BriarWorks International Back Down South

(2.61)
Travel down south with BriarWorks' Back Down South, a hearty Virginia-Perique Flake that's perfect for front-porch sittin'. With flavors of figs, dark chocolate, and a slight peppery spice, this one is sure to satisfy any lover of Virginia/Perique blends.

Details

Brand BriarWorks International
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 2 ounce jar
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.61 / 4
4

5

7

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2020 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The earthy, woody, very spicy perique also offers a lot of fermented plums, figs, light raisins and dates as the most obvious component. The Virginias provide a lot of tart and tangy citrus, grass, bread, floralness, some tangy dark fruit, earth, wood, sugar, mild acidity, light spice, and a hint of vinegar. They are supporting players. The dry bourbon topping has a bit of depth, and an exotic lightly sweet and rather sour, acidic fruit, possibly mango, is obviously present. The toppings mildly sublimate the tobaccos as they help create a harmonious, very consistent tartly sweet and rather sour, spicy, savory flavor that extends to the lingering after taste. The strength and nic-hit levels are medium. The taste is a step past that mark. It won’t bite or get harsh, but it does sport a few rough edges. Burns cool, clean, and a tad slow as broken flakes will. The moisture content of the tobacco is moderate. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. The room note is pleasant to tolerable. Two and a half stars rounded down to two because of the level of sourness.

-JimInks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The Mason jar is a great idea. BDS seemed less aromatic to me so I bought a tin to sample. The tin note is definitely topping or casing with some fruity aroma: grape, cherry,..etc. Broken flakes are easy to pack with just right amount of moisture. The topping diminishes a little during smoking, but it's there all the way down. It's not annoying but can mask the natural Vaper flavor somehow. Two star to me and the jar is a plus.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2022 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Preparation: Moisture level is near perfect. The blend is mostly in broken flake form.

Notes: The base of the blend is a solid mixture of red/bright Virginias, bring lemon, hay, fruity notes. The Perique is pruny and fairly consistent through the smoke, The topping/flavoring however changes the blend for me. I dont know if it is liquor topping (some say bourbon) or simply a citrus additive, but it doesnt suit my tastes. Unique and satisfactory? Yes. But there's a plethora of other Va/Pers I'd choose first. 6.5/10

https://youtu.be/w2N6Vrkkg8g
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2017 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
The marketing of the line with the jars is brilliant.

The VAPER is pretty good flavor. I found the flakes burnt much better when rubbed out than when left in flakes.

Since smoking this, I've found other VAPERs that I enjoy more so I don't think I'd buy it again, but it isn't a bad smoke.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
it was Okay-smoke for me nothing stands out find it to be a bit dull and flat.The room note was fine not very excited to smoke it again loved the mason jar idea though
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Jar note of spiced figs and tart Rasins. Tobacco broken flakes rub out easily. The dark brown tobacco is on the wet side, drying is needed. Burns slow with a few extra relights. The strength is medium and nic is medium. No flavoring that I could discern, if there is flavoring, it muddled. Taste is medium to full and inconsistent, with notes of dry earth, bitter wood, prunes, very spicy, mild tangy fruit, mildly sweet Rasin bread, mildly floral, mild spice, a bitter plum background note, and a spicy retro. Perique is leading with Virginias supporting from afar. Room note is tolerable, and aftertaste is ok.
Pipe Used: Wally Frank Limited White Bar Sandblast 128
Age When Smoked: 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2022 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is a blend that at first I thought was tasteless. But that’s not it. It’s just light. Especially for a vaper. Nice. Mellow. All the flavors are there. The problem is, it is only unique in its mellowness. There’s is nothing else much to speak of. I will happily finish the jar but won’t be buying more.
Age When Smoked: 2-3 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"