Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG) Mick McQuaid Ready Rubbed

(3.56)
Mick McQuaid Ready Rubbed is a traditional Irish ready-rubbed mixture based on Virginia leaf that produces a rich, long and lasting smoke.
Notes: Available in Europe, not in the U.S.

Details

Brand Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG)
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Ireland
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.56 / 4
11

6

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2017 Strong Mild Full Tolerable
Excellent straight Virginia. Strong, really strong but delicious. Sweet, really sweet but not sickly, not cloying. A perfectly matured Virginia with a mild casing but with the taste of ripe Virginia. A dream! This blend represents the perfect marriage between a spirit (brandy) and a tobacco (Virginia). Nothing more nothing less: superb, delicious, strong, sweet, smooth, satisfying, complete, without any flaw. Wonderful! Don’t be scared for the strength, just enjoy it. Really deserves. Absolutely necessary for Virginia lovers. In my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 10 (the maximum) and four stars.
PurchasedFrom: James Fox Cigar & Whiskey Store in Dublin
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2017 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I noticed virtually no differences between this and the plug version. The Virginia is tangy dark fruit sweet with a touch of mild tart and tangy citrus, and is more earthy and woody than it is grassy. The brandy and almond topping is mild. I tend to notice the essence of almond not in a direct way, and when it shows up, it doesn't add much. The brandy is more obvious, and tones down the tobaccos to a moderate extent. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is a shade past the center of mild to medium. Won’t bite or get harsh, and has no dull moments. Burns cool, clean and a little slow with a creamy smooth consistently sweet flavor. Requires some relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. Has a lightly lingering pleasant after taste, and room note. Not quite an all day smoke.

-JimInks
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
In a word, MM RR is a superb tobacco belonging to the class of flavored, or cased, Virginias. It is not a Lakeland but bears more than a passing resemblance to Royal Yacht.

However, the flavoring or casing of MM RR is far better and more prominent, but it does not cross over into typical "aromatic" territory.

The Brandy/Almond casing is applied at just the right intensity to create a "semi-aromatic". It is quite "American" smelling, as opposed to floral Lakeland scents or to whatever casing is on RY. The scent also compliments the very high quality, deep and rich Virginias perfectly, neither overwhelming them or disappearing after the first quarter bowl.

I find the underlying tobacco richer and deeper than RY, but with similar burning properties and roughly the same strength.

The net result is rounder, richer, sweeter, with a much better room note.

A five star tobacco.

Note: this needs to be dried, like any Virginia, or you'll be smoking too much hot air.

Note number 2: You can't buy it except in Ireland.

6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2015 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Pretty mch the same review I gave the plug -- I still don't get any almond, or anything other than a light brandy topping. This is a nice, solid mixture, a fairly pleasant all-weather smoke if you're looking for a darkish, fairly full smoke that's not over-the-top with N
Pipe Used: various briars, cobs, meers
PurchasedFrom: Fox of Dublin
Age When Smoked: 1 month
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 03, 2009 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Very Pleasant
* I am updating my review of Mick McQuaid after having just finished another well aged tin of this marvelous leaf. I do believe it just gets better and better each time I smoke it. In fact, this may be the best matured virginia tobacco I've ever smoked. I do think a bit of burley was included, but am not positive. In the tin, this blend is very similar to Dunhill's Royal Yacht in both cut and color. It is a very dark, ribbon (almost shag) cut tobacco that has a wonderfully semi-sweet and slightly fermented fig smell that entices the pipe smoker to hurry and load up!

The taste is very naturally slightly sweet, but I think I detected a very discreet casing that I cannot begin to identify. It smoked clean and mostly dry all the way to the bottom of the bowl and I wanted more almost immediately.

It is unfortunate, but the Carroll Tobacco Company of Ireland quit importing McQuaid blends into the USA years ago for fear of lawsuits by the tobacco Nazis who are currently being allowed to run rampant with their dastardly, despicable and downright ignorant behavior.

PS...My wife says the scent of the tobacco while burning is heavenly!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 16, 2019 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant
Almond & brandy tobacco, an excellent combination, though I find the almond more pronounced than the brandy it's not overpowering, you get to enjoy the tobacco as well as the flavoring. The first quarter bowl is a little rough around the edges but it gets progressively better as you smoke. I can't help but get a touch of sweetness on the tongue every so often smoking this tobacco which is a quality I adore in pipe tobacco but very few variations deliver. So this gets a big thumbs up from me. Nic hit is somewhere between mild and medium, needs no relights, and is smokable as is out of the pouch, though it does burn quickly. All in all, a fine tbacco

Recommended.

Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: Local shop
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2016 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Mick McQuaid - Ready Rubbed.

When I first opened the pouch and took a sniff I couldn't identify any extra aromas. There's a very slight sort of sweetness but nothing prominent enough to label it as being 'cased' with anything. At first, my idea was to jar this for a while prior to smoking it but as the mixture has a great water content there's no need to wait. I open, fill and light!

I find the smoke has the same quality as the pouch note where added flavour is concerned: a very light sweetness. Again, other than that I can only identify the natural Virginia's freshness.

This burns well: easy to light, steady and even, giving off a fairly cool smoke.

I think the nicotine's medium in this, it would be good for most smokers I guess.

I don't find Mick McQuaid R'R' offensive or nasty, it's just too boring for my taste. I'd much rather have the Square Cut.

Two stars.
Pipe Used: Levent Meer'
PurchasedFrom: James Fox
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2009 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am perhaps not the ideal reviewer of this tobacco as it is a touch too strong for my tastes yet I have been impressed. It burns slowly, with an exceedingly cool taste. There is no hint of bitterness, right down to the last puff. I did get much 'giddiness' with this smoke, so for those who prefer a milder blend avoid it, but for those who like a stronger tobacco, it is to be recommended.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2002 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I will start off this review by saying I really, really, really like this tobacco. In the Republic of Ireland this is a very popular tobacco and can be picked up in any newsagent. Despite it's availability where I live (in Ireland) I have always overlooked it. Only recently did I decide to give it a go and am I glad I did.

This a coarse ribbon cut tobacco, mostly dark brown but with golden flecks. The pouch aroma is strong, very much Virginia, with an air of apple or pear about it. It packs easily, but usually requires a charring light to get going. Once lit is is easy to keep it going.

When smoking this tobacco is smooth and flavoursome. The strength is middleish, strong enough to satisfy but not so strong it overpowers you. It has a nutty edge to it and every now and again it gets fruity. It gets stronger as you smoke it, as do the flavours. However it never causes me tongue bite even if I puff really hard. I have to agree with pipestud's review and say I too detect some burley in this blend, which may explain why it smokes so cool.

In summary this is a pleasant. well rounded, smooth tobacco and I love it.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2022 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Bought this while visiting the Peterson pipe store in Dublin along with a new Pete 150. The blend is semi rubbed out, was easy to pack. The moisture level was perfect and required few relights. There is a topping but it is lightly applied. It has good strength and some decent nicotine to it also. I will never for the life.of me figure out why the package has a picture of the inside of someones mouth with a tumor in it? Plus the package warning id different languages explaining how smoking causes mouth and throat cancer! 25 grams cost me about 7 euros and if I wanted to buy name brand stuff it was 23 euros for what I pay 7 dollars in the states. Terrible and bless you folks in Europe....
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Peterson pipe store Dublin
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Can not believe I haven't wrote this review. Anyway a friend of mine was in Ireland so any time he there I always ask him to pick me something up. the last time many years ago he got me Mick McQuaid plug. This time I ask for the ready rubbed. What wonderful treat. Straight Virginia with a nice topping. Easy to light, no bite, med taste and strength. Just something you can't get here in the US.
Pipe Used: Peterson Sherlock Silver Apple
PurchasedFrom: James Fox of Dublin, Ireland
Age When Smoked: Several months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"