Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG) Kentucky Bird

(2.37)
A pipe tobacco with natural flowers. Mild Virginia and sun cured Kentucky tobaccos, blended with natural flowers, create a new dimension for pipe smokers. A unique Concept symbolized by the beauty of the Cardinal - the official bird of Kentucky.

Details

Brand Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG)
Blended By  
Manufactured By St-Group Assens
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Floral Essences
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 50 grams pouch, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.37 / 4
5

16

16

9

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The Virginia offers a little tart and tangy citrus and grass, but it's at least half way buried under the toppings, though there's more of this than there are Kentuckys. The nutty sweet, earthy, woody Kentuckys are more noticeable, but also much subdued. The flowers used seem to be rose and geranium, but I think perhaps others are present either as an ingredient or a topping. I bet my money more on the latter. It's very hard to tell. The nic-hit is just beyond the mild threshold. The strength and taste are both a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium, with the taste being hair closer to medium than the strength is. Won't bite even if pushed. Ribbon cut and lightly moist, it burns at a moderate pace with a cool, clean, very consistent, very smooth deep floral sweetness that never weakens. Has no dull or harsh spots either. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and will burn to ash with just a few relights. Has a pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and room note. Made for an experienced smoker, how one rates it will greatly depend on one's preference for heavily floral sweet tobacco products. If you like Lakelands or strong floral blends, there's a chance this might suit you. For that smoker, this could easily be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2013 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Pouch note: All that I detect is natural tobacco, no toppings, flavorings or casings. According to the packaging, there are petals of white roses included in this tobacco, but there is no rose scent detectable. The Kentucky adds a faintly pungent spiciness to this tobacco.

Moisture content: perfect, can be smoked right out of the pouch.

Room note: pleasant, slightly sweet, not at all overpowering.

Smoke: This tobacco packs well and burns cool and evenly, provided you take your time with it, as with any mixture heavily based on Virginia. The flavor is Virginia sweet, and it is while smoking that the rose petals do their job, adding a complex, exotic nuance, while the Kentucky adds a bit of zest.

I would recommend Kentucky Bird as a good, every-day, all-day smoke. It is a light smoke which offers the experienced smoker an interesting smoking experience. I would not recommend it to novices, as the tastes are really subtle nuances which, I think, only an experienced palate can really detect and enjoy. A novice might be tempted to smoke this too quickly in an attempt to "get to the flavor", which will only get him tongue bite.

Give Kentucky Bird a try. It's definitely a departure from Stanwell's usual offerings.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2002 Extremely Mild Medium Overwhelming Pleasant to Tolerable
The description above is true, this stuff actually had flower petals of some sort in the blend, and if you are a female, you'll want to stick an opened tin in your underwear drawer. If you're a man, you'll want to barf after smoking this poor excuse for tobacco.

Kentucky Bird does have a couple of redeeming qualities though. The tin is pretty and this blend would grow beautiful flowers if you planted it, I bet!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2009 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Full Very Pleasant
I'm afraid I must disagree with most reviewers on this one, as it happens to be my favourite smoke. In 40 years I've tried most but keep coming back to this one. Hot and harsh? Certainly not. It remains gentle and smooth throughout and relights without a hint of bitterness. The room note always gets favourable comments. It's obviously not a tobacco to everyone's taste but a superb blend IMHO and has been a revelation to those who have been introduced to it.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2008 Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
I have to get out of the chorus of Kentucky Bird?s detractors. I?ve been smoking this blend for about 12 years for my aromatic side smoke; I always appreciate it?s balance between measured strength and aroma. If it lets dry in open air for a while, moderates that some harshness coming from heavy top-flavouring, burns easier and tastes better. I used to smoke it as an all-day tobacco, if puffed gently gives no bite, its aroma gets gentle between mouth and nose, sidesmoke is also delicious. The flower petals, you can see clearly in the mass of tobacco, give a slide flourish freshness to taste, but at half bowl disappears at all. Vanilla, thus, is its main aroma, makes it a quite classic danish blend.

It?s worse fault, however, is that leaves a wet dottle in the end of the bowl, means that I rarely managed to burn the fourth quarter of the pack and many times is needed to whip away moisture left in the bottom of the bowl after emptying.

The room note is great with a note of bitterness, characteristic of burning Kentucky.

IMHO, it?s a 3 out of 4 stars aromatic tobacco, for quality and price --I only had the pouch version here.

T
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2018 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Once you open the pouch, it smells like a bouquet of flower. Only an experienced smoker who doesn't rush will get it's full taste with experiencing a lot of changes through the bowl. large burley leafs can easily be seen in the blend. Without aging, tobacco itself burns evenly. As far as I experienced aging this tobacco (for 6 months) did not affect so much.
Pipe Used: Corn cob, Stanwell 30, Stanwell 11, Stanwell 211
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2015 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Found this tobacco whilst on a recent holiday in Spain. I'd tried it many years ago when it was available in the UK, and decided to give it another go. Unfortunately, as a smoker of flake and plug tobaccos, I found it smoked far too hot and torched the roof of my mouth and tongue with it. When I opened the pouch I found it to have a very pleasant aroma, and no doubt it has appeal to smokers used to Scandinavian type mixtures. After two smokes I consigned the pouch and remaining tobacco to a communal waste bin in Santa Susanna, Catalunya.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Country Gent cob
PurchasedFrom: Santa Susanna Tabac shop
Age When Smoked: straight from pouch/packet
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2009 Very Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable
I guess an opinion from the middle of the spectrum would be appropriate. I don't usually smoke aromatics (in the canonical understanding) and I don't think I could judge this one fairly. However, I didn't find it the most disgusting evil weed ever. There is the whole bunch of much worse concoctions. So this one, from the perspective of predominantly Virginia smoker, is worth some attention (say, you are on a deserted island and you only have KB and nail clippings, so you've got my drift).

I didn't find it very hot smoker. Not the coolest one, either, just nothing remarkable in this department. The aroma from the pouch is wonderful, and the minute I stuck my nose into there I understood that that's gonna be a challenge. The flavoring (flower-ish, herbal-ish, parfumer-ish) is extremely strong. Not very bad per se but very strong. And this is the only significant downside and the reason why I rate it so low.

The tobacco doesn't leave the ghost (at least nothing out of the ordinary) in the pipe and this is very good thing.

I managed to finish the pouch blending the tobacco in to some home made blends in microscopic amounts and don't regret about buying it. Would I recommend it to a fellow Virginia smoker as a change of pace? Barely. Is it worth trying? Why not. It's not yet another aromatic.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable
Scandinavian Tobacco' - Kentucky Bird.

I bought this a few weeks back in Majorca having no idea of the constituents. If I'd have known I'd have avoided it, alas!

Flowers. All I get from opening the pouch to finishing a bowl are flowers. The tobaccos are buried underneath the toppings, they give minor flavour, the Kentucky more than the Virginia, but as the florals have so much weight they struggle to contend. It didn't take long for me to get bitten by it.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: tolerable.

Kentucky Bird? One star:

Not recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson #03
PurchasedFrom: Majorca
Age When Smoked: A few weeks
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2017 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
I bought this tobacco out of curiosity after reading some quite negative reviews, and a quest to try some of the classic supermarket blends, and I'll say straight away I was positively surprised! The cut is a relatively coarse ribbon style, with quite a large proportion of different flowers (I think I identified rose petals, chamomile and lavender, orange blossoms, and... tobacco?). The tobacco itself seems to be mainly blonde Virginia. The pouch note is bready with a distinct pot-pourri (lavender and rose mainly) note (surprise surprise), but not in an unpleasant way. The tobacco packs and burns easily and cleanly. This has got to be one of the most inoffensive tobaccos around; the smoke is very mild (but pleasant) from start to finish. Starts off with bready and floral notes, again mainly lavender and rose, to develop into a clean sugar syrupy flavour, developing a slightly sour lemonade flavour with more and more licorice notes towards the heel (used as sweetener no doubt). Room note is very pleasant, bready, slightly floral, not very persistent. One of these tobaccos that could probably be passed off as incense. All in all a surprisingly enjoyable smoke. Definitely worth a go if you're into lighter blends. Could be a good first pipe tobacco since it's very straight forward, mild and surprisingly clean burning and tasting.
Pipe Used: Corn cob
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Pouch 0-6 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"