Paul Olsen Kong Frederik Full (English Mixture)

(3.25)
A strong mixture of English type - developed by King Frederik IX. A original blend, strong and convincing with golden Virginia and latakia.

Details

Brand Paul Olsen
Blended By Paul Olsen
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.25 / 4
7

7

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 16 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2019 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Tolerable
I purchased this blend in Copenhagen at the danish pipe shop and the seller told me that King Frederik IX was used to smoke this mixture when he was sailing and not at home.. intact this mixture is a full and quite rude English that I enjoy very much. Rich and full but no bite and no nicotine bomb.
Pipe Used: Il duca Prince morta
PurchasedFrom: Danish pipe shop
Age When Smoked: 1 month
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
The golden Virginia provides a bit of grass/hay and citrus, and takes a back seat to the other components. The dry, smoky, woody, very spicy, floral, mildly buttery sweet and fairly sour Orientals are a supporting player. The dominant varietal is the smoky, woody, lightly sweet Cyprian latakia. The strength level sits squarely on medium. The taste is a step past the medium threshold. The nic-hit falls just short of mild to medium. No chance of bite or harshness, and has no rough edges, though I wouldn’t say this is very smooth either. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a mostly consistent, deep flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires slightly more than an average number of relights. Has a pleasant, lightly lingering campfire after taste. Not quite an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
Paul Olsen - Kong Frederick Full (English Mixture).

This is a rock solid, Latakia heavy, smoke.....simple.

The ribbons are borderline coarse-cut, a lot are more like broken flakes. It appears to be a 50/50 split between black and brown, and smell from the tin is rich with Latakia.

The moisture amount makes ignition as simple as anyone would want, and right from the first puff it's the Latakia running things. It's a very tasty Latakia though: smoky and woody with some spice. Because of the boisterousness of the Latakia I don't get much from the Virginia; the Lat tastes more like the proverbial bomb as opposed to a seasoning; albeit, not just a smoky bomb. Like many blends that are heavy with Latakia, the first quarter has a slightly sharper flavour than the latter part. The burn's very stable, giving off a medium temperature smoke; but, be warned, it can bite a little if it's puffed over zealously. Well, it can bite ME a bit!

I think you'd have to be in the right mood to enjoy the note: it's traditionally English, albeit it doesn't hold back any. And the nicotine's above medium.

This goes straight into my list of favourite English's: it's extremely tasty, great mechanically, and an all round winner.... to me, that is!

Love it:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Erik Nording
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: One month
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 12, 2016 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Unnoticeable
This left my mouth scorched as if chilied. It's all golden virginia with a token excuse for some latakia.

What came off the tin smelled delightful but it's for different a different PH balance than mine!

Pipe Used: Stanwell billard.
PurchasedFrom: The corner shop. Good blokes and they can have it back!
Age When Smoked: Fresh from the shop.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
A well balanced blend made from top quality tobacco. I experience it as being on the mild side of medium. There are a number of English blends of a similar nature: so while I certainly wouldn't turn down another tin of this, I wouldn't go to great lengths to get more.

PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipeshop
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A good solid English style mixture with the Latakia in prime focus of the mixture. The foundation of the blend is a sweet Virginia with excellent fire properties that not requires many re-lights, the Virginia is of broken-flake style. I think it's a good all day smoke but if puffed on to fast it can scorch your tongue
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2007 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This blend has become my Go-To in a couple of months. I think it is just about perfect when it comes to balance between Orientals, Latakia and mature VA's.

As the content of my current 100 g tin is sinking I tend to ration, only allow myself a big bowl on Sunday.

A great blend and purportedly the recipe is straight from the former king of Denmark Fredrik IX. Great taste in tobacco he must have had, rest his briar brethren soul.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2006 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Good tobacco, although not nearly as strong as the label suggests. It's a mild to medium mixture, with a good presence of latakia leaf and most of all really fine orientals. The Virginia sweetness is a constant presence too, and it gives a nice body. Nice tobacco to be smoked all day.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2004 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Ok, let's get this straight: this is not a FULL tobacco in the strict sense.

Yes, it has 30% of Latakia, but it is also very delicate. It strikes a nice balance between the broken-rubbed out flakes of Virginia and the black leaf that English-loving smokers adore.

I think that it's quite similar to some Rattrays like 7 Reserve, or the Accountant mixture... only it's definitely better, not as heavy in the mouth, tastier and without harsh or unpleasant ashy notes.

It's not a memorable tobacco, at least for me: a bit too delicate and bland, and even a bit monochromatic and dull at times. But when I want a medium-light English blend that smokes fine, this can be satisfying.

Not a GLPease tobacco (but who can compete?), and certainly can't hold a candle to Olsen's own 7000... but decent.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2004 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Obtaining this tobacco required me to order it from Denmark and to purchase a number of tins. So I can truthfully say I will smoke this on occasion for a while. The tin aroma is strong with the smokiness of latakia and the spiciness of orientals. I smoke this in a large bowled pipe as I do with most English Balkan mixtures. The smoke is smooth on the tongue with no bite, but I need to be careful with it or it will produce a stinging sensation on the lips; I suspect the orientals. The flavor is markedly different from other Balkan blends I have smoked, quite varied and interesting. There is plenty of latakia in the blend but for me the other orientals dominate. I usually only smoke latakia mixtures in the evening so I cannot imagine smoking this all day. I get latakia overload rather quickly. This blend requires me to sit and pay attention to how I smoke it and to the flavor spectrum. I have smoked a 100g tin of this and will continue to smoke it probably once a week until the supply is gone. I am not sure that in a year or two I will absolutely need to go to the trouble of keeping this on hand, but it is possible. Well recommended to the Balkan lover to try at least once. Paddy.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2024 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I bought a tin when we got a new king in Denmark. Funny, his name is the same as his paternal grandfather, after whom this tobacco is named.

He was a beloved sailor and king, and is also called the sailor king here in Denmark. I thought it was an appropriate tobacco that he chose to smoke. Everyone here in Denmark knows about his love for the sea and for the pipes. And that's why this tobacco must be tried.

There are many other English blends that I prefer to this one. But it is still strange to sit and smoke the same as our former king did. That is why it is always a special thing for me when I light a pipe with this tobacco.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"