Reviews: 59374 Tobaccos: 5164What's NewLoginRegister
Product Image

Where to Buy
SmokingPipes.com

-

This is a soft and sweet, rich in
light Orientals and Carolina tobaccos with less
Latakia than No.2040.

BrandMcClelland
Blended ByMcClelland Tobacco Company
Blend TypeOriental
ContentsLatakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
FlavoringNone
CutBroken Flake
PackagingBulk
CountryUS
ProductionUnknown
Where to Buy SmokingPipes.com
Product Image
Strength
Mild
Flavoring
Mild
Taste
Mild to Medium
Room Note
Pleasant
3.0
28 reviews
Reviews
4 star:
8
3 star:
12
2 star:
7
1 star:
1
Sort By
Please login to review this blend.
KinnScience Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
KinnScience (29)
★★★☆
Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant

Like many McClelland blends, this is a fine tobacco. I almost always smoke flakes or broken flake these days, but at the time I bought and cellared this, I had been searching, some years back, for an all day blend in rough or ribbon cut. This tobacco fits the bill perfectly.

I would consider this tobacco a "semi-aromatic". There are varied perspectives on what is an aromatic and what is not an aromatic and perhaps this review might be a good time to clarify. All tobacco has some type of flavor additive to it at some point during the process. If it did not, it would be tough to enjoy. Even the purest VA flakes have some initial form of casing applied to the leaves of the tobacco before it is pressed/heated. That said, there are often additional flavorings/aromatic ingredients of a wide variety added after the initial creation, and it is those types of additives to which most people refer to as "flavoring". There is another component that I would mention for a tobacco to fit into what I would consider a "full fledged" aromatic category. That being, a tobacco blend that consists mostly of inexpensive burley, the end product of such being formed mostly by added flavorings. More precisely, I would consider a "heavy" or "full fledged" aromatic to get most of it's noted attributes incidentally from the additives as opposed to the actual virtues within the leaf; such attributes would be fostered primarily via the innate qualities of the plant, along with the practice and method of the harvesting, drying/curing, and aging of the leaf. Sometimes quality VA's are added to an full aromatic burley tobacco, and naturally some VA's are cased in the way of a full aromatic, though I would suggest that VA's are not often cased as heavily as low quality Burley.

Regarding this tobacco, McClelland states that this is a VA, Oriental, Latakia blend. It makes no mention of Burley and prior to a phone call to confirm this, we shall assume there is no burley (though it would not surprise me if there were tobacco of the aforementioned burley in small amounts, cased beyond recognition). However, clearly this has both the components of an aromatic, combined with the qualities of a mild english blend and it makes for a very easy and enjoyable smoke. Latakia fans who desire a dominant "Lat" element should try the 2040.

1st year: Looking back on my little notes of nearly 5 years ago, I see the Initial smoking upon receiving the tobacco that the tobacco was a bit too moist for my tastes. Bulk tobacco tends to be comparatively dry if one is used to a tin, but there are times when, if purchased soon after the blending, it can be nearly as moist as a tin. I noted the Latakia a bit more significantly during the first year of smoking this blend. I had not tried any for the last 3 years, and now the Latakia is barely noticeable, but adds a component that is somewhat married to the orientals which is very pleasant.

aged 5 years: The blend upon initial light burned much easier, with only 2 or 3 relights. Used the upside down/Palm twist method for filling as opposed to the 3 step, and it works very well. The word for this tobacco blend is subtle. Just as it was 5 years ago when I started smoking it regularly for a year, there was no one aspect that overpowered the others. Though slightly less Latakia now aged, it has not disappeared so much as merged into the Va and oriental to create it's own aspect. This is a very cool and dry smoking tobacco, especially with the new way I filled the pipe (which seems to work perfect for this blend, though not so much for others). A delicate smokiness after the char light, which readily gave way for a leathery and woody layer, like a freshly cut hardwood tree. After several puffs, the VA sweetness came through combined with sandalwood and oriental spice. The aromatic component stayed present throughout the smoke, but was unobtrusive; a characteristic not found in most aromatic elements, until the last 1/8th of the bowl where the aro components seem to congeal to some extent, though not to the extent of a full aromatic (said aspect is the largest downside of most aromatics IMHO).

Overall a very excellent all day smoke for those who really don't like aromatics. It has, as mentioned, an aromatic component but it is kept to a minimum. If I were asked to improve upon the blend, I would ask for and even lower aromatic component to the blend, though at that point it would be nearly non-existent (which would suit me fine).

Compared to other McClelland blends, e.g. 5100, or 2020, this blend would be a 2 star in relation to my preference due to the aromatic component. But in an unbiased review, I give this tobacco 3 starts because it clearly stands high among the blends that are not quite aromatic, but have such a component. Additionally, it is so very perfectly balanced in it's other facets that I believe it earns the 3 stars. If not for that final 1/8th of the bowl, it would be a perfect balance, but there is not much one can do about that.

Pipe Used: Cavicchi 3/4 bent billiard.

Age When Smoked: 5 yrs

Purchased From: smokingpipes.com

Similar Blends: frog morton, but with less latakia..

4 people found this review helpful.

SirLoirn Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
SirLoirn (126)
★★★★
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

Tin: Standard appearance of brown and black ribbon. Rich and pleasant, sweet, buttery incense aroma, a sweet, soft fragrance. The bag(in bulk) had a fine perfumy clove-sandalwood scent. Exceptionally sticky stuff, the resin had to be washed off my fingers.

Taste: Diminuitive, honeynut; exceptionally smooth, arguably the smoothest tobacco I have ever smoked. The strong pouch aroma is not matched by the light taste.

Aroma: Bland, light sandalwood; the bowl was left cool to the touch

Overall: I was anxious to try 2045 because I have been sampling pure blending tobaccos in order to gain an ability to discern the qualities of blended tobaccos. This oriental mixture does not produce the expected profusion of taste or aroma. It produces a rather light, but good, sandalwood aroma.

McConnell's Oriental might be better, having more definitive oriental qualities, and makes a good comparison.

3.9 stars for easy and soft smokability. 3.7 stars for the oriental attributes.

Bulk No. 2045 is definitely an all-day, indoor smoke.

4 people found this review helpful.

William H. Hardy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
William H. Hardy (31)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

Okay, so I really like this tobacco. I ordered it because I was interested in it, mainly from other reviews and from a couple of people's suggestions. I have been interested in orientals for a while and thought this would make sense as a purchase. I am certainly glad that I did get this.

I was expecting something similar to an older English tobacco, like Presbyterian, Dunhill Standard Mixture, Squadron Leader. You know, an English with the orientals pushed a bit forward. And, let's clear a little bit up; some of the reviewers here on Tobacco Reviews think that an English is always a latakia powerhouse. This isn't the case, especially with some of the older blends, like the aforementioned. The older Englishes definitely contained latakia, but were not latakia dominant. At any rate, this tobacco actually surprised me. A reviewer stated earlier that there was a scent of cloves and sandalwood in this and I actually agree. 2045 also has a bit of a sweet topping, which I think may be either rum or vanilla (or both), that I enjoy. It isn't overpowering and doesn't last for the entire smoke.

I'm not often surprised by a tobacco, but this was a pleasant one. It could definitely be an all-day smoke, but I actually save it for occaisions that I know I'd really enjoy it. I can taste the Latakia, but it's more in an overtone fashion. The Virginias are there and the orientals definitely make their presence known(Does anyone know what kind of orientals they are? I'd be interested to find out), but there's a lot of intermingling and different flavors fading in and out. In truth, some would dislike this tobacco because isn't exactly the same every time. But that's okay with me. If you like something that's a little different, then this is the one!

3 people found this review helpful.

Bowser Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Bowser (13)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

Shortly after reviewing the godawful Davidoff Mild mixture, I left the Navy and began a long hiatus from the pipe, while continuing to smoke cigarettes. Almost six years later, cigarettes and I have irreconcilable differences. McClelland's 2045 Oriental is the first pipe tobacco to help me get through the divorce from my cigarette habit.

I selected this blend after ruling out Virginias (which I've had difficulty with in the past) and aromatics (not what I was looking for). After buying a two-ounce bag at a local brick-and-mortar, I took it home and gave it a better look-over. It's predominantly rough-cut dark tobacco, with some lighter ribbons thrown in, with a slightly sweet smoky smell. My girlfriend opined that it had a clove smell to it. It does have a slight McClelland catsup smell, but not to the point that it's bothersome.

It burns fairly cool, and has a woodsy, slightly peppery taste. It's also relatively safe to inhale (important for me, a recovering cigarette smoker), and capable of delivering a good wallop of Vitamin N. However, it does bite the tongue a little, and it's a bear to keep lit; this is most bothersome after tamping. If these qualities are attributable solely to the tobacco, it's nothing a little drying out won't fix. I have no clue as to the room note, as I smoke outside or in the garage. Strangely enough, the garage took on a sawdust smell after this was briefly smoked in there. And the neighbors don't complain, so it must not be too bad.

This is a nice not-too-heavy English blend that can be smoked all day, and it's pretty enjoyable overall. So, why three stars?

Firstly, a little more Latakia would probably be more to my liking. Secondly, I'm not sure if its bad qualities are due to excess moisture, my diminished smoking technique, or pipe-and-tobacco incompatibility. I'll update the review after a little experimentation and trying the blend in a briar.

28 March 2012 update: though I still haven't tried this blend in a briar, it's dried out quite a bit. I also tried rubbing each bit between thumb and forefinger before putting it in the pipe. What a world of difference it made! It smoked cooler, required only two relights, allowed a slight sweetness (Virginia?) to pop in, and lessened the aftertaste. Though it's not quite four-star-worthy, it is a better smoke, and I'm now thinking I'll next fill my pipe with a Virginia.

31 March 2012 update: still have yet to try this blend in a briar, but I did try a Virginia blend. Much to my surprise, my girlfriend disliked said Virginia blend; she said the 2045 Oriental is much more pleasant. Further, it is now my belief that this tobacco makes a perfect all-day smoke. Upgraded to four stars, and one I'll keep around. I won't further update this review unless the blend changes substantially.

3 people found this review helpful.

Feetup Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Feetup (17)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Initially, I wasn't excited with this tobacco, though after having a pipe whilst reading a book I changed my opinion. It's mild, flavoursome and pleasurable. It's the sort of tobacco you smoke when you are doing something other than desiring what is in your pipe. You can detect the sweet Virginia, balanced by the Orientals and the latakia leaves a lovely smoky taste (I'd like to see a little more latakia). Nicotine is minimal. It burns to a nice grey ash, packs and burns well and no bite. The room note is tolerable. Smoked in a Peterson Dublin 999 3.5 stars

2 people found this review helpful.

snuffdog Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
snuffdog (4)
★★☆☆
Very Mild Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable

This blend with no humidifying agents, no toppings and a bit more Latakia would be approaching nirvana, considering the price. Why McC would douse something with so much potential with toppings and moisturizers is beyond me.

Drying for at least a few hours yields one of the best Oriental presentations in it's price range. Even drenched as it is, 2045 is a delicious Oriental blend if somewhat mild and low in nicotine.

McC makes some great blends, if only they would adhere to more natural methods of preservation and presentation. Their tobaccos tastes great as is.

2 people found this review helpful.

Spike Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Spike (296)
★★★☆
Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong

I bought this in bulk after having a small sample pack. One mistake I made with it was to chop it up for an easier loading of the pipe. Big mistake! It ended up much stronger than I like. The tobacco is a little on the damp side as received. Transferring it to a carry around pouch should be all you need to dry it up for a good smoke. A wonderfull "English-Oriental" smoke. P.S....I don't get the McClelland "catsup" reference at all. There may be a hint of a vinegar overtone to these tobaccos when first opened, but nothing very strong. I would definately place this tobacco in my top-ten blends of all, maybe top five.

09/26/2004Update: I no longer smoke this much. I think I overdid the Oriental thing and find this to be a bit pedestrian now. A little too mono-flavored for me now. Still it is a quality Oriental that is avaiable in any quantity. For someone who enjoys this type of tobac, this could be your all-day smoke.

Update 11/27/2006: Good for a change of pace.

2 people found this review helpful.

Pipestud Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipestud (1005)
★★★☆
Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant

A sample of #2045 was included with a tobacco order a year or so ago and in retrospect, I let it sit on the shelf far too long. I assumed it would be another typical tasting blend for this genre, but I was wrong.

#2045 is mysterious. It certainly has a "typical" Oriental taste, but there is an added top coating of some sort that I rather enjoyed. It burns off quickly though and settles into a somewhat soft yet sturdy smoke over the lower half of the bowl.

Because my sample was so dry, it burned quickly. Others here indicate it is quite moist right out of the tin. The Latakia presence is very subdued, allowing the taste of the Orientals and Virginia leaf to drive this bus. It has a sweet taste (in a natural sort of way) that I found to be quite good.

2 people found this review helpful.

SteelCowboy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
SteelCowboy (513)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild Mild Pleasant

McClelland’s “2045 Oriental Mixture” has a pouch scent that would reflect its namesake. It also has a bit of a “clove like” smell although that may not be the correct comparison. After a bit of dry time, 2045 presents itself mildly in the pipe. I am not a huge fan of the term like “crossover” used when describing a blend that technically, in a pure sense is an aromatic. But I think “crossover” is a fitting description here. It is mild, lightly sweet, with a nice Oriental flavor. But it wouldn’t be my cup of tea. I think that 2045 is a great smoke for those looking to move on from aromatics toward English or Oriental blends. I also think that 2045 is a decent bulk offering, however when you consider some of the amazing and sometimes rare Orientals that McClelland has in some of their tinned blends, it falls to the lower end of the scale.

1 person found this review helpful.

THESSALONIAN Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
THESSALONIAN (22)
★★★☆
Mild Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

This is one of my first english. It's very good. Smooth and good flavor.

1 person found this review helpful.

Pipe4ever Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipe4ever (198)
★★★☆
Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant

This is an oriental blend, top flavored with maple like aroma, sweetened and with some humidifying agents, generously added to keep it moist for 2 year, in opened jar, in my drawer.

The smoke is very smooth, sweet, elegant, nicely flavored with some topping which I find very pleasant, the dominant flavor is the Turkish, then comes the Virginia, the Latakia is alomost impossible to be detected.

I was very pleased with this blend and I would highly recommend it as for an introduction to English blends.

1 person found this review helpful.

7formy1911 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
7formy1911 (36)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I loaded up an Irwin's Lovat about a week ago with the intent of smoking the 2045 that night. Well, it didn't happen and life got crazy as it tends to do and so a week later I finally got around to putting match to tobacco. Upon first light I was greeted with a very nutty and smooth puff of smoke with a background of spice (think Christmas spices) and a whiff of latakia. This is quite a revelation for me because typically orientals and I don't get along. Balkan Supreme and Red Rapparee are two I've smoked and just don't jive well with my tongue and throat. They were too acrid and it felt like somebody shaved the inside of my throat and threw after shave on it. Just a bit too much for me. I figured it would be the same with 2045 but thankfully that isn't the case. The smoke was quite smooth, flavorful, not overpowering and the orientals were not acrid at all but quite sweet all while the latakia is quite in the background giving a nice smokey undertone. Tongue bite was pretty much non-existant except for puffing a little hard on the relights. I'm also quite glad I let the tobacco dry out for a week. It seems quite wet and takes a while to dry but to be honest I think it helps the smoke. There was a bit of wetness in the heel but for the most part it smoked down with only a couple of gurgles which were my fault for too rapid of a cadence. Nothing a pipe cleaner can't handle. The description of soft, sweet and rich certainly are applicable to this blend. I quite enjoy it and can certainly recommend this to anyone both new to pipe smoking and veterans as well. If you're looking for a lat bomb go elsewhere but if you would enjoy a sweet, very slightly smokey tobacco that has a rich flavor then this will work out perfectly for you.

UPDATE 3/22/10: This blend has lost favor with me. The topping seems to be too much and the constant wet heel has become a nuisance. There are better blends out there but the price does balance that out a bit. Somewhat recommended and if it works for your palette and pocket book then I would stock up on it.

1 person found this review helpful.

TGA49 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
TGA49 (5)
★★★★
Very Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant

Having smoked aromatics, I wanted to venture into English and this was a superb starting point. It is soft and does not bite which is the most important thing for me. I have tried many English blends but usually come back to 2045 or my favorite 5110. Both are a great all day smoke and buying by the bulk saves a lot. In order of my English rotation; Penzance, 5110, 2045. Some have said that 5110 is similar to Frog Morton and I agree. My next venture is conquering Virginia's. Try 2045 and 5110 they are great tobacco products.

1 person found this review helpful.

Kerdy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Kerdy (43)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This was my first Oriental tobacco that I know of. I certainly had a different idea in mind of what it would be like. It was a nice surprise. I really enjoyed this!

The sample I received was very moist when I loaded it into the pipe. Thought this would turn out to be a real problem, but after about 3-4 relights; the moisture level was not a real problem. Seemed to burn a little uneven because of it, but didn't go out.

Very clean tasting to me. Smelled and tasted like what I imagine people used to smoke all the time. I enjoyed it very much!

I may have to see if this comes in bulk and stock up on some. (Its a joke! I know it comes in bulk&)

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Country Gentleman Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Country Gentleman (28)
★★☆☆
Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

A bit boring and non descript. Cool and smooth but almost flavorless. Easy to smoke. Pete Stoke's bulk oriental/english/balkan/whatever blends are just as cost effective and a little more enjoyable than this one.

Maybe better with age?

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Big bad Jon Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Big bad Jon (232)
★★★☆
Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

If you are making the transition from aromatics to English tobaccos this might be a good starting point. You can really taste the Oriental and Carolina tobacco in this mixture, they are sweet soft and very cool burning, the Latakia is very mild and just adds enough smokiness to be considered an English blend. This blend burns slowly and very cool, its akin to a light beer rather than a Guinness stout. I like this blend in the mid morning and on hot summer days and surely you will too. I can appreciate it for what it is but I prefer a stronger more full body tobacco blend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

constantsmoker Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
constantsmoker (63)
★★★☆
Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

For the piper looking to ease his/her way into VA/Latakia/Oriental blends, #2045 is a good starting point. The Latakia 'presence' is reserved and does not overpower the Orientals and VA in this blend. Pretty much what you'd expect from something called 'Oriental Mixture'. I can only characterize the aroma from the pouch as an appealing spice and fruity combination. The moisture level was fine, and the tobacco lit up promptly and burned evenly. An enjoyable smoke. I would suggest a sampling of all of McClelland's 2000-series blends to gain an appreciation of the blender's craft and experience a surprising range of tobacco tastes.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

lensman Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
lensman (30)
★★★☆
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

This pipe-weed came as part of a sampler I ordered from pipesandcigars.com. I don't think I would have tried it otherwise, and that would have been my loss. 2045 is a very pleasant surprise and a wonderful smoke. The first of the bowl is naturally sweet, not at all cloying. By mid bowl, Orientals slip in with a soft spice. Many Orientals come across as acrid to my taste, reminding me of the regrettable Camel cigarette smoking days of my earlier years. But not this one! By the last third of the bowl, I take notice of the heretofore subdued latakia. A friendly blend all the way through. I look forward to aging some.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Wolfpaw Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Wolfpaw (37)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

I enjoy McClelland 2045 as a change of pace from my usual full English and Balkan mixtures; there's just a hint of Latakia in this mixture. Its initial pouch aroma is the typical vinegary McClelland scent, but that dissipates quickly, replaced by a vaguely chocolaty, spicy scent. These notes of chocolate with a hint of cinnamon come through as the tobacco is smoked, blending well with the natural flavors of the Oriental tobaccos. 2045 is slightly sweet, but not cloyingly so. It lights well and stays lit (once the tobacco is allowed to dry out slightly), and it doesn't bite. The room note is pleasant, just this side of an aromatic tobacco. I like this one best for an after-dinner pipe.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pipeline Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipeline (206)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

I concur with another reviewer that this has little or no aroma in the bag, though I do detect a dark, fruit topping lacing these dark, broken flakes.

This tastes better with less moisture than as it arrives (i.e. very moist). this smokes better for me a little rubbed out IMO. Even rubbed out, I made several charring passes. Once aflame, it remains so.

The first two thirds of the bowl are all about Virginias and Turkish, deepening in flavor as the smoke progresses. The top dressing diminishes over this same course, but never completely.

Overall, the latakia is barely discernable against heavier doses of stoved flue-cured and Turkish leaf until the last third of the bowl. Even then, the latakia is just smidge.

While not providing bright flavors, this can get a bit sharp if not smoked slowly and gently. Your tongue will demand this anyhow. The Turkish is not soft like the Frog series, nor is it acrid ala Balkan Sasieni, Dunhill or Crown Achievement. The sweetness present is moderate and not apparently assisted by man.

Compare this to Royal Vintage Blended Flake without the perique or the now deceased Ashton Brindle Flake. Perhaps a bit like 221B Black Shag, though lighter overall, and BS is untopped and sans latakia. I will compare it to Arcadia from the same series. This is moderately rich, pleasant and an ok change-up for me. The added aromatic agent keeps this from a higher recommendation.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Darth 69 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Darth 69 (76)
★☆☆☆
Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is way too moist for an english mixture.Too much of whatever hygroscopic compund McClelland is using. This is such a disgrace to do this to such a tobacco. Almost by definition english blends are supposed to be dry. However it has characteristic McClelland english flavors but the moister level mutes everything, especially the latikia. I don't no what the point is to smoking this inferior product.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Rusty Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Rusty (38)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I tried this blend based on its description, seeking something with a little latakia and a taste on the sweet side. Like its cousin 2050 it was a bit wet on arrival, and bearing a more typical McC ketchupy aroma. Air drying for a day improved on that and left behind a prune-like scent, though not one as strong as 2050. I could not detect latakia in the pouch. The smoke was mild, fairly sweet, soft and smooth with no bite or harshness. The room aroma was quite nice, not too cloying. Not the driest blend I've ever tried, a couple of dips of the pipe cleaner were necessary to ward off the gurgles. Overall, a decent crossover type blend, worth a try, but not a blend I would buy again.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

ArtGuy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
ArtGuy (8)
★★★★
Medium Mild Full Very Pleasant

As others have said, this blend packs very easily, stays lit and is trouble free. What struck me about it is the wonderful and unique aroma out of the bag. I get more complements on the room note with this blend than any other I smoke.

With some age on it, this blend is extraordinary but it is also very very good right out of the gate. I do not know why McClelland is not more well known for thier oriental blends. In my opinion this is one of the best blends available by any company anywhere.

Do yourself a favor and try this.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

birdie Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
birdie (2)
★★★★
Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

Used to pure virginias I thought I would try something that was a little moore kind to my tongue. As somewhat of a novice to mixtures I bought a sampler with several of McClellands bulk tobaccos.

The 2045 Oriental Mixture was a big surprise, gentle and sweet with a steady taste of orientals all through the bowl.

It burned nice and clean all the way down.

This is a bulk tobacco that will have it's place as a regular friend in my collection.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

NEWMAN Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
NEWMAN (263)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant

I only had a small sample of this blend but will get more on my next tobacco order. I find it an interesting change from my normal straight VAs, especially in hot weather. A mild, soft taste results in an enjoyable, but not an all day smoke for me. After meals, I prefer something stronger. The orientals' overtones are balanced with just a hint of latakia. However, the room aroma was complemented by non-smokers which has not been the case for me with other blends with a higher % of latakia. Easy to light and keep lit. A smooth, cool smoke without a hint of bite. I think that this one will be quite forgiving of varied packing and smoking techniques and look forward to my next bulk delivery.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Briar Snob Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Briar Snob (10)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

I purchased this tobacco more than a year ago in the hopes that it would be a good introduction into Oriental leafs. The pouch fragrance was, like other McClelland brands, rather acidic like vinegar or ketchup, yet somewhat interesting. Upon finishing a bowl full, I decided this tobacco was not for me. Yet, a year later, the flavor has changed significantly to the point where the tobacco has mellowed and is fairly pungent and sweet. It has latakia in it, yet one would barely notice. Instead, one would think cavendish was present, which it is not. Overall, it is a simple smoke perfect for mowing the lawn with or simply relaxing and not wanting to concentrate on a smoke.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

lustra Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
lustra (170)
★★★☆
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable

Like McClelland 2040, this is a very soft, almost gentle, smoke. It is an excellent tobacco for working as it demands nothing much from the smoker, while producing clouds of tasty, soft smoke. While not terribly complex, this is just so easy to smoke and has such a good flavor that I keep some around for times when I don't want to have to bother much with what I'm smoking. It is a very reliable friend in that regard. I do not notice any large degree of "development" in this smoke, but as I'm not looking for any, I'm happy. This is just a good, calm writing companion and should do well for anyone looking for a nice, soft, undemanding "working smoke."

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Tbombadil Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Tbombadil (11)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

This is some wierd stuff. I first tried it a little over a year ago when I was looking for something that would sort of be a crossover from Va and Va/periques to more traditional English blends. At that time I was quite impressed and felt that the light latakia/oriental overtones contrasted really well against the Virginia base. I also felt that the blend, as is the case with most McC bulks, was rather raw and could stand some aging. So I bought some and jarred it. I'm now sampling the stuff one year on. Geuss what? It's changed.

Upon opening the jar I'm greeted by a fruity aroma, almost but not quite like the famous McC tin aroma. Upon intitial lighting I'm finding that the orientals have merged with the Virginias amost to the point of disappearing. I'm sort of wishing that this were 2040 with it's heavier dose of latakia at this point.

The middle of the smoke isn't bad with some spiced fruit overtones. By the end of the bowl it settles down into another decent Viginia. All in all I guess this is almost two reviews in one. If you're interested in something to help you develope a taste for orientals smoke this stuff new. If you want more of an aromatic crossover type smoke buy some and age it.... assuming you still haven't "crossed over" in another year.

Nobody has rated this review yet.