W.O. Larsen Selected Blend No. 32

(3.12)
The Larsens Select Blend No.32 is a hand packaged blend of square cut lemon & orange Virginia tobacco leaves originating from USA & Zimbabwe. It is a light but satisfying smoke of very high quality for those who appreciate a pure tobacco flavour.
Notes: Re-release of W.O. Larsen's "Selected Blend No. 32 Curly Flake" in a new tin design.

Details

Brand W.O. Larsen
Series Selected Blend
Blended By W.O. Larsen
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Caramel, Honey, Vanilla
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Re-release

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.12 / 4
10

10

3

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2019 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The lemon and orange Virginias provide some earth, a little grass/hay, a fair amount of citrus and tangy ripe dark fruit, and some wood and spice. The honey and caramel toppings have a little richness, while the vanilla lurks in the background. Caramel is the most obvious addition. The toppings tend to compliment the tobaccos rather than tone them down. The strength is almost in the center of mild to medium, while the taste is a step past the level. The nic-hit lightly crosses the mild threshold. Won’t bite or get harsh. The flakes easily break apart to suit your preference. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a mostly consistent, mildly sweet flavor that also sports a touch of creaminess and spice at times. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. The after taste barely lingers, and the room note is very pleasant. An all day smoke. Deserves another half star.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Indeed a typical curly (flake) cut. The smell upon opening is like rich, sweet, honeyish. The moisture level is just right. The flakes breake up very easily if you choose to rub it out. I normaly just stuff one flake in a smaller bulb (Peterson 999) and enjoy a nice sweet smoke.

I strongly recommend smoking this tobacco in a pipe with a filter, as the flavors are more pronounced. Overall flavour is mild to medium, but I feel that it is a good relaxing smoke, and if you stick with it becomes more complex and rewarding. The room note is exceptional, rich and pleasant.

Overall the tobacco is my reference for a DANISH tobacco style and one I would keep always on hand.
PurchasedFrom: https://pipe-shop.net/
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant
W. O. Larsen - No. 32. Note: from my notes, and an already opened tin.

A simple review really, a pleasant, sweet, Virginia.

A very appealing construction to the actual flakes, 'pretty' springs to mind! Good hydration, there's no need to wait.

I can't particularly taste vanilla, at first, the smokes constituents are Virginia and honey. These two create a mild, sweet flavour. After half a bowl the smoke takes on more of a creaminess, which may well be the vanilla, but still seems far less noticeable. It's good, and if it weren't for the heat would be VERY good.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: pleasant.

A good enough blend for three stars, but nothing extraordinary.

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: Various
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2015 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Pleasant
Strong but pleasant chicory aroma when tin opened. The curly flake isn't easy to light up, and will quite often require re-lighting during the course of smoke, but not so much that it becomes positively irritating. The tobacco burns nicely and steadily (when it doesn't go out) and is mild to smoke (absolutely no burn or bitterness of any kind ever), but a disappointing and puzzling lack of aroma as you smoke, considering the very pleasant hit that you get when opening tin. However, you will notice that there is a pleasant, mild aroma in the room after you've finished.

Although the baccy doesn't seem to be burning fast, it's not that long before you find that all you've got left is a pile of fine ash at the bottom of your pipe.

This is the first time I've encountered this blend. I think it is very good quality, and a pleasant smoke, apart from the probs listed above. Doubtless will return for more though, sooner or later.
Pipe Used: Mr Brog
PurchasedFrom: Margerums of Canterbury, Kent UK.
Age When Smoked: Same day as purchased.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2009 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
It has that typical danish honey taste, albeit mild, but also has some quality VA hay and citrus flavors in there too, the casing is sweet but not over powering...a nice Danish, presentaion of the flakes is wonderful,...worth 3 stars...but IMO, could never be worth 4, nice but a little bland.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2002 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
On opening the tin, I feel citrous flavour a little fermented, and odour of high quality Virginia. The tin label says that this blend consists of the finest lemon and orange colored Virginia tobaccos from the best district in the U.S.A. and Zimbabwe, of which I was convinced. As other reviewers states above, I also think there is no Burley, which is exceptional among the Danish blend. On lighting tobacco, I feel sweetness of Virginia, and a little nutty flavour. Refined taste of Danish tradition! Without rubbed sufficiently, you will need light it several times. Yet, I prefer smoking this without fully rubbed. And I chose a medium sized pipe for this blend, because I feel that smoking with a large sized pipe weakens it's peculiar taste. Though Danish, if you like Virginian taste itself, this blend is worth trying.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
My tin of No. 32 Curly is older and I don’t believe that it is sold in the States anymore. The flakes are not curly in the same fashion as Three Nuns or Gawtih’s Cabbie’s Mixture. They are very similar in appearance to Stokkebye’s Luxury Twist Flake. The scent of the light and medium tobaccos is mostly hay with a lightly sweet, “honey-like” topping. For me the honey flavoring increases as each bowl progresses although it doesn’t totally overpower the blend. It is medium in body with a few high notes too. No. 32 doesn’t bite, but it can burn a little hot if not respected. I enjoy this flake as a change of pace, but prefer the natural sweetness that comes with a fine aged Virginia without as much manually added as this blend offers.
Age When Smoked: about 10 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2008 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Smell of caramel candy cookies, taste is a straight hayish virginia, with a hint of the candy topping. Nice cut, very good burning properties.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2006 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
There are times when only a steak will do, and there are times when a salad is most satisfying. Curly Flake is like a salad:light but satisfying. After a bowl of Stonehaven or Marlin Flake or FVF it may taste of nothing, but on a fresh palate it registers the natural sweetness of virginia as the principal sensation. Not the most complex of tobaccos, it is not mono-chromatic either. Immaculately crafted, dry and slow burning, moderate in nicotine, Curly Flake earns no superlatives but nevertheless remains a pleasurable prelude to heavier stuff later in the day.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2002 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A tobacco very similar in composition, strength and flavour to Orlick?s Golden Sliced. The difference is in the cut, and perhaps in that it doesn?t have that Burley component. These are very attractive flakes, cut in small squares, with varying tones of light brown tobacco. As all Larsen?s, the grades used in 32 Curly Flake are of the highest quality. It is easy to rub and pack, and lightening is not a problem. It produces a very mild, yet flavoursome smoke, long lasting and quite cool. If there is a casing or an added flavour, it is not apparent. For me, it is a good mid-afternoon smoke, that tastes great with Earl Grey or Orange Peacock tea. I?ve smoked it in a Peterson System and a Savinelli Milano with great results. Smokers of stronger Virginia flakes (Best Brown, Full Virginia, Light Flake or Marlin Flake), may perhaps find this a rather bland and unmemorable smoke. However, if just starting with a pipe or just wanting to try something on the lighter, smoother side, try this one. Not a bad experience.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"