W.O. Larsen Old Fashioned

(2.64)
A blend of Virginia and burley leaf that has been selected from the best tobacco fields in the world. No effort has been spared as one part of the blend has been pressed into cakes and aged, while the other part is finished in different cuts. Finally the different parts are blended and top flavored by hand.

Details

Brand W.O. Larsen
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.64 / 4
14

22

22

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 65 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a maddening tobacco. Like most people have already said this is one of tobacco that seems it should be great, but the bite is unbearable. I tried this in several briars before I gave up and put it in storage (in a mason jar) hoping that age would mellow it. I just came back to it because I realized I never tried it in a recently purchased corncob (I've never owned one before and thought I should at least give one a try). With other tobaccos I felt the corncob took "something" away from some of my tobaccos (mostly English blends) so I was hoping that it may also take away the bite from this tobacco. Amazingly, the corncob did exactly that. Now a tobacco I found unbearable has become very pleasant! The first half of the bowl tasted just like it smelled - that butterscotch aroma. I would have given this a 1-star in any briar, but in my $10 Missouri Meerschaum Country Gentleman it gets a 3-star rating. This is, possibly, the only tobacco I'll use in it.
Pipe Used: Various Briar and Corncob
Age When Smoked: 2 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The grassy, tart and tangy citrusy Virginia also sports slight tea and hay notes, and forms the base of the blend. The nutty, earthy, woody, lightly molasses sweet and bready burley plays a support role. The toppings seem to be caramel, hazelnut and butterscotch, and at times, I sense a touch of toffee. They tone down the tobaccos a little, and have no essence of chemicals. The strength and nic-hit are mild. The taste level is a couple of steps past the mild mark. You’ll need to sip it fairly slow to avoid tongue bite, and even then, it will get warm on your tongue. Burns clean at a reasonable pace with a slight inconsistency in flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires slightly more than an average number of relights. Has a routine after taste and room note. Can be an all day smoke. Three stars for flavor, but two stars because of the bite potential.

-JimInks
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2013 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant
W.O. Larson's "Old Fashioned": You'll either love it, or you'll hate it.

POSITIVE:

Old Fashioned blend offers a very nice room note that is sure to please most non-smokers and may get compliments by some. I did like the after taste of subtle creamy butter that lingered for some time.

NEGATIVE:

This tobacco has a nasty bite. after 1 slow bowl I couldn't taste for a day. I felt like I smoked 10 bowls in a row. this tobacco also burned very hot and took on a char taste. The over all flavor is pretty bland and does not live up to it's tin nose. as I smoked the flavors did not develop at all. aside from the above mentioned after taste there was no real tobacco flavor nor was there any hint of flavoring aside from room note. the price is outrageous. where I live it cost $135 for a 100 gram tin. I would consider cutting this blend with another such as Mac Barren's vanilla cream (which in my opinion needs to be cut with something anyways.)

the reviews are mixed. a lot of people love this blend. a lot don't. I lean towards the latter.

Over all, I will not be purchasing this blend again.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This stuff has a fantastic fragrance of caramel and butterscotch in the tin. It tastes like a mixture of Virginia and Burley (which it is) with very subtle topping or casing. My wife didn't object to the room note but her approval can be a mixed blessing (normally, the mixtures she likes me to smoke taste like incense smells.) It's mild and behaves very well so it makes a nice relaxing smoke if you are in the mood for an aromatic mixture with a delicate flavor.
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: e-tailer
Age When Smoked: 8 months (aged in a sealed jar)
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is very representative of the Danish style of aromatic. It is a fat free no calorie dessert tasting of caramel and nuts...

This will make some say "yum", while others will run!

I found it pleasant, but only after messing a bit with it. Here are my tips for this blend:

1. Dry it out a bit. Only experience will teach the proper level for your taste. 2. Be careful packing it. A loose pack will indeed make it burn hot. It is more casing forward to my tastes than it is tobacco forward, and that will make it only a once in a while treat for me.

But it is a good blend, and I would think the fan of well flavored tobaccoes would enjoy it immensely.

Off an old Yale Mixture jar: "May your troubles end in smoke."
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is a top notch aromatic. The tin note is strong on opening, but tones down after a few days. The flavor is caramell, coffee and butter candy and it blends with the tobacco flavor perfectly. It burns very well, a bit fast, to a grey powdery ash.

Some reviewers report about tongue bite. It can bite, if smoked too fast, but this is true for many Virginia based tobaccos. I can easily say, that it belongs to my favorites.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Old Fashioned has been around for decades and I am told that it has always been a Larsen staple due to its popularity. I was selling some of the older, round flat 50g tins on my website a couple of years ago and decided to try it for myself. I don't note it from the other reviews, but I find this one to be sort of a cross between Carter Hall and Prince Albert, only the casing is a little stronger and the strength is less present. A nice, gentle smoke that was tasty, but left me wanting more meat on the bone.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2018 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
The tin note of this tobacco is absolutely amazing. However for my money that's where the amazing stops. The flavor is decent with notes of hay, carmel, nuts, butterscotch, and cream. With just a subtle hit of spice. Despite these flavors, this blend comes off as extremely bland. As far as performance, the blend burns hot and tends to bite. It's definitely needs some dry time before ligniting up. If you are a fan of sweet mild burley blends you may like this. If you are like me and like kick you in the teeth burley blends, let this one pass you by.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 Month
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
It's almost Christmas and to a lot co smokers that means aromatic tobacco °as for me..so far every Larsen's blend i tried hasn't disappointed me as i consider these blends typical good quality danish style tobaccos.I opened a 100 gram tin and the first smell that came out was wonderfull.a nice combination of caramel notes,nuts,sweet whiskey came out and smelled very natural and pleasing.the blend's moisture is perfect,lights easy and several relights are needed through the smoking process.while smoking the flavours are natural and the topping with the tobacco flavours combine well.the virginias are mostly grassy and citrusy mostly, with some bread notes popping up rare.the burleys are in the backround being nutty and sweet.the topping is more tense than the tobaccos most of the times without feeling chemical or boring.burns medium hot to perfect ash with a very pleasant room note.the nicotine level is almost medium and some moisture is being created while burning.the aftertaste is a bit tense.as for the big complains of a lot co smokers for the tongue bite.yes there is some tongue bite if smoked fast in a pipe without filter.it happened to me as well.i smoked it in a 9mm filtered pipe slow and no tongue bite appeared.the flavours came out nicer and i enjoyed it more.in conclusion this is a nice aromatic typical danist style blend that can be an all day smoke and insert you to a nice mood!
Age When Smoked: Straight from the tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2017 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Old Fashioned has a nice tin aroma typical Danish in style, sweet like a cake. However it produces such a nasty tongue bite to me that I find it unsmokable.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I normally prefer strong English blends, but I do not dislike aromatics either and I'm always on the look out for a good one. Its with that in mind that I decided to order a tin of Old Fashioned. The tin note has a wonderfully sweet, almost buttery smell to it. Like a golden crispy pastry.

The smoke itself has a slight sweetness to it with hints of that same buttery like taste. Its not overpowering but it isn't lacking either and the tobacco itself wasn't masked, but rather complimented by the topping.

I tend to take large drawn out puffs and many would say that I smoke a bit too fast. Despite this, I never experienced any tongue bite and the goopy wetness in the bottom of the bowl that is often synonymous with aromatics was minimal and consistent with Danish style aromatics.

I highly recommend this blend regardless of your preference. Its a great change of pace and a wonderful intro to Danish style aromatics that could also serve as an all day smoke.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"