Borkum Riff Cherry Cavendish (Ruby)

(2.06)
Borkum Riff Cherry Cavendish is a premium quality, heavily aromatic mix of dark Kentucky and burley tobacco, enhanced with the soft delicious taste of cherry and just a touch of vanilla. The blend is heavily fermented to give a warm, luxurious smoke with a light sweet aroma.
Notes: Originally from Swedish Match, Sweden, it is now branded by Skandinavian Tobacco Group in Denmark. Due to EU regulations, this is now sold in those countries as "Ruby".

Details

Brand Borkum Riff
Blended By Swedish Match
Manufactured By Skandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Cherry, Vanilla
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 50 grams pouch, 250 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.06 / 4
17

25

39

51

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 132 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2020 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I don't usually smoke aros so this review doesn't come from someone who has an interest in these sorts of tobaccos. So weight my opinion accordingly.

This was a gift from my family for Fathers Day (Bless 'em) and no doubt, not one of them being a user of tobacco in any form, this is what the tobacconist told them was popular. I'd be willing to bet that this tobacco, and others of its ilk, remains on the best seller list because of non smokers buying it as a gift.

It is what it is. It smells really nice. It smokes like a dream; absolutely trouble free. Light and go and your good till it's all burnt up. If there's a tobacco flavour under all the cherry and vanilla, it will take a better nose than mine to discover it. Honestly, it's not that bad. And I was dreading lighting a bowl up. So I feel good that my low expectations were bettered. So points just for not being total crap.

I would in fact recommend this to someone who genuinely enjoyed aros. And there's nothing wrong with that; no need for us to be tobacco snobs. So 3 for those guys and 2 for everyone else.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Quite why BRCC receives such poor reviews is beyond me. I find this one of my most favourite blends - purchased in 50 gram packets... my stock is currently 16 packets (price has just increased to £12.05 ea). When I'm out smoking this tobacco people have come up to me to say what a wonderful smell it has. It looks light and is finely chopped and relatively dry from the packet - lights easily and will burn down fast if not tampered down. Nose in the packet and it smells divine - I'm smoking it now in an Oom Paul. Not a great nicotine hit, although pleasant when inhaled - which I do frequently. Sadly, for me, other Borkum products are not so nice.
Pipe Used: 68 Pipe Collection
PurchasedFrom: Smoke-King http://www.smoke-king.co.uk/
Age When Smoked: 6 months
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2012 Medium to Strong Medium Mild to Medium Strong
After looking at the many negative reviews of this blend i was very surprised how much i enjoyed it the taste is rather nice as is the room note and soon smoked the entire pouch in no time it can bite a bit if your a puffer but i never found it a problem a nice cherry blend when compared to the many other blends give it try.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2003 Extremely Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Extra Strong
This blend is totally and absolutely not fit for consumption.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Incredible, absolutely incredible Such a delicious smoke for for such an affordable price When I first open the pack I was like: "Wow, such a lovely smell, hope the taste can somewhat compliment it" and after the first bow, it did the job perfectly. The smell of cherry is definitely there, I almost mistaken it for an aromatic type (which I occasionally don't like since those type of tobacco lacks the nicotine). This is absolutely the best of both worlds, it packs a great amount of tobacco (not to much, not to little), and a wonderful fragrance. It's something that you can take anywhere with on any occasion. Strong fragrance, mild amount of nicotine, this is absolutely a must try tobacco
Pipe Used: Lubinsky 652 and Zero 1174
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacco shop
Age When Smoked: unknown
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is one of two tobaccos that my grandfather smoked. The other was Prince Albert. To be honest he doesn't have a terrific palate but this is a more than acceptable blend. The smell out of the package alternates between cherry liqueur and cherry ice cream. The taste is pretty much straight, pleasant, mild and inexpensive Virginia with a little sweet and cherry floating around in it. The room note is what makes this more appealing than some cherry tobaccos I have tried. This smells like warm cherry cobbler in the room and makes everyone who had a relative that smoked anything cherry in the past smile. You can smell the tobacco through that cherry, but it is a pleasant tobacco smell and not obtrusive. Doesn't smoke hot or bite in a filtered cob, but might if smoked fast through an unfiltered pipe. If I wanted a cherry pipe tobacco again I would happily go for this or Middleton's Cherry Blend, but I like Middleton's a little better.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum General
Age When Smoked: fresh
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2014 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Read a lot of negative reviews before trying this one; was positively surprised.

- Not as heavy cased as many people claim. - Does not bite your tounge or burn hot (IF smoked correctly.) - A sweet hint of cherry on your tounge as you exnhale, good! - Delicious room note.

I suspect many of the bad rewiews here to be written by people who does not enjoy aromatics. If you prefer english blends, latakia, or pure virginias, OF COURSE this tobacco will come through as too sweet, too hot burning etc. In addition, many pipe smokers smoke preimium, expensive tobaccoes (myself included). This is a much cheaper, "over the counter" tobacco, and must therefore be reviewed as that.

To sum it up: It is a good, pleasant aromatic, cherry flavoured tobacco. Not my favourite aromatic, but definitively enjoyable. Good for beginners because of the low price ( about half the prize of premium tobaccoes)
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2011 Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
In the pouch, this stringy, fine to medium-cut mixture has a credible topping of vanilla and cherry along with sweetly herbal scents of burley.

Blended of cavendished burley and virginia, with a greater emphasis on the burleys than many other Borkum Riff blends, there is also a greater proportion of dark leaf. Identified as dark kentucky, although I initially assumed that it was black cav. Regardless, any boldness from dark kentucky is subsumed to the overall aromatic sweetly cavendished quality. The vanilla-cherry flavoring is reminiscent of CAO Cherrybomb, though the complement of brisker tobaccos in Cherry Cavendish lightens the taste into a more dynamic range.

Typical of Borkum Riff's line in both character and quality, Cherry Cavendish is a winner for the sweet leaf fan. This will ghost a briar and seemed best in narrow to medium gauge chambers.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Overwhelming Tolerable
This has a great sweet smell in the pouch but it ends there. The first couple of puffs has a nice cherry candy taste but then it falls apart. Around the midpoint of the bowl a bitter medicine taste takes over and ruins the experience. The first half of the pouch I smoked in a cob but it burned so hot the heat blackened the outside of itand ruined it. Tonight I tried it in a briar I am dedicating to cherry flavours and I had to stop mid way though. The taste was unbearable. Even though Mr. Bs Afternoon Delight is much weaker in taste it is far superior. This was the first and last Borkum Riff I will ever buy.
Pipe Used: MM and a Briar
PurchasedFrom: Fortinos
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is about the best cherry blend you will find available in the supermarket, drugstore and most cigar shops around here. It is NOT the same as Cherry Liquor. It is fairly dry in the pouch and actually tastes like tobacco. Has a very subdued cherry flavor (actual cherry flavor!) and finishes dry with no dottle. One reviwer said it was over 11 pounds a pouch!?!. I paid $6.00 and thought that was a little steep. What we take for granted...
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Has a pleasant cherry topping that does sublimate the tobaccos a bit. The Virginia is grassy with a touch of tart citrus as the base of the blend. The burley is lightly nutty earthy, and woody in a secondary role. The black cavendish is a little sugary, and is just above being a condiment. The Kentucky is a little earthy, nutty and woody as a condiment. The strength is just short of the center of mild to medium. The taste is a step past that center. Has a very mild nic-hit. Burns too warm and fast, but at least it doesn't have the chemical taste I noticed in BR's other cherry blend. I recommend this one over the other. Sip it, and you'll avoid tongue bite. Has a very consistent flavor from start to finish, along with a lightly lingering, pleasant after taste and room note. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"