Reviews: 58599 Tobaccos: 5068What's NewLoginRegister
Product Image

-

A distinctive blend of aged cube cut Burley. An old fashioned slow burning tobacco with a naturally pleasant aroma, and no added sweeteners.

BrandPipeworks & Wilke
Blended ByCarole Burns
Blend TypeBurley Based
ContentsBurley
FlavoringNone
CutCube
PackagingBulk
CountryUS
ProductionNo longer in production
Product Image
Strength
Mild to Medium
Flavoring
None Detected
Taste
Medium
Room Note
Pleasant

Favorite Of 4 Users

3.4
35 reviews
Reviews
4 star:
22
3 star:
6
2 star:
6
1 star:
1
Sort By
Please login to review this blend.
ravkesef Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
ravkesef (10)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant

Let's start by taking Carole's word for it that this is a straight Burley with no additives in it whatsoever. If this is an accurate statement, then Carole has really hit the sweet spot with this tobacco. But burleys are typically classed as having a "nutty flavor" and this tobacco satisfies that criterion to a T. To be sure, other reviewers have detected flavoring agents, and even the addition of some foreign (i.e., non-burley) leaf. Perhaps they are right, but my impression is burley with perhaps a touch of honey. The initial light brings a touch of sweetness to the front, and after a few minutes the honey-like taste begins to grow, while the nuttiness of the burley kicks in. These two tastes remain throughout most of the bowl, with nothing else added, as this is a relatively uncomplicated tobacco which relies entirely on maintaining the two tastes throughout the smoke, something it does very well. Toward the end, the taste becomes a bit stronger, and if you're not a dottle smoker, this would be a good time to quit. Smoking it to the end is a difficult task, as the dottle becomes thicker and heavier, too moist to keep going to the bottom without some effort. Please keep in mind that I've had this tobacco in my cellar for over a year, so there must be a humectant present to keep the tobacco this moist. Smoking through the dottle I found that the sweet, nutty taste had disappeared entirely, leaving behind a characteristic tobacco taste with no other distinguishing characteristics. At the end, I was left with a dark gray ash, with a few shreds of unburned tobacco. Overall, I found the tobacco remarkably pleasant, and I will keep this in my rotation. If you're a burley lover, my recommendation would be to enjoy this tobacco and it's remarkable taste, but once the taste begins to get a bit stronger, don't continue because the remarkable flavor of this tobacco will dissipate-- unless, of course, you're passionate about building cake all the way to the bottom.

Pipe Used: Mark Tinsky bent poker

Age When Smoked: 1 year

Purchased From: Pipeworks and Wilke

2 people found this review helpful.

aadelma Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
aadelma (55)
★★☆☆
Medium Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant

This is by no means the best burley blend I've ever tried, but it is the most unusual. It's a burley that thinks its a Va. It must be smoked slowly or it will bite and the flavor will not be very noticeable. It packs and burns well due to the cube cut. The nicotine level is moderate for a burley blend and it doesn't get harsh towards the bottom. I don't know why people describe this and other burley blends as nutty; it tastes like tobacco to me! Despite it's high quality, I didn't get much flavor out of this blend, so it really didn't hold my interest. Apparently I like my burley spiced with other tobaccos rather than just straight burley like this. If you like very delicate tobaccos, you will enjoy this, but for full flavor, Wilke offers much better burley blends than this.

Update 5/31/2008 - This blend has been discontinued by Wilke. I find Peretti 333 to be very similar and more interesting due to the inclusion of some matured VA.

2 people found this review helpful.

Pipestud Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipestud (1005)
★★★☆
Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant

Now here's a Burley I have not thought about in quite some time. I purchased a half pound of the stuff perhaps 2-3 years ago and smoked a bunch of it and shared it with my pipe club. We all agreed that this is the Rolls Royce of bulk Burleys!

If you enjoy a good Burley every now and then (and I certainly do), but seldom sample new stuff because you don't like that bitter Burley finish (and I certainly don't), then punch this ticket. You might detect the smidgen of Virginia & Turkish leaf tossed in if you try hard, but frankly, this is overwhelmingly top shelf Burley!

Pipeworks & Wilke's most famous blend, Nut Brown Burley is cool, slow burning, and projects to the smoker a crisp, all tobacco taste. Best of all, it is sweet and nutty right down to the bottom of the bowl. (Unless, of course, you are smoking a cheap pipe. If that's the case, even this delightful weed can't help you).

2 people found this review helpful.

LV9 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
LV9 (59)
★☆☆☆
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Tolerable

Burley, and probably Maryland, I hate to said this but me and this blend did not get along it bites like an ill tempered virginia this might be to body chemistry, I have not been able to coaxed a gentle smoked out of this one so I decided to move on unto better and more friendly blends,

1 person found this review helpful.

JimInks Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
JimInks (647)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant

A truly wonderful burley based blend with a little Virginia, and what appears to be a touch of black cavendish. Notes of earth, lots of nuttiness, a slight hint of maple, a little grassy, and a mild, pleasant molasses sweetness that burns well, evenly, and is delicious to the last ember. You can smell the toastiness of the burley, and certainly taste it. Despite the description, this does have a extremely mild topping, and I know black cavendish when I taste it. Very mild and relaxing, whether you start your day or end your day with it, or smoke it all day! If you see somebody hate this, shoot 'em quickly! They may be invading alien zombies from another planet. ;) Okay okay... you don't have to shoot them. Just let them smoke a bowl of this blend, and they'll go away contented like a Carnation cow.

1 person found this review helpful.

Gordy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Gordy (16)
★★☆☆
Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant

A fine natural Burley! Just the right amount of nutty natural sweetness. A mild cool smoke!

1 person found this review helpful.

Sojang Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Sojang (13)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

I had high hope for this blend, alas it was not to be. Well made of high grade tabacco. However nothing special here. Scotty's Butter Nut Burley is much better

1 person found this review helpful.

DUPE.1512 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DUPE.1512 (196)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable

NBB has a delicious aroma and is asthetically pleasing to look at. This has enough broadcut in it to burn real slow and cool which is good, because this has to be sipped very slow or it will bite. The flavor is raisiney and of maple syrup and gingerbread with a toasty very subtle nutty undertone. The only thing I did not like about NBB is that I expected something much better after reading the reviews here. I never got a consistant flavor out of it through the entire 8 ounces I ordered. While it is a good burley, its just not good enough to justify its high pricetag. 2 out of 4.

1 person found this review helpful.

cruelraoul Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
cruelraoul (24)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is indeed great burley. Burley lovers really should give this a try. I enjoy burley from time-to-time, and this is one of the best pure burleys I have found. The people at the store are friendly, too! As indicated from others, if you are gentle with this tobacco, you can avoid the bitter tendencies, and have a more rewarding experience.

1 person found this review helpful.

dedalto Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
dedalto (18)
★★★★
Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

This stuff is why we smoke pipes. NBB requires only a pipe and a light and one is off to bliss. It requires no special prep. It is suitable for all day or whenever you want/. It is a fine sweet smoke. It is more sweet than strong. But handle with care, it does have nicotine punch. I enjoy smoking this with wild abandon before bed. You will sink to a beautiful repose.

It has a sweet nutty taste and it burns slow. It really is the perfect smoke for old codgers who remember what burley used to be. 4 stars.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

furious Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
furious (29)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

Great Burley blend here. Very high quality tobacco is evident from the pouch aroma to the last few puffs at the end of the bowl. Really like the cube cut in here. Had absolutely no problem keeping it lighted and it smoked clean all the way down. No dottle to speak of. Rounded rich burley notes present in abundance. Cannot really taste the Va. that is supposed to be here. Just awesome aged burley with a room note that reminded me of grandpa's pipe.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

DK Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DK (577)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

What does someone write about a tobacco when he's been "scooped" by another reviewer? He writes "See Bard of Christ's review below."

Except for not noticing any overt nicotine punch, my review agrees with BOC's, except he wrote it better than I could.

This one is going into my regular rotation. Nice, congenial burley blend. Excellent!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Bard of Christ Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Bard of Christ (9)
★★★★
Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant

In the pouch, this tobacco smells like timothy hay. It is sweet and grassy and brings "the country" to mind. This is a burley characteristic, but this blend blows all the others out of the water!

The cut makes it suitable for any size pipe. It packs easily and lights without fuss. I've never had trouble keeping this blend lit. It burns down to a darker gray ash.

The flavor of this tobacco is simple and straightforward, which is what most burley smokers want. It starts sweet, but not like candy at all, more like sweet corn. The sweetness dwindles as the bowl progresses, but this burley never gets harsh or sour, even when pushed. Be warned, though -- this tobacco has a nice nicotene punch! It's an iron fist in a silk glove, so unless you're used to it this is not an all-day smoke.

The most remarkable aspect of this tobacco is the room note! It smells like roasting tree nuts -- some say chestnuts, I say hazelnuts. For a tobacco with no detectable casing or flavoring, it sure smells nice! NBB is great for social situations where folks may be sensitive to strong tobacco aromas, but will tolerate aromatics. This blend is aromatic without being an aromatic!

To compare NBB to a beverage, I would liken it to Newcastle or Smithwick's Ale. Utterly approachable, elegant in its simplicity, and of top-notch quality. Highly recommended!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

WmZiggy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
WmZiggy (66)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant

Now that Edgeworth Ready Rub is gone its been time to look for a substitute. Although nothing will be an exact match, I was pleased to learn that NBB was back - Carole had pulled it off the shelf until quality issues could be resolved. Well, issues must have been resolved because this is a nice smoke.

It is a pleasing presentation of a well broken cube cut - a crimp cut, if you will, with the addition of short ribbons of leaf. Most Burley blends have some Virginia, Maryland and Turkish leaf additions for the qualities each bring to White Burley. One can only guess what the short ribbons in this blend are. Compared to ERR, any maple casing is turned way down in this blend.

NBB has a wonderful Burley room note, and the taste, though turned down from ERR, has a subtle nutty sweetness. I especially like that NBB doesn't get bitter toward the bottom of the bowl, which speaks to the quality of leaf used here. It lights easily and stays lit. I found it cool burning and it did not bite my tongue. Although not an exact match of an old favorite, I highly recommend this to Burley smokers or those looking for an ERR substitute.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

SopwithCamel Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
SopwithCamel (255)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Certainly one of the best Burley blends you can find.

It has a deep earthy, nuttiness to it. It smells like good tobacco should too. I detect no casing on this at all.

No problems with bite, or bitterness.

If you love Burley, this is a good Burley to love...

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Young Piper Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Young Piper (86)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Mild Very Pleasant

7/24/2014 - Wow I have been updating my review for NBB for over a decade and I am sad to say that I just spoke to Carole and NBB is indeed gone forever. I asked her when it will be back and her exact words in an email were "NBB is not coming back" So that's it folks, when someone says stock up now on your favorite blend believe it since one day it might not be available. I fondly look back on receiving pounds of NBB and the aroma that accompanied them over the last decade +. Time to switch to Uhle's # 44 or Watch City's Crumb Burley....

2011 - Just wanted to update yet again that the pounds i bought in 2008 have improved with the extra age. I do not believe burleys improve with age but the small amount of virginia and turkish have melded over the last three years and its ever more exquisite. A day without NBB is a sad day indeed. Stock up...

08/20/2008 NBB is back and it is just as good as it has always been. I have been waiting for months for Carole to aquire the correct ingredients and she has them now. I plan to order several pounds and celler them just in case.

Original review - 08/03/2004

This is absolutley the finest burley. Everyone in my home likes the smell......and the taste is exquisite. Carole at Wilke's is a very pleasant shopkeeper and the tobacco is all quality. Cant go wrong. Cool, rich and a good blend when my King Eider has destroyed my tongue. Wonderful chestnut aroma in my Cob! April: This is now my everyday, at work smoke. Every batch is consistent and always at the perfect moisture level. It smokes best when dry, i leave some in a bowl on my desk, about a weeks worth.

Recently added some Christmas Cheer and made my own version of Half and Half but better. Yum!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pagercat Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pagercat (41)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

Is this the best Burley I've ever smoked? Nope. Is this the best blend I have ever smoked? Nope. So what is it that makes me want to smoke this almost exclusively? I have no idea!

Perhaps it is because simplicity can be so beautiful, this Burley is very enjoyable. The four-ounce bag I received had some cubes and lots of leaves, nice and light brown in color with just the right moisture content. The smell in the bag is great...like fresh baked cookies. Packing and lighting is easy due to the cut and moisture levels.

The flavor is very mild, although I am used to Edgeworth Sliced, and the characteristic grassy taste of good Burley is prominently in the front. While enjoying the initial grassy element, the background keeps it full by providing a clean creamy finish with a mild nutty flavor. There is no bitterness, it smokes dry and down to a very fine ash.

UPDATE: 4/25/09 A few years later I am still enjoying this tobacco and now consider it my main blend. In the right pipe Nut Brown Burley is what I hope Heaven is.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Ego Archive Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Ego Archive (14)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant

I smoked this while wandering downtown, and really I picked this one for an out and about tobacco, as I knew that being burly, I wouldn't have to futz around with it in the wind. I wasn't disappointed, it lit, and smoked, and smoked and smoked.

I like that this tobacco has a nice sweetness to the smoke, but it isn't heavy enough in the casing to interfer with the burly's superb ability to just keep trucking. I ended up setting the pipe down, about half way through the bowl, and coming back to it later. Even after sitting around it hadn't really soured and was really much as it was before I set it down. My only real downside for this tobacco was that I really didn't get any "Nut" flavor, or at least not any more then I have come to expect with a burly. Other then that little gripe, I would say this would be a fine addition to my rotation, and it really shows what a fine burly can be like.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Zone Smoke Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Zone Smoke (199)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Undoubtedly the highest quality straight burley available. It's expensive, but worth it.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

wordmerchant Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
wordmerchant (16)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant

Update 10/28/2006:

This is one of my top three favs. I included a sample of this in a recent "deserted island" box pass and it received highly favourable reviews all around.

This certainly isn't Prince Albert, and to compare it so is a sad reflection of someone with terribly abused taste buds.

This is what burly is all about: depth, interplay of different burleys and nuances for the sophisticated palate.

Original:

I recently placed my first order with Carole Burns at Pipeworks & Wilke (a four by two ounce sampler pack) and Nut Brown Burley immediately emerged as my favourite.

This delectable, dark and rich tobacco is exactly what I have longed for my pipe and self to experience. This blend is far from monochromatic. Though not sweetened, I detect chocolate and coffee notes, and there?s a creamy richness to the experience that offers the similar gastronomical reward of finishing a well-served steak.

This is the only tobacco that I?ve ever experienced where I wish I had a pipe that could accommodate a one pound load. And from a fellow who sips his tobacco out of smaller pipes, this is quite the compliment.

Nut Brown Burley is certainly a burley smoker?s dream.

I?ve got a beautiful 100-year-old tobacco jar just waiting for a pound of this tobacco. The second pound of my order will cellar for a year. This tobacco is now a staple of my diet.

This is an exceptional, mellow smoke that I whole heartily recommend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Talonr1701 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Talonr1701 (119)
★★★★
Mild Very Mild Medium Pleasant

This is the quintessential burley blend. All the blends that report the flavor is nut like aren?t as nut like as this one. Smooth taste, full mouth feel, no bite. Stays consistent to the bottom of the bowl, leaves no goop, and it cashes out as a nice white ash. The only downside is not quite enough punch for me. However that does seem to be par for the course in strict burley blends. A definite do again.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

lustra Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
lustra (170)
★★★☆
Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Without a doubt, the best Burley I've ever smoked. Mixed 50% with any good ribbon-cut Virginia, NBB makes an excellent half-and-half. Since I'm a Virginia tobacco snob, I seldom smoke NBB "straight up" but I smoke it daily as a blend component. The only Burley that comes close to NBB, in my opinion, is MacBaren's London Blend. I find NBB better for my purposes, though, since it has less casing than the MacBaren offering. I can't imagine the dedicated Burley smoker finding a better tobacco anywhere.

Update 9 Match 2006: Having smoked another half pound of NBB, I have found that it nearly always leaves my mouth with the same scoured feeling I sometimes get with McClelland blends. NBB remains tasty, and of quality, but it does not, apparently, agree with my tongue. Too bad.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pipeline Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipeline (206)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant

This is a remarkable, outstanding blend. Cool, rich, enveloping and thoroughly surprising. Surprising, because Nut Brown Burley does not profile as one would expect a basically Burley mixture to taste if a pipe smoker has tried the better known cheap to epic Burley blends available.

Hardly monochromatic, yet it does not require a sophisticated palate to appreciate. I detect that spicier leaf bolsters this. There is a Dominican cigar leaf effect, perhaps from a particular Burley, maybe from Turkish leaf, or perhaps cigar wrapper. I do not know. I do not get much nuttiness or sweetness either, but the flavor is round, smooth and washes the palate without overwhelming it. There is also a dry effect not unlike a cigar. I enjoyed this more than Edgeworth Sliced in every way and it is much cooler, less impacting than Dark Strong Kentucky from Orlick.

I like this best in briar and pack it firmly for a long, dry and refreshing smoke. Worthy of dedicating a pipe or two to keep this pure, unobstructed.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Danno Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Danno (87)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant

I am working my way through four ounces of Nut Brown Burley, one of Carol's, at Pipeworks and Wilke's, best sellers. Many tobaccos achieve popularity, and not always because they merit it, but NBB is a fine specimen. I am not as well versed in burley as I should be so my comments can be taken or left...Pouch aroma is sweet and rich, rather like a pastry of sorts, with a myriad of cuts tumbling about the bag. Tobacco is humid, so I let her dry before I consume (a blend this interesting has to be a "her"). Lightup is at once sweet and mildly acrid, settling down very shortly into a solid continuum of dense and "creamy" smoke. This blend does not coat my palate in the sense of a Dunhill english, but rather washes in and out, like the gentle action of the ocean at dusk. Relights tend to be bitter but not for long. The flavor remains remarkably consistent throughout the bowl, gaining a smidgen of strength at the bottom, where the smoke darkens and wisps away. I understand that previous reviewers have found the key player (burley, burley, burley) a trifle monochromatic, but I find it a savoury reprieve after years of trying every blend under the sun. On a side note, the room aroma is entrancing, akin to burnt caramel coffee...Well done Carol.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

lensman Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
lensman (30)
★★★★
Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable

The cut is mostly cubed, with a very few short ribbons. These cubes are softer than the rock-hard variety I've seen elsewhere. Remarkably easy to load into the pipe, tamps down nicely, burns evenly to the end. Tobacco color is a medium brown with a lighter shade dotted here and there. Pouch aroma is pleasantly sweet and, true to its name, nutty. I, too, detect a hint of maple.

This blend offers a friendly puff from the start. No wading through half a bowl for rewarding draws. The solid, quality burley taste it offers the smoker is amongst the finest experiences around. The sweetness of the pouch aroma carries through to the smoke itself. There are subtle layers of flavor to be found; I did not find this to be a monochromatic blend. But the smoker needn't ponder Nut Brown Burley to enjoy it -- it warmly walks right up to you whether you're thinking about it or not.

I've smoked it in briar and meerschaum, small and medium bowls, and it worked its magic equally well in each.

My hat's off to P&W for a masterful, high quality, throughly enjoyable blend. I'll keep a supply of this at the ready.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Tom Bruce Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Tom Bruce (19)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

This is not a bad smoke by any means, just a johnny-one-note. The taste is typical of a good burley, but from the first puff to the last, there is no subtlety. To me there is no nuttiness. I enjoy blended tobacco, aromatic or not, and even though the blender says this includes Virginia and Turkish, I taste nothing beyond the burley. It smokes well, doesn't bite although the smoke is quite warm in the mouth, gives off ample smoke and continues to burn with no relights down to a very fine ash perfect for building cakes. But, I prefer more variety in flavor. I will smoke all of my 8 ounces, but when it's gone it will not be missed.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

smokey Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
smokey (120)
★★★★
Medium Very Mild Extra Full Pleasant to Tolerable

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, let me also say that this is one of the finest burleys I've ever smoked. It compares favorably with C&D Morley's Best, a burley I didn't think could ever be equaled. NBB has a bit more sweetness in the taste, which is also reflected in the room note. There may be just a bit of maple casing here, when you first light up there seems to be a faint bit of a maple undertone in the flavor. The other taste that's really noticeable is a really pleasant natural nutty flavor, hence its' name. It smokes well in all my pipes, but I have a large bent Boswell that is used exclusively for this blend. The tobacco and nicotine strength are not too high, and this makes NBB a good all day smoke. Lighting and burn characteristics are both above average, too. NBB is a fairly expensive bulk tobacco, with the price of a pound at $33.00. Carol is nice to deal with and gets her orders out quickly. Since I've gotten my pound, a lot of my other tobaccos have sat languishing. Hope they don't get jealous! Four big stars for Nut Brown.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

sasha Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
sasha (228)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant

Impressive! A completely different world from the other burley blend I've tried in the past. Absolutely not bitter, slow burning, nutty, almost sweet at times, smooth like few tobaccos around. Truly top class, magnificent, a real masterpiece.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

prison chaplain Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
prison chaplain (38)
★★★☆
Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Anyone wishing to try this lovely burley may do so at the Pipeworks & Wilke online store at the following website: http://www.vtpipes.com/

01/05/05 My half pound of NBB has been around for about six months now. I still smoke it occasionally. Its quality cannot be faulted. And I still smoke it occasionally. However, when I want a Burley, I usually choose McBaren's London Burley Blend, hence the demotion from "One of my favorites" to "smoke on occasion."

Nobody has rated this review yet.

emmbee Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
emmbee (174)
★★★☆
Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant

Cut/Appearance: Cube cut brown burley with small strands of light Cavendish Virginias and some possibly small pieces of exotic oriental tobaccos for added spice.

Casing/Aromatics: Slight detection, but probably lightly topped. Difficult to detect what flavors may be used. It has that characteristically light, sweet Wilke background.

Pouch notes: Pleasantly aromatic. Deep, rich burley quality with notes of raisins and hints of spice and molasses. I detect a similar undertone in the more aromatic, sweeter Wilke Bohemian Blend and Gotham Court.

Room/Burn notes: Burley is most pronounced. Richness of burleys come to the fore, with a deep, beautiful scent of ginger snap cookies or molasses bread. A very American, light aromatic. Because this is perfectly blended, there is no heavy or sickening sweet aroma as is the case with most commercially produced and jarred blends ala Lane Limited.

Taste: Distinctly American tobacco. Rich, raisin scented Kentucky burleys ala Sir Walter Raleigh, but more skillfully blended with finer cuts of tobacco in a more thoughtfully prepared mixture. A little tongue bite as with most burley-based blends, but it leaves a delicious taste on the tongue and the palate begging for more. The only problem that really keeps it from being a superior tobacco is that it sears the tongue, especially if smoked a little too quickly.

Comments: Easy to pack and keep lit. This is a superior burley tobacco, probably the best I?ve ever smoked. It has down home earthiness. It?s warm, toasty and inviting, like molasses bread fresh from the oven. Though I have never been to Vermont, I can almost picture the quaint shop that lovingly prepared this stuff along with the rolling, snow-capped hills, dales and forests of the surrounding area. Though I?m an English lover, shying off from aromatics, this is one blend worthy of attention. It?s probably the standard by which all burleys are measured. This would probably taste wonderful with a caramel stout.

Three of five stars

Nobody has rated this review yet.

provguy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
provguy (52)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant

I am not a regular burley smoker but I have really enjoyed Barbary Coast and Penington Gap. Nut Brown Burley is definitely a quality tobacco and is a great change of pace for me. I am a Va and Virginia/Perique lover. NBB is a very easy blend to smoke and is very enjoyable. It will not become an every day smoke for me but I will definitely enjoy it when I do. I would have to agree with Burleynut above on the qualities of this blend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

pipper Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
pipper (11)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant

"Out of all the burley joints in the world, I had to find you." This is without question, IMO, the finest burley blend ever. This blend has a wonderful pouch aroma, and the taste is even better, with a wonderfully nutty, smooth taste, in this slow burning tobacco. This has replaced Barbary Coast in my daily routine, as it has more of a natural burley taste without the brandy. If you enjoy a burley, this is the one to try. You will not be disappointed. This blend is a must have for me.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Noorrmm Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Noorrmm (193)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant

Appearance: A mixture of ribbon cut and small cubes. Color is a fairly uniform medium brown.

Aroma: Obviously a Burley, but I detect a trace of something else. It?s either a minute quantity of a sweet Oriental (Basma?), or a bit of Deer Tongue.

Packing: Packs easily into most pipes with no problem. The combination of ribbons and small cubes pack with just a light touch on the top.

Lighting: Lights easily and starts burning nicely. Sometimes no charring light.

Initial flavor: POW, the Burley here is superbly tasty. The characteristic nutty flavor is quite intense, and there is cosiderable body to the smoke.

Mid-bowl: Maintains a spontaneous burn, just breathe with the pipe. Stays cool and flavorful, with slight variations in the flavor. Needs to be tamped only lightly. This could be a great tobacco for a smoking contest.

Finish: Nice right to the end. Just a slight increase in strength. Leaves a clean gray ash.

Summary: This is the ?cream of the crop? of Burleys. Good anytime of day or night. Even a good change of pace for the Latakia guys. Call today and get some, you won?t regret it.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

burleynut Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
burleynut (2)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant

I was delighted to see that my review of NBB years ago led MShelor to this top-flight Burley blend. I used to buy it at the old Wilke store on Madison Avenue, from the beloved sisters, many more years ago than I'd like to count. And apart from its quality what impresses me is its consistency. It is also a remarkably subtle burley blend, changing flavor and richness through the smoke. Four stars, for sure.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Darwin Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Darwin (101)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Nut Brown Burley (NBB) is my favorite burley blend. I even like it better than Barbary Coast(this is a major statement for me, because I love Barbary Coast). The pouch aroma is out of this world; it almost smells good enough to eat. After realizing how good a burley can be after trying Barbary Coast this past summer, I went on an extensive search for the perfect burley blend. I found mine in NBB.

The taste is classic burley: nutty, rich, and satisfying. The description claims that the blend also contains some Virginia and Turkish tobacco. I believe them, because this blend is more complex than you would expect from a burley. NBB could also be described as slightly sweet, which might stem from the Virginia, because I don't find any clues of a topping.

Upon visual inspection, there appears to be several types of burley present, dominated by small brown cubes. I also find longer strands of light leaf and even green leaf.

If you're like me and enjoy a great burley, give NBB a try.

Nobody has rated this review yet.