Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG) Granger

(2.82)
Granger Pipe Tobacco is a classic American burley based blend with a slight top flavor. This rough cut classic lights and burns easily, delivering a smooth, crisp, mild, medium bodied smoke and a pleasant, fragrant room note.
Notes: Formerly made by Pinkerton.

Details

Brand Scandinavian Tobacco Group (STG)
Blended By  
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley
Flavoring Anisette
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 7 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.82 / 4
39

48

22

20

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 121 - 129 of 129 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2005 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I am a Granger fan. Nice easy to smoke burley that can occasionaly get harsh on the bottom. Along the same lines as PA, Half & Half,etc. I do like this one better from the can than the pouch. As far as the "plastic" or "metallic" taste I myself have never expierienced either..just a nice simple burley. Give it a shot its cheap enough and if ya don't like it no big loss.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2005 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
If you get a good pouch or tin of this, its a good simple no frills burley. If you get a bad pouch or tin it's horrid with a plastic taste. Akin to SopwithCamels review I have also noticed that Pinkerton has a quality control problem as their products are just to inconsistant to be enjoyed by this piper.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2005 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
There is not too much to add as far as specs on this tobacco. Straight up burley with a kick. I wasn't particularly bothered by the "industrial" taste of the ending though was disappointed that the tobacco became kind of flat. I was more enamored with the rough and tumble early portion of the bowl. I'd smoke it again, I may keep a tiny bit on hand - though I have to say there are likely far higher quality, and equally nostalgic, burley blends on hand. As someone else said, you could do better - but could do far worse as well.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2003 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I will not try this again even though I hope I had a bad batch.

The inital light and first few puffs were a delight. Then the flavor turned. It was as if there was some plastic mixed in. It was that foul.

Never again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2002 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Strong
I remember smoking this several years ago and seemed to have liked it at the time. My most recent purchase, however, was so bad that I suspect I may have purchased a defective sample.

The tobacco was so moist that it was clumped together almost in plug form in the pouch. I could not manage to keep the tobacco lit and the taste was of mould, dampness, and dirt. I tried airing out the sample for several hours and, whilst being easier to maintain in the bowl, the flavour and aroma were even more offensive than they were originally.

Perhaps I should visit another purveyor and purchase a second pouch just to be sure, but I shudder at the thought of going through such a horrible experience again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
One of the strongest burley blends that I have ever experienced. I smoked this somewhat regularly when I was a teen.

Plain burley with a kick. ...That means good!

As said in above reviews, it bitters at the end.

Still available; If you can find it.

I'm not looking anymore.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 15, 2023 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Based on the reviews here I decided to try a can of Granger. Not made in America anymore, but STG seems to have improved upon the last American production. Shame on us, I'd say.

I find in my old age that I am turning away from heavy latakia blends towards more classic American pipe mixtures.

I very much enjoy Milan's versions of Prince Albert and Carter Hall (created with input from hundreds of PA and CH smokers). Sutliff's Match Holiday and Barking Dog blends are real winners in my book, as well.

So what of Granger? Well, I found the tin aroma to be apples, IMO. And I like apples, so that was a plus.

As for the taste, it is burley, but I found the apple topping to dominate the taste in 2 of the 3 pipes in which I tested the mixture. I don't find that to be a bad thing, as the topping is very pleasant.

I did get a pronounced tongue prickle in my Falcon. There was some in my large Ashley bulldog, but I think the White Elephant meerschaum granules helped to ameliorate the prickles.

Most likely I need to smoke this blend slower.

All in all, I have to say I like Granger. I don't get a lot of tobacco taste (other than in my Charatan's Make Perfection bulldog). But that's okay with me. The topping is very pleasant and makes for a tasty smoke.

I plan on keeping a can on hand. It probably won't replace Holiday, Barking Dog, PA, or CH unless I can get rid of the tongue prickles. But it's enjoyable enough I want to have some on hand.

Glad the Danes saved this oldie.
Pipe Used: Charatan Make Perfection 38, Falcon, Astley
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I smoked this many moons ago when it was more readily available in most drug stores. This blend is just what the other reviews have noted, burley upfront and nothing special. I can tell you about that dog on the label. You have to treat him gentle or he'll bite a plug out of your tongue. Yes, this is burley that bites. It really has to be treated far to gentle to get any good flavor from it.
Pipe Used: Comoy
PurchasedFrom: Online
Age When Smoked: New.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
It?s a shame that these OTC old time brands aren?t easily found readily any longer.

If they were I could have wasted three to five bucks on a pouch of this stuff instead of wasting $32.00 including the shipping for a can of this disappointer. (Pun intended). I hoped against hope my taste receptors would be immune to the ?plastic? taste others have mentioned, they weren?t. I really wanted Granger to be a replacement to the un-understandable discontinuance of Edgeworth Ready ?Rubbed. The best modestly priced Burly ever produced. Maybe someone can explain this to me because I don?t get it. Why would Lane & Co. discontinue one of the few truly good tobaccos they ever put their name on? Oh yeah, and now that I look at my long empty can of ?Dunhill Night Cap?, a blend of iconic quality, it?s got that idiot ?Lane Limited? logo on it too. This Lane outfit must be a private company with suicidal tendencies. I?m really pissed about their decisions and nothing with their name on it will pass through the ?Slim Stem?.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"