Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake

(3.47)
Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake is for lovers of pure pressed Virginias. Created in the heart of Lakeland, the hot-pressed blended Virginias take on a delicious and distinctive dark colour that creates a pipe smokers dream, a feeling of calm, serenity and anticipation of the next pipeful. A "must have" for all Virginia lovers. Medium strength.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 250 grams box, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.47 / 4
394

119

72

20

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 301 - 310 of 605 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Simple, tasty, full of flavor, what our "poor fathers" smoked back in the day. Gets better with aging. Love it, A true classic!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Quite simply the best Va flake made. Unadulterated. You are tasting a process here, and one that no one else can duplicate. Full enough to be smoked all year round. Satisfying as tobacco, satisfying in sweetness, just plain satisfying. Tied for my very favorite tobacco.

Updated 6April2017 Not as good as BBF! Bwahahahaha
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 25, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The flake came out of the tin very damp. I have seen a number of reviews online of people not being able to light or keep SG's flake's lit. If you find you have this problem (or tongue bite) just dry / rub the flake out until the tobacco just about springs apart after pinching (if you can hold back from smoking this beautiful flake straight away!) and hopefully it will be very satisfying smoke! SG's full Virginia flake is a smooth and sweet smoke with absolutely no tongue bite and very few relights. Will be ordering more it was fantastic! All the best guys & girls happy piping!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TW
Nov 25, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This has become an accepted "standard" for flakes, and very popular. As such it should be tried by anyone investigating unscented flakes.

However, to me at least it's not necessarily the best of breed. The taste stresses the lower notes rather than the hay-like favour that seems favoured by many Americans. It can be a bit over-compressed, cut thick wet and leathery which makes it hard to rub out and tricky to light. Drying it makes it a little easier to light (though not much) and less steamy (so more flavour).

If too wet it can be very sweet and sugary towards the end of the bowl. Overall there's a knack to smoking it, like with most S Gawith flakes.

What it is not is cased (with anything other than the sugar and water almost all Va is cased with by everyone) or flavoured/scented. Not At All. Not even a little bit. No Lakeland scents what so ever. So if you think you can detect flavouring you are wrong. Maybe you don't know tobacco as well as you think? Maybe you haven't reaised it's made from (very good) African-grown leaf (like most UK Va tobacco) and therefore tastes different to US grown Va?

Only three stars as I reckon Gawith's equally unscented Best Brown Flake has a slight edge.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
The aroma in the tin is a combination of wet hay, marshes and vinegar and it might discourage some people. However, the taste of this tobacco as you smoke it is quite different and pleasing. It has a nice room note and it burns well. Like a lot of straight blends, it might be hard to notice the complexity of this tobacco and you will have to adjust your puffing rhythm and intensity to capture its subtleness. Overall, a very good tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Unnoticeable
I had many SG blends and also FVF a few yeahrs ago. What i find anoying was the presence of their flakes. Some flakes where so thick and moist, i couldn t deal with. But by all the great reviews here I tried anoher go, and see... There where still very moist flakes in the tin but in a thickness i could handle. And the smoking was from the charring lite till the end a pleasure. Full and spicy, round and ballanced. Delicous. Perfekt strengh for me. Highly recommended
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Out of the tin, this has the scent of pure VA leaf. The flakes look like strips of bacon or beef jerky. Pack it right and you will be pleased, the moistness makes it tricky to get the pack right. This is a smooth and delicious smoke, with a little pepper/spice. I rate it as super enjoyable. Part of my rotation, could be an everyday smoke if I smoked every day. There are some different methods for packing flake here: http://pipesmagazine.com/python/pipe-smoking/flake-pipe-tobacco- preparation/ I have been using the rub method and will be trying some others.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is a beautiful VA flake. It's character is refined and fairly laid back, so I could smoke it all day long. It presents so many different notes from time to time (from white wine to unsweetened dark chocolate) that it's difficult to keep track of them all, but it never seems to put a foot wrong.

Is it worthy of the hype? As I haven't smoked every other VA flake I don't know, but it's certainly worth four stars.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2012 Medium Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A very wet tobacco. First two bowl, had to keep relight. Cellar it for two weeks than try it again.Best ever baccy. No flavouring just the taste of tobacco. Smoke cool. Will buy this again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
As most other reviews have already pointed out, this is a legendary tobacco. This is easily my favorite VA and I buy it in quantities that would embarrass even the greatest tobacco hoarders.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"