W.O. Larsen Scarlet Passion

(2.93)
A superior aromatic mixture characterized by extra mild black cavendish tobaccos, mature Virginia and a touch of burley. It has been flavored with an extremely mild blend of sweet vanilla type flavors and fresh fruity notes to obtain a longmlasting taste and a very pleasant aroma. Easy to fill into a pipe, slow burning with a cool smoke.
Notes: Previously known as "Sweet Aromatic", it was renamed in accordance to EU regulations.

Details

Brand W.O. Larsen
Blended By W. O. Larsen
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin, 50 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.93 / 4
8

13

4

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 28 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
When compared to other black cavendish based aromatics smelling like a detergent or fabric softener, it's a well-balanced burley-virginia-black cavendish mixture. I would say 20%, 10%, and 70%, respectively. Virginia is unnoticeably low whereas the burley inside plays a very significant role, that's why the black cavendish does not give any overwhelming taste during the entire smoke. Licking my lips even increases the initial burley note.

Apart from all, the cut of the tobacco is quite unusual. I thought, at first, that my smoke will surely be hot and the bowl will suffer from it because of its thin ribbon cut. Contrarily, it burns perfect.

One should notice that "Sweet Aromatic" (SA) and "Scarlett Passion" (SP) are said to be the same tobacco by its manufacturer. However, in my opinion, they are fundamentally different, still both are fine and worth to give a try. I did not notice any cherry or vanilla in SA, but SP will surely give a nice changing taste of both cherry and vanilla. SP is more aromatic than SA, if compared.
Pipe Used: Corn cob, some Stanwells, some Savinellis
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Straight from the pouch
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a nice quality aromatic.

Vanilla & some fruity component (most probably cherries) are not heavily applied, leaving some true tobacco flavour to show. Nic is mild but not overly so. Burns surprisingly cool and refreshing, never sharp nor goopy. Not my cup of tea, but a nice chance when the sweet tooth comes.

Some cigar leaf will add some meat to the smoke…

Three stars are given as the balance between the quality of the tobacco per se, and my personal preferences.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2014 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This was my first pipe tobacco I ever tried and must I say, it is tasted somewhat bland compared to many other blends. When I first got it, I expected the taste to be as glamorous as how people praised pipe tobacco in those pipe forums, but it was , like I said, bland. As for tongue bite, take it slow because the bowl tends to get real hot with this puppy.

In retrospect, it was a horrible starter pipe tobacco for me and it still sits in my drawer till this day. I am not sure if i'll be able to finish it...
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 02, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Very nice blend! Vanilla is imperceptible until ½ of the bowl. After that the flavour shows itself however the fruity note is much more noticeable.

Great room note from my wife and it leaves a pleasant after-smoke taste into your mouth (not a ash or cigarette-like).
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
W. O. Larsen seldom fails to deliver, and Sweet Aromatic is no exception. It's got all the flavor of its base tobaccos, plus a mix of vanilla and cherry to round up an excellent aromatic mixture with no tongue bite and great burning qualities.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2022 Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I used to smoke this when it was called Sweet Aromatic. Bought my first tin from Knox Cigar.

Lots of vanilla and chocolate notes on a cavendish base. This was the first tobacco that made me think, "I could smoke a pipe for the rest of my life." It smoked wet and required some relights but I loved the flavor and aroma.

The reason I give this two stars is because my palette has expanded. I still like aromatics but there are better ones this out there.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2016 Medium Medium Full Very Pleasant
This light aromatic was suggested to me by a Facebook contact, met in one of the various groups dedicated to pipe-smoking. Guys, I'm really glad I followed his advice!!! This is a very good aromatic, not overwhelming, classy, tasty, with a great pouch scent and room note, with hints of fruit and vanilla. This mixture is very easy to pack and to light, and once started it provides a very pleasant smoke. Just be careful not to draw too fast, it can burn!
Pipe Used: Savinelli
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2009 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
A quite decent aromatic with a pleasantly sweet-tart flavouring which remind of vanilla and red berries (something like red currant and sour cherry) it smokes easy, cool and is absolutely tolerable to the mouth, the hitch is that it has just a bit of tobacco taste.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2022 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Pouch aroma is very sweet and addictive. Lit easily producing cool nice smoke. Can go all day with this. No tongue bite, taste preserved till 3/4 bowl.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2021 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is to me an old friend, that some years ago was for me an all-day everyday smoke. Having then passed through a lot of different blends of all types, I wanted to try it again, but I didn't find it, so I feared it was discontinued, only to discover it had simply changed its name from Sweet Aromatic to Scarlet Passion, thanks to the absurd EU regulation on tobacco's names. However since my first bowl I remembered why I loved it so much, it's the more balanced aromatic that I ever tried, the Squadron Leader of the aromatics. The toppings are chocolatey and fruity but discreet, never in your face, and harmonize very well with the excellent tobaccos, that you will appreciate with every puff. Very recommended!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Just finished my second pouch of this tobacco and I think W.O. Larsen never disappoint you, their tobaccos give you want you want. The Sweet Aromatic is not to strong and doesn't punch your tongue with a strong taste. Also, the cut is fine and easy, it smokes by itself and it doesn't requires a strong attention during your smoking session. It is an all day tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"