Lane Limited Captain Black Grape

(2.50)
From P&C's website: Captain Black Grape is the latest entry from the largest-selling brand of pipe tobacco in the US. Using the same blend of white burley, bright Virginia and black cavendish as Captain Black Regular, Captain Black Grape is finished with a lively, sweet note of grape for a room-pleasing aroma, but a subtly zesty flavor. We expect this blend to be one of their most popular yet. Give it a try today!

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 12 ounces tin, 50 grams pouch
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.50 / 4
3

4

7

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 16 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2021 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Imagine it's a gentle lazy summer morning, there is a tasty fragrance of toasted grape in the air. This is the impression one gets when this CAPTAIN BLACK GRAPE is explored. It doesn't bite. The aroma is very pleasant and satisfying to the taste-buds. I was never expecting this and to my surprise, ~ found this tobacco a refreshing break from my usual brand. Instead of the overwhelming tobacco aura, I found with most CAPTAIN BLACK products, this was more to my taste. One of the more delightful and pleasant surprises I have stumbled upon.
Pipe Used: Whitehall red dot
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 28, 2016 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Great Smoke! What you'll get: , taste like a Grape Popsicle , awesome room note , easy light , consistent burn throughout bowl , compliments for smell , notice of light zesty flavor , no goopy after mess , thoughts that this shouldn't be this good but really is . I enjoyed this blend a lot. Peace and happy smokes to all my brothers and sisters of the briar; hope you enjoy the same results!

Pipe Used: Moonshine Pipe Co.
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: New Pouch
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2018 Mild Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I don't apologize for being a lover of aromatic tobacco. One of the great things about smoking a pipe is the wide range of choices. Does this smell like a grape Jolly Rancher - YES. Is it heavily cased - YES. Keeping that in mind, if those things don't bother you, then you should give this a try! The base tobacco is comparable to CB White, but the grape makes it a completely different experience. The moisture level was just right and it burned well. The grape was apparent to the bottom of the bowl. Like CB White, it needs to be sipped, nut puffed to avoid tongue burn. All around, it is a pleasant change from other CB offerings, but it is not for everyone.
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie Saxon
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2017 Medium Extra Strong Overwhelming Tolerable
Years ago Peretti's had a lightly grape flavored blend which they called Lexington. It was a pleasant diversion as I recall, sort of a Lakeland style with grape. They no longer offer the blend but I had vaguely fond memories of enjoying it at least a few times. While I don't ordinarily smoke Captain Black products I took a flyer and ordered the new grape edition. Half a bowl later I can only say that this is one of the vilest concoctions I have ever smoked. I smoke some English/oriental/Balkan blends and some aromatics. In the aromatic catergory I am especially fond of some of the Dan tobaccos, most notably Devil's Holiday. I mention this only to indicate that I am not anti-aromatic and, in fact, enjoy strongly cased aromatics. However, this tobacco is so strongly cased with a chemical agent and so oddly flavored that I actually became nauseous after half a bowl. It is enough really to put me off pipesmoking for at least a day or two. Smoke this at your own risk but please use a cob or some pipe that you really hate (I used a Dagner cob poker which I use for trying new tobaccos prior to using any of my good briars). It would really irritate me if I had ghosted one my better pipes with this criminally bad stuff
Pipe Used: Dagner poker
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
Lane Limited - Captain Black Grape.

It's quite a coarse mixture, containing about an equal measure of each leaf, the moisture's good, and the aroma's odd: it's not at all congruent with the smoke. I once worked in a chemical factory and that was what sprung to mind when I took a sniff!

I'd imagined grape to transpire as a repulsive casing, but it isn't as bad as I thought. The tobacco's are well balanced with one another, so it isn't monopolized by the black Cavendish's stickiness like it's sibling Captain Black Dark, for example. The grape isn't as sharp a flavour as I'd anticipated, there's some 'zest', but it has more sweetness. Due to the white Burley the production of smoke is fairly heavy, and also cool. Low point? Tongue bite: tut, tut.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: A little heavy.

Captain Black Grape: Hmmmm, although the flavour isn't bad the bite ruins it. Two stars:

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Altinok Lee Van Cleef: Friday pipe
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2017 Very Mild Strong Full Pleasant
I enjoy expensive tobaccos but I also enjoy the enitre line of Captain Black tobaccos. Haters are going to hate. I mixed this with some cube cut burley to give it body and strength. It delivers what is promised. A very grapey flavor. I would not want it all the time, but when in the mood for a purple nehi, go for this.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2019 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
It seems like I just started noticing this one in magazine ads recently though it looks like it has been out for at least 3 years if you go by the reviews. When I first saw this one my first thought was the grape blunts that people hollow out for their weed of choice. I was going to buy some but fate intervened and was given about 5 small pipe bowls a few weeks ago from a guy at the club. I found my worst corn cob and fired this blend up and noticed a strong artificial grape/chemical taste and smell. This is definitely ‘grape’ no mistaking that but it just tasted too much like cheap grape candy. I read that they expect this one to be of their most popular yet. Hardly, not even close. Who are you going to believe, me or your lying eyes? Don’t get me wrong I like aromatics, English, Virginias but this Aro has a lot to be desired. I can only somewhat recommend this one. And by the way least you think I am prejudiced; I love Captain Black White.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob that I did not mind getting ghosted.
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2017 Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin note is the same as smelling grape Big League Chew bubble gum or grape Bubblicious. The room note is much the same.

Slight proof of Burley and Cavendish flavour present, but mostly you will taste the grape candy topping. The grape weakened a bit near the end of the smoke.

Perfect moisture in pouch. Packed well and smoked well with one tamp/relight over the entire smoking of the bowl.

If you are a fan of those cheap OTC grape cigarillos, this will be a treat for you. That flavouring those cigarillos have on the wrapper is throughout this blend from start to finish.

2 Stars. If someone craved a candy grape Aro, this would be my recommendation. Sure to be a polarizing smoke of sorts. haha This pouch will probably be my only one.

I would not recommend this blend to anyone without a love of sweet, candy-like aromatics or a good sense of humour.

Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh Pouch
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
I confess ... I like Aromatics ... and Va Flakes, VaPers, VaPerBurs, Balkans, and light English blends too. CB Royal has been a go to blend when the sweet tooth beckons. It's a good all day smoke that requires little fuss ... just light, tamp, puff, and go about your business. As of this writing, CB Grape is a relatively new blend, so I was skeptical that it could be an improvement upon my favored CB Royal ... other versions of CB have left me wanting. To my surprise, this behaves similarly to CB Royal in the pipe ... yet with an interesting & flavorful tart-grape taste & aroma. I've found that if I give it a good char light, take a few puffs, set the pipe down to let the embers die out & cool, then relight it ... I achieve the best flavorful smoke without to much tartness. I like it ok and will continue to use it occasionally. Is it better than CB Royal? Not necessarily so but it's ok for a change of pace. Ahhh but there are so many fine tobaccos available nowadays ... and so little time to smoke them all.
Pipe Used: Briars, Meerschaums & Cobs
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2020 Strong Medium Full Very Strong
I'm a beginner even though I've been smoking for the last 3 years. This is the best tobacco I've ever smoked. Very nice smell very nice taste. The grape is exceptional. The bad thing is that I can't find it in Cyprus. I ordered it from the US and waited. The tobacco dried a little but still great. It lasted for over a year and it was still smokeable.
Pipe Used: Savinelli, Deluxe
PurchasedFrom: Online from USA
Age When Smoked: 21
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2022 Very Mild Extra Strong Overwhelming Very Pleasant
Smoking now:

Sample bag that when it came in the mail it made my mailbox smell like grape jolly ranchers. That’s not a joke. It literally smelled through the f***ing box.

I was really hoping this would be a hidden gem. A sweet Cavindish blend with a nice grape/wine flavor. It wasn’t. Had a burnt sugar flavor with a chemically acidic putrid flavor. Definitely sweet however the topping is artificial and off putting. An aftertaste that was unpleasant. Behaved well with few relights. Will never smoke again.

Room note smells like grape. Go figure. Mouth note is toilet bowl cleaner.

I’m far from a tobacco snob, but god damn this was rough.

Sacrificed a cob for the deed. The bowl after I dumped the tobacco out and scraped it clean smelled like grape. Will ghost your pipe.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"