W.O. Larsen Golden Dream

(3.00)
Hand picked Virginia and black cavendish blended with pressed and matured burley. Finished with a sweet maple note.

Details

Brand W.O. Larsen
Blended By Orlik
Manufactured By Scandinavian tobacco group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Maple
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 frams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
1

6

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
A nice tobacco this. Tin note is dried fruit and a hint of vanilla. Upfront flavour is the sweet and fresh topping. The undertones of the Virginia and Burley tobacco flavours are present. Nicotine strength is on the strong side of medium. Room aroma is a little disappointing, a bit vanilla air freshener-esque. It also has a slight bite to it.

I found this whilst on a European road trip, the 50g pouch I bought had gone within a few days. I now get it shipped to me from Germany and have it permanently in stock. It's my choice of tobacco when I want a sweet flavoured nicotine kick. At £14 for a 100g tin, it's pretty reasonably priced for the quality tobacco that it is.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: From fresh to approx 6 months.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Yet another fine blend from the redoubtable W.O Larsen's stable.

This one was a very welcome gift from my son, who brought it back from Spain (at half the price from anywhere else). Naturally, as we all know, you can't get anything other than Larson's No. 32 in Britain.

A bright, light fragrance greets you on opening the pouch. No idea what it is. Not floral, more caramel and something else sweet.

The opening light brings much of this to the fore, but quickly dies away, leaving a smooth, very mild sweet smoke, but it is clear this is a quality blend. Not outstanding or original but highly palatable and an easy all-day smoke, to be picked up time and time again.

I will certainly be exploring this excellent range of tobaccos.
Pipe Used: All of them
PurchasedFrom: Spanish tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I picked up the golden dream on whim from a local pipe and tobacco store. To be honest I was having second thoughts considering how bad my experience is with aromatics. However I am glad that I got it. off the pouch a beautiful smell of bright Virginia and the sweetness of the maple topping was evident. First light was surprising good, a very enjoyable taste and nicotine hit. No tongue bite what so ever, however the tobacco does smoke hot and fast. Midway through the bowl the flavor disappears and you are left with a plane honest tobacco flavor. I would definitely recommend people to try it.
Pipe Used: db pipe
PurchasedFrom: local department store
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2012 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Strong
When you start to smoke the taste is good. But when comes the half of the bowl, the nicotine strength is too overwhelming. So I must smoke in two times to don't disgust me. I recommend that tobacco for those who like a rather strong nicotine strength without heavy taste.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I found this blend to be a pleasant smoke.

A very smooth smoke, a taste that wasn't harsh nor too mild. Did not bore and did not bite the tongue.

the tobacco burnt clean to ashes, no charring or other undesirable traits.

I'd recommend it as a nice balanced smoke during the day. The nicotine level can be a bit overwhelming.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2023 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
When a little bird told me a box of W.O. L got shipped to Hungary I immedietaly ran to try it out. A bit pricy, of course, but I was willing to sacrifice that, as I will be willing after that.
Pouch note is incredible, virginia and cavendish scents hinted with some sweet topping I was unable to identify. Lights up easily, burns in a nice medium tempo, would burn to ash nicely but I tend to finish it a bit earlier. In any case, try to smoke it in a slower pace. Be aware, it dries quickly and tends to bite more, do not let it dry more than just a tiny bit.
Immerse tastes of maple and honey as a start, strong but don't dominate the pleasant taste of cavendish. Hints of hay-like virga is also sensable. This lasts until around mid bowl, zenithing just before that, afterwards the toppings disappear, leaving a bold yet pleasant Cavendish blend. Burley comes around by that point, giving it an earthy, grounded taste after the biteable sweetness of the toppings, virginia also becomes more apparent.
Pair it whatever you like, a pleasant, all day smoke with fantastic overtones at start, and a truly enjoyable non-aro blend by the end. Nicely composed blend, absolutely recommended.
Pipe Used: Nameless briars
PurchasedFrom: Gallwitz pipe shop's traffic
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 13, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
This tobacco deserves its name.

Golden Dream is the one I use right before going to sleep mainly because it adds a very pleasant room note.

Burns nicely, just the right strength, recommended for a night cap pipe.
Pipe Used: Danske Club nr. 84
Age When Smoked: fresh from tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Vyl
Dec 27, 2013 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Honey, sweet, dessert like smell in the pouch.

Not too overly sweet, honey-like taste. The taste changes halfways, not in a bad way though, to a more "honest" tobacco taste, the former flavoring taking a backseat.

I wouldn't call the nic strength overwhelming, but certainly more than your usual aromatic.

I mostly smoke Virginias/Burleys/English blends, but this aromatic is nearly always in my rotation, and I could see it as an all-day smoke.

Recommended
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"