Seattle Pipe Club Hogshead

(3.50)
Pure Virginia Plug, 10 year old aged & rare Orange and Red Virginias. In Colonial days, Virginia was the source for finest tobaccos. Traditionally shipped in giant barrels called ‘hogsheads’, farmers packed their precious leaf. Our Hogshead is a blend of very old Virginias cultivated in Africa, Brazil and the United States. Pressed into an easy to use plug, Hogshead harkens back to the heritage of the greatest Virginia tobaccos. This epic blend just might be the perfect Virginia. Enjoy Joe Lankford’s Signature Series of exquisite Virginia blends.

Details

Brand Seattle Pipe Club
Series Signature Series
Blended By Joe Lankford
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Brazilian Leaf, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Plug
Packaging 4 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
12

2

0

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 16 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
A great Virginia blend for an old hat and a new smoker!!!

If you are an experienced Virginia smoker you will appreciate this blend for what it is, an excellent smoke. The mix of 10 year aged orange and red Virginia due to their obvious initial quality and curing and their age offer a smooth, mature Virginia smoking experience. As if you had bought it fresh 8 or more years ago. I am sure the pressing also plays into the melding and mellowing as it to can mimic age. Its a smooth and tasty blend with some initial muddle of flavor but once the cherry spreads and the bowl warms the flavor starts to expand and the true flavors come through. I get an earthy base, a touch leathery a taste I didn’t expect, some natural sweetness of quality grassy taste, a touch of citrus as well as vinegar. I get some deeper darker fruitiness like prunes, raisins and black cherries along with that sort fermentation taste that comes with age. I also get almost the taste of a nicely toasted marshmallow, a mix of caramel and the sweetness somehow generates it just now and then. It’s sweet and mellow and rich and delicious and any experienced Virginia smoker is likely to enjoy sipping it. For a new to Virginia smoker it’s also a great one as it is not prone to bite or get hot if pushed a bit hard, Virginia’s are best smoked cool and sipped or they can get hot and cause tongue bite as well as just not tasting their best. I learned that lesson the hard way. Also it generates a bit denser smoke and mouth feel than most straight Virginia so you are less likely to huff and puff to get a mouthful of smoke.

The strength and nicotine levels are midstream and the flavor level is a solid step up into medium strong…or maybe medium rich would be more appropriate. Preparation is pretty easy as the plug actually pulls apart fairly well with a little effort. Moisture is about right but drying it a bit does bring out some of the more subtle notes like a light spice and bread, also it lights well and stays lit nicely with a few relights. Nice after taste and room note. For a Virginia smoker it can easily be an all day smoke.

4 stars for sure
Pipe Used: Several
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
The ten year old African and Brazilian orange and red Virginias are the lead components. There’s a little lightly cased American bright Virginia in the mix as well. All of them combine to create a lot of tart and tangy, tingly citrus, bread, earth, wood, grass, vegetation, a moderate amount of tangy dark fruit, sugar, floralness, fermentation, stewed citrus, mild sour lemon, light spice and vinegar notes, and a small hint of smoke. The strength and nic-hit are medium. The taste level is a notch more potent. There’s no chance of bite or harshness. Has a few small rough edges which is typical of a straight Virginia blend with no topping. The plug is fairly dense, but it doesn’t take much to break it apart or slice off what you want. It’s mildly moist, and requires no dry time. Burns cool, clean, and a tad slow with a punchy depth of body that includes a few floral, spice and smoke notes to accent the fermented fruity sweet Virginia flavor, Hogshead offers an old-world Empire leaf style experience that extends to the lightly lingering, pleasant after taste. The room note is pleasant, too. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires a few more than an average number of relights. Can be an all day smoke. Four stars out of four.

-JimInks
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 01, 2022 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
As my staple is straight Virginia I promptly ordered what I thought was 8 ounces (4 tins). In my haste I overlooked these are 4 ounce tins so I was really hoping to enjoy the blend. It is a masterfully blended full flavored Virginia. Very earthy and leathery with a background of mild sweetness. Just a dash of spiciness. Aroma is heavenly to the seasoned Virginia smoker. Easily an all day, every day smoke for the pure Virginia lovers out there. Nic-hit is perfect for my tastes.
The bowl starts out a bit wild with many different flavors vying for attention in succession, but about a quarter of the way through it stabilizes into an old school, intense-tasting, rich Virginia. I am glad I overlooked the tin size. This one will likely be in the permanent rotation as long as I am able to keep it in stock. One thing to note: this blend does not handle heat well so a slow cadence is required.
Update 12/23: Ten tins in and Hogshead is the greatest full-flavored straight VA I have ever smoked. The price has doubled, but I believe this price increase is justified due to the aging process and quality of the tobaccos. The more Hogshead I smoke, the more the sweetness of the VAs becomes prominent on my palette, making the perfect contrast to the earth and leather. This blend just gets better and better the more you smoke. If I could only smoke one tobacco for the rest of my life it would be Hogshead.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
SPC Hogshead- I am glad i finally decided to try this .A very flavorful Virginia blend that changes a lot working down the bowl in a good way . It runs the whole spectrum of flavor you get with a good Virginia blend . Bread , floral , spice , tang , malt . Caramel , Citrus. Highly recommended. 4
Edit 08/16/ 22 - I just want to add how great this tobacco is . Impeccable burning , delicious tobacco I have been smoking every day and twice on Sundays . 3 more tins on the way . 👍
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 17, 2022 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Tin note is sweet citrus and fermented figs. the plug has just the correct moisture content for smoking without any drying time required. Cut a piece and it rubs out very easily. This one starts a bit harsh but smooths out once you are past the first few minutes. I find this in many un-topped Virginia blends. Patience is rewarded. A slow cadence is important to remember for the first half of the bowl. Lots of flavors going on, citrus sweet and sour, grass, hay, and some lite fermented plum, fig notes even a slight bit of spice. This is defiantly a full flavored complex blend. Burns a bit warm. I suggest a thick walled bowl. A lot will be lost if you puff this one too hard. This tobacco gets much richer/smoother and more full flavored as you progress though the bowl. nic hit is medium. needs a few relights. 4 solid stars
Pipe Used: Savinelli Brier
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: 2 months old
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A Virginia that fulfills a unique niche. Earthy, full bodied and yet it doesn’t lack to meet the normal expectations of virginias. What is more is the carefully crafted balance and age to the leaf. Delicious, relaxing and certainly an all day smoke.
Pipe Used: LCS pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2023 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A brick that is easier to prepare than your typical flake.

Mellow, light, wispy; but there is depth and spice as well. This tobacco lends itself to inhaling, which I do, occasionally.

Trying to come up with the notes, hay, caramel, light leather, sun-bleached rock, verdant, weathered green; spiced confectionary, macademia nut, butter, kumquat/lemon-citrus and wild, black honey are words that present themselves. Also the faintest hint of fresh (green) pepper. Working down the bowl, more of the spice presents itself as the greener aspects tone down. The last third of the bowl mellows out this spice, leaving mainly leathery smoothness. The natural buttery sweetness is a constant companion and remains at the forefront throughout.

It is slow-burning and leaves a dry, speckled black-and-gray ash without any chunks.

Pipe Used: Nording Freehand, Ropp vintage
Age When Smoked: 0-2 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Rich, smooth, nutty, and sweet. My favorite of the SPC blends, beating even plum pudding. Well balanced, easy to prep, and easy to smoke. This has a permanent place in my cellar.
Pipe Used: Radiator Volcano
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Awesome smoke. Virginia is in the lead....and in the background....and in the middle. Tin note is wonderful. I think it's smokable out of the tin, but I do give in 10 minutes or so of air time first.

The Virginia's are sweet, tangy, citrus, with a sugary, plummy, dark fruit taste. Hint of bready, sweet-hay as well. No bite, and normal amount relights. Enjoyable until the very last puff. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Caramella & Savinelli Tundra
PurchasedFrom: Governor's cigar lounge (Columbus OH)
Age When Smoked: 6 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 23, 2022 Mild to Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
Tin note is sweet, figs and hay. The plug is easy to break apart and rub out, more like a cake. Maybe a little wet, burns slow, requires multiple relights. The strength is medium at most, Nic is mild to medium. No flavor detected; taste is full. Taste is consistent throughout, mostly a caramelized sweetness and tart fruit and mildly spicy. Room note is pleasant and after taste is nice. 3 stars
Pipe Used: 2015 XX Ashton Sovereign Prince
PurchasedFrom: Cup O' Joes
Age When Smoked: 1 month
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2022 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
This was a disappointment. It smells great and looks great But beyond the first few puffs the flavor disappears. On a bigger bowl it returns in the end as an acrid bitter note. I’ve smoked it a few times in a different bowls to see if I could get what others are getting but… nope.
Pipe Used: SMS, Peterson Xmas Hudson. Savinelli 320.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"