Samuel Gawith 1792 Flake

(3.04)
Notes: 1792 Flake is a full-strength, mellow tobacco comprising a blend of dark fired Tanzanian leaf. It is Gawith's best selling premium grade flake. It starts as 7 lbs. of hand stripped leaf and goes through a steaming process prior to being pressed. The cake, having been prepared, is wrapped in a select leaf and packed by hand into a 12 inch square. This cake is pressed and left for a minimum of two hours. Then, the pressed cake is placed into a steam press where it is baked at full heat for two to three hours. The baked cake has then taken on 1792's characteristic rich, dark color. Its hardening occurs during cooling. Once the process of cutting the flake and adding a tonquin flavor is carried out, hand wrapping and packing finalizes 1792, making it ready for rubbing into your pipe. Sold as "Cob Flake" in England.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Tonquin Bean
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.04 / 4
190

137

70

50

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 221 - 230 of 447 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2006 Overwhelming Very Strong Overwhelming Extra Strong
I tried this a while back and actually after puffing on this (gently!) for about 20 minutes I got the cold sweats,the shakes and actually threw up before feeling better..all of which took several hours to pass! I am a huge fan of full flavored, latakia based tobaccos and love a good "kick".....but this tobacco is flat out dangerous, not to mention disgusting with it's Tonquin flavoring. If given a choice between this and mixture no. 79, I would smoke 79!!!!!!!!!!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2006 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is an update and a downgrading from a previously Highly recommended review - in September of 2005

I found the latest iteration of 1792 Flake to be far off the quality mark. The tobacco was stuffed in the tins and the flakes were not at all uniform. I was totally disappointed in the manner in which this was packaged.

As far as quality - it's downgraded too. It was as though someone rushed to get this out the door. This is not a tobacco (in my opinion) that should be smoked without at least some moderate age on the tin. One would expect that when it's purchased it's ready to smoke, and I don't believe that to be the case here. I'll leave the sloppily manufactured tins I have in seclusion and visit them again sometime next year. In the meantime I'll be very harsh with my review based on the departure from quality that SG displayed in this batch.

VC
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2006 Extremely Strong None Detected Extra Full Tolerable
Rare amongst tobaccos. It has merits on its own. A tobacco for the men among men. Not for every day. Not for bystanders. A must try, but not a must-love. You are just as worthy to love it or to hate it. Earthy, musty, meaty and very dry. Once in a blue moon for me, and recommended with the same frequency to those with a passion for the briar and the leaf we stuff it with. If you smoke this as your primary blend, you are one tough piper....
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 31, 2005 Overwhelming None Detected Overwhelming Overwhelming
Putrid is the only word I could find to adequately describe this blend.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 28, 2005 Strong Medium Full Tolerable to Strong
With so many reviews, it hardly needs more of the same. This is a very unique tobacco that, for me, needs to be smoked when I have the craving for such a weed. It can be a bit much for the novice and too much for an all day smoke! It`s best enjoyed when you have the time to give it the attention it commands. A demanding blend but, with patience, a very satisfying and rewarding experience! The taste is very difficult to explain to someone else, a must try adventure!!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 19, 2005 Strong Strong Full Strong
To sum it up, YUK !!!

It has been said that smoking is bad for your health but this over-dose of tonquin is yukky. "Check out the web re. tonquin.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2005 Strong Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Many years ago I favoured the sweetest, blandest and 'goopiest' aromatic I could find (it was 'Checkmate' by Winston & Holmes - a long-dead tobacconist in Toronto, and still available from their descendant, Sleuth & Statesman). Now I know it wasn't vanilla & coconut, but tonquin that flavoured it. This is like a 'dry' version of vanilla, just the same but not as sweet. Certainly intense, though. This tobacco is very moist and should be aired. It is a smooth smoking, but positively aromatic experience. It has lots of nicotine. Lots. If you want to smoke an aromatic, but retain the respect of your English mixture colleagues, this will fit the bill nicely. On the other hand, if you hanker after the actual flavour of tobacco, go with its stablemate, SG's Best Brown Flake (NOT G&H Brown Flake #2, mind!)
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2005 Very Strong Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
This is an otherwise sturdy flake that features an unusual and seemingly love-it-or-leave-it topping element (that may or may not have been an early rat poison component), tonquin.

1792 is appealing to the nose in the tin, and the vanilla-like tonquin imparts a soft, sweet nature to the flavor; however 1792 is strong stuff and you will require patience and respect to stay on this horse without injuring yourself.

Dedicate (or sacrifice) a pipe to this one, it does linger.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2005 Strong Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
When nothing else will do...POW! Smoked in a very small briar this tobacco is quite nice but...still very potent. Don't give up after only one encounter. It is a high quality flake. Hand rub it out, let it sit in the pipe for 15-30 minutes before lighting up. Not for the inexperienced smoker. An occasional pleasure.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2005 Very Strong Strong Extra Full Strong
10/31/04 - 1792 Flake (new, tinned)

Tin: If your nose is anywhere close to the tin when you pop it open, the strong and unique aroma of the tonquin flavoring will certainly be the first thing you notice. Trying to communicate the tonquin smell seems like a fairly pointless exercise. I've heard it described as "vanilla on steroids," and that seems somewhat appropriate, but you really have to experience it firsthand. Once you get over that, you'll find a moist, even sticky, thin-cut flake similar in construction to Gawith's other flakes. 1792 was a little too moist out of the tin for me and required 20-30 minutes of drying time after rubbing it out (though even then, some stickiness remains).

Pack: Rubbed out, 1792 packs very easily into the bowl with no unusual techniques required. For the true flake-smoking crowd, the flakes remain pliable enough that they should easily accomodate any manner of folding, rolling, crushing, or other manuevers.

Lighting/Burning: The tobacco lights easily and burns well throughout the bowl. For such a strong, straight VA tobacco, it burns remarkably cool and bite-free. Very nice.

Flavor: The first puffs of 1792 are a blast of tonquin flavoring, almost as strong as the smell from the tin. But after just a few puffs, the strength of flavoring diminishes somewhat, revealing the strong, dark VA's underneath. For the first half of the bowl the tonquin stays very much in the forefront, but not in an unpleasant way to my taste. In the second half the VA's become predominant, though the tonquin is still there close behind. The VA's in here are some powerful stuff, as the reviews here make clear. But there's definitely solid tobacco flavor there, something like a jacked up Full Virginia Flake. As others have mentioned, this is not a tobacco to DGT - smoke it all in one go since the tonquin flavoring gets ugly at relights.

Pipe/Technique: 1792 is certainly a good reason to own some small-bowled pipes. If I smoked this in anything bigger than a small Group 4, I think I'd probably go blind. The strength of both the flavoring and the tobacco benefits from both narrower bowls (less smoke) and shorter bowls (less time). 1792 is satisfying even in my smallest pipe, a Sav Punto prince that has perhaps half the capacity of a Group 4 billiard. Since I smoke indoors, I rubbed out the flake completely as I usually do. Other than that, no fancy technique is required - while this is certainly strong tobacco, it is also very well-behaved.

Overall: This is the epitome of "love it or hate it" tobacco. If you find the tonquin flavoring agreeable (I do) and can stomach both the strong flavor and nicotine (I can), then this should be a favorite. The tobacco is excellent quality, burns very well, and has great flavor. Still, as much as I like it, I couldn't possibly smoke this all day - it's just too potent. But I find it perfect as a once-every-day-or-two kind of smoke. If you haven't smoked 1792 yet, you owe it to yourself to try it - though you may want to sample somebody else's in case the flavor is not your cup of tea.

Update 4/23/05 - My most recent tin of this (which was only my third, given how infrequently I smoke it) showed me what people were talking with complaints of inconsistency between batches. In some sense, it was recognizably the same tobacco - I mean, how many jet-black, tonquin-powered flakes are there? But in another, it was a whole different animal. Poor burning, rough around the edges, and somehow different even in the way the tonquin tasted. I don't know what the deal is, but I'll downgrade my rating to 3/4 for now. If you're going to buy this stuff, try to check out your source with regular 1792 smokers to make sure it's OK.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"