If you want a classic VaPer, you can't go wrong with either.

3.5/4 stars
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"