Reviews: 57155 Tobaccos: 4905What's NewLoginRegister
Product Image

-

The original 19th. Century premium English Blend of the world's seven finest tobaccos.

Notes: Not walnut flavored, named for one of the oldest streets in Philadelphia.

BrandJohn Middleton, Inc
Blend TypeEnglish
ContentsBurley, Cavendish, Kentucky, Latakia, Maryland, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
FlavoringNone
CutCoarse Cut
Packaging1.5oz Pouch
CountryUS
ProductionCurrently available
Product Image
Strength
Mild to Medium
Flavoring
None Detected
Taste
Mild to Medium
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable

Favorite Of 5 Users

2.9
81 reviews
Reviews
4 star:
28
3 star:
28
2 star:
14
1 star:
11
Sort By
Please login to review this blend.
Zone Smoke Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Zone Smoke (199)
★☆☆☆
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable

First off, this is not a high grade tobacco in any sense. However, it is worth the price as long as you're not expecting a high grade english blend and don't mind smoking cardboard.

Basically, it's a mild tasting english with very little latakia. The blend is predominantly burley and that becomes evident in smoking it.

I would rate it as a step down from Lane's 10 Downing Street, not at all worth going out of your way for.

Caution should be used as this stuff will bite the piss out of you regardless of how slow you smoke it.

4 people found this review helpful.

Pipestud Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipestud (1005)
★☆☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Boy, this stuff was not easy to locate. I had been hitting the drug stores for several months with no luck, then found that I could order a tin from Iwan Ries. You have to get a bunch of it though, because they only sell it in 12 ounce cannisters.

It was, frankly, a cheap English tasting blend to me. I sure appreciated the price though. It is light and will not overwhelm the palate. I found it to be remindful of Barking Dog, although the latter was much tastier.

If you smoke multiple bowls a day and enjoy some latakia flavor in a somewhat wimpy smoke, this will be a nice addition to your rotation, especially if you keep a close eye on your pocketbook.

3 people found this review helpful.

CornCob Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
CornCob (71)
★★★☆
Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong

This was a tobacco ive seen on the shelf for years, never bought but always wanted to try.......I heard through the grapevine this blend had been discontinued by Middleton so I decided it was now or never. Milan was the last one to have it in stock after i searched high and low (and i believe i bought their last tub). It arrived lightning fast and i was very anxious to try it. Opening the tub i smelled something like strong leather and wood, and a bit of date maybe. Lots of color in my tub ranging from black crimp cuts to bright ribbons, it seemed a bit dry at first but packed up quite well. Smoked nicely with enough flavor to keep me interested, burned a bit quick but didnt bite any more than the Prince or Carter Hall. Nice stuff, funny blends like these disappear. I would have thought it had a strong following, for the price there really isnt anything else like it that ive smoked out there. If you happen upon a tub buy it, its no revelation in terms of smoking experience (no pun intended) but its a decent all day smoke with more flavor than PA or CH. I wish i tried it sooner.

Pipe Used: colbi sandblasted billiard (un filtered)

Age When Smoked: off the shelf

Purchased From: Milan Tobacco

Similar Blends: I find it closest to E.Hoffman & Co's "Distinguished Gentleman" for comparison..

2 people found this review helpful.

Deleted Account Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Deleted Account (485)
★☆☆☆
Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable

Well I was hoping to have another winner since I love JM's Prince Albert...but such was not the case. I ordered this from JRs and saved about 10 bucks over the local B&M..which was good. As I strolled down Walnut street I was greeted by a maple topping that mixed well with the nutty burley but it soon became very cloying and tiresome. The latakia was noticeable, but barely...the other tobaccos seemed to be more there to lend a little support but the main show was the burley and it couldnt hold its own next to even the most mediocre American-Englishes. Not very impressed at all so I can't recommend this one..even for the price (16.95).

2 people found this review helpful.

BBlevins Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BBlevins (102)
★☆☆☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Rather than compare this tobacco to high end English blends, I judged it based solely upon what it is, a drug store tobacco. Mind you, there's nothing wrong with drug store tobacco as my daily smoke of choice is Prince Albert.

I liked the way the tobacco packed and it was easy to light. As others have stated, the various types of leaf used such as Latakia were virtually undetectable. I tasted more like an American Burley blend than an English mixture. I didn't find the taste itself to be unpleasant, there just wasn't anything special about it. Nothing to make me want to buy it again.

The one thing that will prevent me from smoking it again was the horrid tongue bite it produced. Possibly worse than any other tobacco I've smoked over the years and I've smoked a lot of them. I smoked a couple of bowls and threw the tub in the trash.

2 people found this review helpful.

Pipeline Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipeline (206)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Strong

I aged a tub for four years before opening. Actually, I think this is okay if you live alone and don't care if your pad smells like ash tray. It is too mild for me to smoke outside. Smoke it slow for a fairly tasty bowlful of a gently complex blend. I don't think this will make my rotation unless I forget what a premium blend tastes like.

2 people found this review helpful.

aadelma Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
aadelma (55)
★☆☆☆
Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

This stuff is about as English as apple pie and chevrolet; all I taste is mild burley and a fruity topping. I don't detect any of the condiment leaf listed in the description. The topping is not overly heavy. It's fairly smooth and pleasant for the first half of the bowl. After that the low-quality base tobaccos and excessive PG shine through and it gets a bit nasty. I think there are better drug-store tobaccos available than this and I wouldn't try it again.

2 people found this review helpful.

akaiser77 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
akaiser77 (52)
★☆☆☆
Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong

Walnut is truly one of the most repugnant tobaccos on the market. Like almost all of Middleton's blends (exceptions to the rule: straight burley smokes and, for some reason, Cherry Blend), this is flavored with some sort of sickly sweet topping that does not merge well with the low-grade latakia and Turkish.

I recently had some Walnut sitting in a plastic bag in my closet and could smell its revolting scent so strongly in the room that I threw it out. If you've tried Middleton's Kentucky Club Aromatic Mixture, which is ostensibly another American English, then you probably know the aroma I'm talking about.

I avoid this blend at all costs. Shame on Middleton for producing crap like this; it demonstrates a contempt for smokers, in my opinion.

2 people found this review helpful.

Arkie Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Arkie (106)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

Don't let the price fool you - this is good stuff.

1 person found this review helpful.

Thbg Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Thbg (25)
★★★☆
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is probably the best quality blend that JM makes. I would argue that it is unique from other drug store blends in its quality and complexity.

While it is marketed as an "english blend" this stuff is a true American blend through and through. Don't let the pouch note of latakia fool you. Upon lighting there is a delicious mix of various natural tobacco flavor with a "sweet liquor" topping that persists through the smoke but does not dominate.

It is not nicotine strong (as none of these blends really are) but the mouth feel is a bit stronger (in a good way) than CH or PA. I have gotten many compliments on the room-note from other men.

I can sense this is an "old-school" blend and can imagine past generations smoking this at taverns in Old City Philadelphia.

This is going to be my everyday tobacco for the upcoming fall weather.

1 person found this review helpful.

Clarkus Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Clarkus (26)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Like the previous poster, I have been a pipe smoker for over forty years and had never heard of this tobacco. I too am primarily a burley smoker and smoke PA a lot. Also, I've been a big fan of English/Balkan blends since I started smoking but have become tired of the Latakia assault on my senses. Anyway, because of these reviews which were all over the board, I became curious and ordered a tub.

At first, I was put off by the bite and the flavor was very one dimensional. Eventually, I put half the tobacco on a platter and set it in the sun for about forty five minutes, stirring it frequently. I let it go till it was dry to the touch but still had enough moisture to keep the spring in the tobacco when I packed it.

Evidently, this was the ticket. The tongue bite was gone and the flavors came through quite well. I smoked it more and more frequently over the next three or four weeks and now it is my favorite tobacco. No one tobacco dominates in this mixture, which I consider the primary quality in a "mixture". The burley gives it good bottom end and fullness and the other various tobaccos create a wonderful taste with an underlying sweetness from the tobaccos and not casing.

Now I've got all these tins of the "best" tobaccos along with jars of tobacco shop bulk tobacco that, in my opinion, don't offer the pleasure I get from Walnut.

I am surprised but I'm sold on Walnut and very happy I took the chance and tried it.

P. S. Whisky compliments this blend very well.

Update 8/19/13

I'm still smoking this and I'm still liking it. Very balanced burley based English blend not overpowered with Latakia. I've continued my lifelong search for an everyday tobacco and haven't found it in tobacco shop bulk blends. Maybe they just try too hard but they all seem to be just too much of something. Oddly, I'm having a lot more success with the simple American burly blends I've mostly ignored for the past 35 years. I suppose I should have paid more attention to blends that have been around for 100 years. I was a beer snob for many years and now have come to prefer simple American Budweiser - I suppose the same thing is happening with tobacco.

1 person found this review helpful.

tramroad28 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
tramroad28 (26)
★★★★
Mild Very Mild Medium Pleasant

Ahhh...Walnut.

Takes one back to Philly waiting rooms when doctors and lawyers would still affect a pipe...and were expected to.

An American English? I suppose so. A nice comfortable anytime smoke that burns well if packed well. I don't detect Columbian figs, 3.6% Syrian latakia or anything beyond value for dollars spent.

Sometimes the day and experience are simply about firing up a pipe and there is where Walnut shines.

1 person found this review helpful.

PipeProfessor Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
PipeProfessor (15)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I've been working my way through a tub of this for about 6 months. I find myself returning to this a few times a month. It's a good value for the non-aromatic smoker. A burley based blend with turkish and latakia. There are days I find it to be excellent and others just average. Walnut is balanced with good flavor (turkish & latakia) and a good value.

Update - 5/17/09 - Down Grade to Two Stars! This will be my last tub of Walnut. Good aroma, but I'm experiencing a nasty chemical aftertaste and alittle tongue bite. Prefer Private Blend from Iwan Ries. Down grade to two stars.

1 person found this review helpful.

periqueguy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
periqueguy (42)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Full Pleasant

I have smoked Walnut off and on for 50 years and still do at least twice a month. I always have a can around for my monthly Walnut fix. I'm originally from Phila. and can remember the amount of wealthy pipe smoking businessmen who were totally loyal to this blend. Without question this is the finest product Middleton makes and distributes.

1 person found this review helpful.

Fr.Jacob Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Fr.Jacob (2)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Anyone who'd like to try Walnut can get a 2oz pack at http://www.4noggins.com. Go there, click on "Drug Store Blends" from the left-hand column. Then scroll down to the bottom right-hand corner of the page.

OK- This is an update to the bulk of my original review after several POUCHES of Walnut. I've bumped my first-response from somewhat recommended to recommended. I have made my peace with burly, whose tobacco sweetness is actually probably the "tobacco juice" background taste I mentioned before. It is really not meant as a negative comment, so much as a highly subjective & specific comment with a history. My father habitually cleaned his pipes when he got a sudden shot of juice from his pipe - maybe that was the "old codger's blend" smoker's method. Anyway, I'm afraid I picked that up from him back then. With PA (or any blend where burley predominates, it is a practice rewarded by that inevitable sudden reminder. Even though I've long since broken the habit, I know that taste, associate it with burley, and can pick it's potential in the distinctive taste of burley as soon as I light a burley-based blend. I think it put me off burley for all these years. Brebbia Balkan cured me of those negative associations permanently, and let this balkan smoker appreciate burley flavor as a base. Trying something new educates you. I learned more about tobacco by smoking a vintage tin of 759 than by any other pipe smoking experience, for example. The several burley-balkans Tinder Box sells first made me aware that some consider that acceptable in a "balkan." Well, maybe an Americanized English - which is what Walnut has always claimed to be, I think; and actually is - or maybe was in 1859 when Walnut was first blended.

Walnut IS working for me as a daily tobacco. Even so, I've ordered some syrian latakia to further balkanize (here, a positive adjective), the smoke.

ORIGINAL REVIEW FOLLOWS: I wanted to try Walnut, and just before I found the above source I'd already broken down & ordered a 12 oz can for $14.

My favorite available blend is Penzance, but I've also learned to enjoy SG's Best Brown, and Buteria's Balkan (which, with it's use of burly was a stretch for me as I don't remember my father's PA that fondly. To keep me from cigarettes - this was the early 60's); pop bought me my first pipe and offered me all the PA I could smoke. And I am grateful to him for that. PA was was ok, but what I really wanted to smoke back then was Hickory, which my mom said I couldn't smoke in the house because it smelled like it would "leave a film on her curtains."

Times are tough right now & I just couldn't debit the kind of $ to my checking account that I have been. I wanted an acceptable standard tobacco so I could order along with a two oz tin of something more costly (which I did do already, a tin of Best Brown). Walnut is so inexpensive that, alone, that 14 oz. doesn't meet the minimum purchase requirement at Noggins. Imagine.

So how did that work out for me? I tried a first bowl of Walnut in a Peterson system meer, as I know I can clean just about anything out of it & not taste it later. If I'd gotten the 2 oz pack I don't think I would have trashed it, as I just did a pack of Carter Hall, and 3/4 of the way through this first bowl I'm not sure yet that I'll make it through the whole can - but I might. It has a kind of tobacco-juice flavor in the background of a different kind but reminiscent of that Kendal-taste that lurks in the background of many SG & Gwaith & Hoggarth blends that I like just fine.

It is a definite cut above Carter Hall, which would have been my previous nominee for best "drugstore blend." It won't replace anything else I smoke in bulk. But it may (or may not) tide me over until better times as a replacement for bulk orders of Penzance - or, maybe it'll just make Penzance last longer in my drawer. I'll have to revisit this site later for a comment futher down into the can - which means I want to give it a fair chance.

Some smokers of better blends may well find Walnut accomplishes all I'm after for them right off the bat. Tastes differ widely, after all, and I've tried blends at several times the price that never made it to a second bowl. Walnut has already passed that standard.

1 person found this review helpful.

DakotaPeacePipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DakotaPeacePipe (33)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

A predominately burley crimp cut blend with a seasoning of latakia and other condiment tobaccos, many have described this as an ?americanized english?. I am not a big fan of english style blends, but when I do get that ?itch? for a dose of english flavor Walnut scratches it admirably. Always cool smoking without bite.

1 person found this review helpful.

strongirish Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
strongirish (232)
★★☆☆
Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

For one of the OTC codger blends this does quite well. While I kept wanting more...something when smoking it, it burned well and down to the bottom, a very nice smoke that never tried to bite and that did not gunk up my pipe at all. Latakia would occationally make is presence known but I kept looking for it and that was a distraction. It had is own little spicy and sweet thing going on towards the bottom but not what I called harshness, I found that part very pleasant and more of what i was looking for. It has to rank towards the top of the OTC burleys and I wish it was easier to find as I could see myself going to this after a day of bolder blends. All in all I can see why this has stood the test of time and I hope it does not fall away like so many others.

1 person found this review helpful.

jlinge Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
jlinge (17)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This "drug store" blend has been around for decades and has evolved to become less interesting after Middelton took over the franchise. What exotic tobaccos are present are very minimal in amount. There may be Latakia or Perique or Turkish, but the overwhelming tobacco seems to be Burley (although I'm an English blend nut, I have no problem with that).

Whatever the casing is, I suppose if you think "Walnut" you might get that aroma. What I sense is more like a maple and cherry casing. The latter doesn't surprise me since that gawdawful cherry casing that Middleton uses seems to seep into everything they make. At least it doesn't have that "baked cookie/cake plus flavoring" aroma that seems to predominate in tobacconist mixtures these days.

The burn is not hot and is fairly clean, reducing to a white ash without too much glop. There is little bite. And there is little that is inspiring in a bowl of this stuff. You can smoke it all day and not remember much about it, 'cept it was sorta sweet 'n the wife didn't mind it.

The canister is great. Save it for other blends that aren't so nicely packaged.

1 person found this review helpful.

oldmanpipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
oldmanpipe (62)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable

Well, one thing that cannot be claimed with Walnut is that change of ownership messed-up this blend; it is John Middleton's oldest blend, and its original.

As we age, our tastes and tastebuds change; and though the ownership of this venerable tobacco has not changed hands, I would swear the tobacco HAS. Twenty years ago, people complemented its aroma; now they threaten me with arrest. I know there are other variables in there...but don't get me started!

Walnut is a classic, no argument there. There are others in its vein, and better. The list is long and distinguished, but this is about Walnut.

This is truly a Burley-based mixture, and far from the worst of its kind. But it DOES wear on one after a while. It is NOT walnut-flavored, but it is cased, and the polyethylene-glycol only nasties-up the casing. DuPont long-ago abondoned their slogan, "Better Living Through Chemistry." Why can't John Middleton follow suit? Despite propaganda to the contrary, tobacco CANNOT be re-humidified to its original taste. Middleton might experiment with a better seal on its 12-oz. container of Walnut. It used to be much better.

There is no heat, bite, or harshness to this blend. But it does draw derisive comments from those who can detect Latakia at a hundred years. And the casing--whatever it might be--wears on one after half a can. After a while you might think you are smoking a candy bar.

If you like a combination of Burley and Latakia, you could do worse than Walnut...but you could also do a whole lot better.

1 person found this review helpful.

Bit-O-Baccy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Bit-O-Baccy (4)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant

I received a tub of Walnut recently and was impressed right away. The quality of this tobacco is top notch and the flavoring is perfect. I favor burley blend that taste like tobacco and not so much like a candy bar. Walnut does the trick for me. OTC vs boutique blends is rapidly becoming a non-issue for this smoker because it all starts as a leaf anyway. This blend quickly made its way to my top Five. Get it and enjoy!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Deleted Account Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Deleted Account (485)
★☆☆☆
Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

This is an example of an "English" blend gone very wrong. There is a terrible taste of chemicals whilst smoking and as an aftertaste. I wouldn't let someone I disliked smoke this!!

Smoke in peace, brothers and sisters of the leaf.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Perique Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Perique (83)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable

(Notes based on 2oz bag, not a tub)

This blend was not at all what I expected. Tin note was surprisingly heavy with Latakia and Kentucky, which was not expected from an OTC tobacco. It should be noted that there is significantly less Latakia in the smoke than the tin note would suggest.

As a frequent burley smoker, I would not consider this a burley-forward blend. It's nothing like PA, CH, etc in that regard. There's more going on here.

Sadly, it is like its OTC cousins in the chemical content and subsequent chemical aftertaste. It also bites, unlike Carter Hall and others.

An interesting and surprising OTC. But a chemical laden OTC nonetheless. Worth a try for the experience. Certainly not a keeper as there are far superior mild Latakia blends out there.

Edit: it was suggested that I mix this 50/50 with Carter Hall to create something called "Wal-Hall". The result is surprisingly good and better than straight Walnut.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Philo Beddoe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Philo Beddoe (140)
★☆☆☆
Very Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant

I wanted to like this, but I could not find a good reason to, it tasted weak and flat. I tasted almost no Latakia, but I did get a rather nasty taste from the topping. Not for me.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Peacekeeper Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Peacekeeper (2)
★★★★
Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I chose Walnut for my first review because I feel it reflects my overall philosophy; as much interested in performance and reliability as pedegree. Forget that it is an OTC, Walnut is a darn good tobacco, and far better than many more expensive blends. I do tend to favor aromatics and I do note a little bit of casting (Carter Hall like) when I open the lid. But it is not bad, just adds to the flavor. For me it has just the right amount of Latakia and Turkish to boost the burley. It can burn a bit warm if you puff too hard (Virginias) and that does not help the flavor, so go accordingly. The only real drawback is that the finish is a bit hollow, if you know what I mean. Sort of like a red wine with good to excellent flavor and characteristics, but a bit weak on the finish. Still, overall an excellent experience. Between three and four stars, I'll give it four. I always take a big baggie of it when I travel.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

bluedog Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
bluedog (19)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

From reading the reviews here I knew I wanted to try Walnut but didnt know if I should buy it especially since it only comes in 12 oz tubs. I'm actually suprised at the amount of latakia in this blend, there's more than I expected although its not a lot. It is like others say an american style burley and not an english blend. The compexity is not comparable to english or balkan blends but I would not call it bland or only hitting one note.There is a few suprises in there and theyre all pleasant. At some points i can almost taste the topping applied to prince albert, and I dont mind that as I am a fan of PA as well but I think Walnut has surpassed PA and Carter Hall in strength, taste, and room note. I sure am glad I took a leap and bought this. It will be great when the season changes and the temps are cooler. Highly recommended... cool tub too!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

mr.vintage Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
mr.vintage (5)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable

The Walnut blend by John Middleton is probably the best tasting of the drugstore burley blends,it is a tad pricier than most being that a tub is 12oz. versus the standard 14oz size but it's not a no-brainer blend.The majority of the taste factor to Walnut is mostly burley but the wide range of tobaccos is mixed well enough to add variations.Basically if you smoke straight burley blends Walnut will strike you as a rich-tasting blend but heavy blend smokers may find it lacking.There's no sweetness to it or casing,just a 12oz. bucket of rich multi-tobacco taste.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Henry Mars Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Henry Mars (18)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is one of those blends that I like to have around when I need a break from heavy Balkan blends. Is this an English blend? ... No, but it is at the high end of the "drug store" class of tobacco blends. Mostly what I taste here is burly with a touch of Virginia and some lightly sweetened Cavendish. I can't really taste any oriental tobacco and the Latakia is there but really in sparse quantity...it is really hard to detect. I don't find this blend complex in any way but I am used to very complex Balkan blends so it seems kind of monochromatic ... with a few surprises here and there.

Even though they say that there is no walnut flavoring agent in the blend I definitely taste some "nut like" flavoring agent however mild.

In the end this is one of the best tobaccos in it's class. It could easily be an all day smoke for the smoker that is a fan of these blends. I like it in the morning in the fall season. Nice with a cup of coffee while I wake up.

I would keep this around if I could still get it in a pouch. It is cheap enough but a tub would last me 5 years and it dosen't seem like age will help this stuff. 3 stars for what it is.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

DrT999 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DrT999 (149)
★★☆☆
Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

While this burns v hot for me (my fault, I'm sure), never a hint of a bite. It burned clean and easily, and was a nice tasting smoke, with no bitterness, all the way down to light ash with no relights. All-in-all, a nice OTC. The latakia was more in the aftertaste than the smoke, and the Turkish was more in the room note. Probably best for an aromatic smoker looking for a change of pace.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

ruffinogold Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
ruffinogold (82)
★★★★
Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

I havent had Walnut in at least ten years . Where I live now I never see it . while shopping online I see it but am wanting to buy something other than OTC . Enjoyed it years ago but was more an Edgeworth/Three Nuns junkie so I'd get around to it every now and then . lit some up the last few days and the instsnt I smelled and tasted it I was one happy SOB .It's cool smoking , perfect burning all the way ! It's a subtle complexity blend that I just cant get bored of .People compare it to an English blend ... why / It's freakin Walnut .I guess cause it has latakia in it [ ever so slight ]... It's not an english . If ya havent tried this blend and dont want to fork out the cash for a Lg tin then do a trade w/ a pipe buddy or something . A tasty [ med ] blend all the way ... very enjoyable

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Chris08 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Chris08 (37)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

A little milder in both strength and Latakia than I expected, this is a fine change of pace from heavier blends. With a base of Burley, there is a nice nuttiness present. Walnut doesn't get unpleasantly bitter toward the end like many Burley blends, however.

Walnut is a great smoke when you are looking for something simple. It doesn't develop sweet complexity as the bowl burns, but remains pleasantly enjoyable throughout. I enjoy it when working outside or walking the dog and don't have time to focus on my smoke.

My only 'concern' is that the moisture level of the tobacco is absolutely perfect for smoking right away. I say concern, because I expect to have to re-humidify the tobacco part way through the container.

You could do a lot worse than choose this. In fact, when you look at value for your dollar, it's hard to find a better choice. I'm only 1/4 through my first 12 oz tub, but have already ordered 3 more.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

IMA_Redneck Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
IMA_Redneck (7)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable

This is my first try of an English style blend. This is a very enjoyable smoke after supper. The wife does not much like the room note compared to some other tobaccos I have tried.

Update after a few weeks. I got to try some other English blends and still find this a wonderful smoke. Most of the others I have tried have been so heavy on Latakia that you lose the subtle sweetness of the other tobaccos. I still place Walnut as my favorite smoke when not around the wife.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

TK Pipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
TK Pipe (101)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Middleton's Walnut... Somehow I had the idea that Walnut would be rather mundane, and not much more than a slightly spicy burley. I was wrong. Pleasantly so I might add. First its aroma is of pure tobacco, including Latakia, with no hint of a topping. I also found it to be every bit an English type blend, Orientals and all. only not so typically aggressive. Really not so different from a uncased Gordon Pym, only smoother. Definitely not a replacement blend for the leather tongue hard core, but posillably a good place for them to take some time off. For many, that want a English type mixture without pain, will find Walnut a real treat. It produces clouds of rich smoke, filled with the aromas and flavors, that all smokers of English blends want, only in a calm and relaxed manner. Lights easy, stays lit and if not pushed real hard, no bite. The only regret I have, is not trying this baccy a long time ago.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

boxertwin Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
boxertwin (10)
★☆☆☆
Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant

I tried a bit that a friend gave me and was totally underwhelmed. Little flavor at all. I'll try it again in a different pipe just to see if I can detect any taste at all.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

azguy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
azguy (18)
★★★★
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant

I first tried this blend in the mid 60s. My friend's father smoked it and gave me some to try. At the time, I was in college and thinking of myself as very sophisticated, really gave it short shrift. Through the years I found myself smoking Balkan Sobranie and when it was discontinued, Red Raparee. Recently, I saw this blend at my tobacconist's and decided to try it again. What a pleasant surprise! This blend seems to have all that want in a smoke. Orientals, Burley and Latakia, but in a very mild presentation. I have begun to smoke it as my "early morning pipe" or any other time I want an uncomplicated tobacco. There is absolutely no tongue bite and it lights up easily with little or no need for relights. The bowl aroma toward the bottom emphasizes the latakia very sneakily. Overall, highly recommended as a rest for English or Scottish lovers.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Old Puffer Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Old Puffer (42)
★★★☆
Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

Just received a fresh can of this and thought I had better fess up and rate it. Had been seeing reports that this blend had degraded from past blends and just wasn't as good. Don't know how far back to go, but I find no big differences or particular problems from past usage.

The new tub was drier than in the past but the flavor was the same; slightly sweet and almost aromatic, but pure baccy with no discernible chemicals or toppings. I know that this is a mixture of a large number of tobacco types but I really cannot discern any specific type in the smoking. it is well blended and aged (married).

Out of the can, my only complaint that was never noted in the past was a bunch of sticks that I have to keep picking out (hate that). The moisture was just right and although there was some large chunks of leaves, it packed easily and well. Does not light easily. After getting a good light, smoking went OK but tends to smoke hot and is stingy with smoke volume. Stays lit well and smokes to the bottom leaving a dry, dark grey ash. No gurgles. Does not get harsh as it burns down. No bad aftertaste or bad after odor in the pipe. No trace of trying to bite.

Over all, this is a pleasant smoke that never disappoints. Will continue to keep it on hand. Recommend for newbies.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Mr. Brizzi Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Mr. Brizzi (15)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild Mild Unnoticeable

There's no walnut, in Walnut. Middleton's original location was 219 Walnut Street. Mystery solved. (Elementary). The tub had about an inch of harsh dust on the outside of it, as it sat in the smoke shop, as I am told by the owner, for years. The price was spectacular as he wanted to make room on the shelf for other smoker items. Once home, plastic wrap removed and tub washed, it opened to reveal dry product, but, Middleton went out of business some years ago. I recalled about 25 years ago the wetness of Walnut and its harshness, but thought maybe this tub mellowed out with time. Indeed, it did. The only thing done, was to place the tobacco into a crockery jar from a thrift shop (oh yeah, I love a good value; flea markets and thrift shops), and covered the jar with the oak wood lid. It sat from March 2010 until July 2010, when my razor keen fermented squash of a brain remembered about it. There was instant tongue rip upon lighting the pipe. At about one quarter into the tub contents, the tongue rip, continues. The strength pleasantly mild. No casings tasted, only good blending. The taste, very nice. A hint of Cavendish in the background. Here's where Latakia does not balance. For the blend, it should be cut back about 50%, because there is Turkish tobacco present, and in my opinion, the Turkish should have been increased about 50%. It's my personal opinion. The audience over 150 years perhaps felt different, and over time refrigeration replaced pickled goods and people eat less vinegar condiments as they did long ago. I tested it. With pickles at lunch or dinner, then smoke Walnut. Like Edgeworth, the matching compatability of flavors were akin to meshing gears. In my world, the Turkish blends are very interesting and should have Turkish tobacco front and center. Smoke through my nostrils confirmed this. The room note is barely noticable. I am rating Walnut at Two Stars. Smoking it through various pipes, I will state that the larger bores (stick your thumb in it, size) work better, as do longer shank and stem, set ups. There is, a caramel taste finish to this tobacco. I would modestly recommend Walnut, though not overly joyous about it. For an old, Over The Counter tobacco, it's very nice, but not the stuff tobacconist legends are made of. Would I buy another tub if offered? Perhaps. I am more interested in a Turkish blend in which requires one to be Fez attired.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Raffles Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Raffles (11)
★☆☆☆
Extremely Mild Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable

I've tried this in a briar and a cob, and it always bites me; moreover, it's a chemical delayed-action bite that doesn't seem present during the smoke. The smoke itself I find uneventful, with none of the appealing smokey aroma in the jar coming through. If there's Latakia in there, it's very little. (Smoke extract is available as a food additive, and I suspect there's more of that than Lat.) Not for me, though others clearly enjoy it. Prince Albert and Carter Hall are the most popular Middleton blends for good reason - they're the best!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

The Commoner Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
The Commoner (30)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

I'm on a bit of a drug store blend odyssey.

Walnut is good stuff. Better to my taste than PA and Carter Hall which while more pure Burley Bullies are pretty comparable.

I know this is named after a street but I swear there a slight walnutty aroma in the "tin". I also agree with others who say they pick up some occasional very subtle maple. But this is in no way an aromatic. This is good honest pipe tobacco.

Just a beautiful no-nonsense, easy burning, tasty smoke.

I bet if this had a catchy name and came from a blender like Cornell and Diehl or Hearth and Home, we'd all be singing even higher praises.

Mileage does indeed vary but I give this a very solid recommend against the field and would rate it 4 stars if factoring in cost.

By the way, 4 Noggins has this in 2 OZ quantities if you don't' want a whole tub. Getcha some.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Pipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Pipe (18)
★★★★
Mild Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable

Been smoking Walnut for about 6 months now, It seems to be fairly popular and I can see why, It taste good, Smokes good No real bite. Tub contents are not overly moist. Just right. I suspect its got more burley than anything else Sometimes I can detect What might be a slight maple-ish flavor. I keep coming back to Walnut Daily. I don't see anybody that has this in Pouches, So you'd have to buy the Tub. I recommend this to anyone.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

rramstad Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
rramstad (115)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

I'm a sucker for a good OTC and this is a really nice one. The light topping really brings this blend together, the burley is high quality, the cut is really easy to manage, it burns really well, and the hint of latakia is lovely. I am only giving it three stars because it can tend to get a bit ashy in flavor towards the bottom of the bowl, which is a problem shared by most burley blends. (I wonder what this would be like with a bit of perique? I find a lot of times that perique stays strong in flavor throughout the bowl... hmmm...)

Frankly, this blend puts a lot of more expensive blends to shame. Really worth trying, if the idea of a light aromatic burley blend with latakia sounds appealing.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Captain Pete Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Captain Pete (83)
★☆☆☆
Mild None Detected Very Mild Tolerable

Maybe if this stuff was walnut flavored, it would be better. Alas, what happened to this 19th century classic? We will never know, as it is for sure that the blending recipe has undergone many changes over the years. Walnut definitely has latakia in it, as it makes itself known when you open the tub. However, the quality of it must be bottom of the barrel, as it is recognizable only as a mild soapy astringency when the tobacco is lit.

Middleton's states that tis is made from the 7 finest types of tobaccos in the world. All I taste is cheap burley, suplemented by a smattering of what can only be very low grade virginias. I detect no perique, nor orientals. It smokes hot, and doesn't need much coaxing to bite. I really like Carter Hall, so I'm puzzled how the same company can produce a thoroughly unenjoyable tobacco blend. I guess if you're used to smoking straight burley day after day, this might be some kind of change of pace. Otherwie, it is not worth even a look. Pass on it.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Fellow traveler Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Fellow traveler (64)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable

Lets go back to meet John Middleton in 1856 in his shop in Philadelphia. No cars, no airplanes, no telephones, horse drawn carriages. No dynamite, no machine guns, no anasthetic for tooth extraction. Lots of perfume to cover the body odor since few took baths and showers were unheard of. Tolstoy was writing War and Peace, Charles Dickens was the best writer of the age. Harriet Beacher Stow had written Uncle Tom's Cabin, the spark about to set off the Civil War. Abolitionism was the political topic of the day.

In the summer the aroma was of horse dung and garbage, in winter the haze of burning appalachian coal darkened the air.

John is determined to create a premium blend though the civil war has made good tobacco difficult to obtain. He can't get perique so he intends to use latakia. But that comes from the other side of the world, several months round trip by sailing ship. But he knows an exotic spice tobacco will make his blend a true luxury.

Carnegie steel builds this country, Rockerfeller's Standard Oil powers the Industrial Revolution transforming the USA into the mightiest nation on earth. And people buys Johns Walnut blend. Two world wars change the face of the planet. Automobiles and air travel compress time. And people buy Walnut. Men land on the moon and John Middleton's Walnut is enjoyed by smokers the world over.

Today Walnut is widely copied, rarely equaled and never exceded. The competition resorts to fancy little tins backed with elaborate web sites, all touting the exotic nature of their newest hope of success, their lap dogs writing glowing reviews. But like the Rock of Gibraltar Walnut has withstood the test of time.

This blend contains all the complexity your humble ability will ever be able to appreciate, enough flavor to please the king or the pawn, just the right strengh taste and smoothness.

Walnut is more than an excellent tobacco. It is a visit with men who were building a new nation and a new world. Men who shared a dream of freedom, opportunity and prosperity. Men who celebrated their success by sharing the best premium tobacco available.

But after 2 ounces: Light body with just a hint of Latakia. Life moves on. Bitter aftertaste, non descript flavor, ashy tonge. No real flavor and no nice smell either in the pouch or in the smoke. No not even think of buying again.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

DK Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DK (557)
★★☆☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

Best OTC I've ever smoked, so far!

Now that I have that out of the way... this is a wonderful American burley blend with a hint of latakia. Normally I don't want any latakia in a blend unless it's the "driver" of that blend. In this case it serves its purpose as the mildest of spices, a wisp that just adds a tang to the burley. I can understand why many call this an "all day" blend because I find myself reaching for it several times a day. It always delivers.

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a great change of pace for the smokers of PA and CH and a nice "pseudo-aromatic" for the English smokers that want something less offensive to those around them. It's an unassuming blend, and by not trying to do too much, it ends up doing everything right to my palate. And it's dirt cheap... for now!

UPDATE 12/20/11

This blend has turned on me! The last three tubs I've had were bitter and bitey. I find it doubtful that they changed the recipe so I can't explain this turn of events. But I no longer find this nearly as enjoyable as I used to. Taking away 2 stars.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Fatty Bolger Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Fatty Bolger (8)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

Forty years must be the magic number for Walnut as I have been smoking for 38 and am just now discovering it. I have been on a burley quest for a few months and have tried all the standard OTC blends like the Prince, Carter Hall, SWR, even Mixture 79 (which I actually used to smoke back in my youth). Walnut was one that I had eluded me due to not being available locally or in pouches. After seeing the good reports here and from members on some pipe forums, I sprang for a tub.

Upon opening, I was greeted by the aroma of what seemed to be more straight tobacco than some of the others, a nice variety of mostly rough-cut pieces with only a very light hint of some sort of topping. The original aroma of the tobacco seemed to change after the tub had been opened for a few days, the subtle smokiness of the (presumed) Latakia seems to become more pronounced. I've been smoking this now for 3 days straight and have to say it has bumped out CH for my favorite burley blend.

It packs extremely well without seeming to be overly moist. I usually let my pipe sit to dry for a while after filling but this doesn't seem to affect Walnut one way or the other, I find it does not take the first light as well as do PA or CH, and benefits from a tamp and relight. Once that ritual is over, you are rewarded by the usual thick clouds of smoke that tell you that you are smoking an American burley blend. It smokes cool but can get hot if overly puffed, especially if the air is moist and the bottom of the bowl gets wet. I have also found that the pipe I smoke it in affects the taste more than I expected. I first was smoking it in a cob, and the first half of the bowl was fairly bland, but developed subtle sweetness that carried on until the end. In a larger-bowled briar, the sweet nature comes almost immediately and does not leave for the duration of the smoke. And despite the aroma of the Latakia coming out in the tub, I can't claim to taste any of it in the smoke. This burley does smoke quite slow, a largish group-4 size can last well over an hour of steady puffing. The other characteristic I have noticed is a peppery nip on the tongue, not tongue bite but rather a perique-like nip.

My early conclusion is that for now, despite being labeled an English style tobacco, Walnut is my top pick for an American style burley. With tobacco prices increasing, it is a quality bargain that I will be stocking up on while I can.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

krg1000 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
krg1000 (130)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant

After quite a few of what most would call OTC or drug store blends, this seems to be the one to take the top honors, IMHO. I find this to be a very good all day smoke. It will not bite, I've tried to incite it, but it was no use. It has a nice volume of smoke, the taste seems dependable and it seems to pass the wife test nicely. It smokes down to a nice ash at the bottom of the bowl. I would recommend this to the novice or the long time smoker. I will definitely be getting more of this blend in short order.

Additional comments made on 11/5/09: I just received a 12 oz tub of this fine mixture. I transferred it to my large jar. The lower half did seem a bit moister than many would like. It was pretty much clumped together and needed some breaking up. I think it will dry out nicely though. There does seem to be some large segments of leaf that missed the QC guys and made it into the tub. Having smoked several pipefuls of this in several types of pipes today, it does not seem to be too ungodly moist. The comments above are unchanged from the original review and still ring true for me and are based on a 2 ounce sample.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

BigSwede Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BigSwede (61)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

Like so many others I've been smoking a pipe for, well, a while, and never had a chance to try this one. When I opened my fresh tin it has just a hint of topping that is almost like berry/cherry, very lightly applied. It's a nice tobacco to look at with a variety of light and dark tobaccos. It packs nicely and give a slow burn. In the pipe that smoke PA, CH and other similar blends I get about a hour of smoking, this stuff gives me a couple. The flavor seems to be mostly a burley base with what seems to be a hint of "other stuff". Occasionally I get a whiff of latakia but it's not anywhere near the top. The topping is barely noticeable and has that hint of, well, berry/cherry.

Its a nice cool and dry smoke. Funny thing: theres no one flavor that comes out to greet you and it could almost be considered a tad on the bland side but I like the stuff. Its a well behaved, comfortable, slow burning and mild burley based blend with a subdued flavor. I'll definitely keep this around. Seems to have a decent room note.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

AcworthAl Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
AcworthAl (20)
★★★☆
Medium Medium Full Pleasant to Tolerable

After reading, several reviews I decided to try this. I liked it. It rather reminded me of Prince Albert with a bit of Latakia It had a pleasant taste, smoked cool, and stayed lit. I suspect it is sort of a mild English blend.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Wriggles Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Wriggles (44)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

In over 40 years of pipe smoking, I've never tried this tobacco. I recently ordered a tub of this stuff on line as I don't ever remembering seeing this anywhere, anytime. Being a mostly burley type of guy, I've smoked Half & Half and the Prince almost exclusively, with occasional forays into other tobaccos, including Dunhills, Petersons, etc.

Walnut is as someone else put it, an Americanized English blend. I find it to be a very pleasant burley with some exotic condiments barely but nicely noticeable. It reminds me of Dunhill's London Mixture, but much milder, and for me more enjoyable. I find the less full flavor very nice, although nicotine content seems higher than the other Middleton tobaccos.

I don't know if Walnut will become for me an everyday smoke, but I hope it's available for a long time to come. Recommended.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Xeneize Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Xeneize (275)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is the the best drugstore blend I've ever tried. All the different tobaccos are nicely balanced and the touch of Latakia is just perfect. Tongue bite is present, but at a much lesser extent than offerings in the same price range.

A must try for people that enjoy drugstore blends. And if you really like this and you're willing to spend some extra bucks, give Bald Headed Teacher a try. You won't regret it.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

maynard Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
maynard (18)
★★★★
Very Mild Mild Medium Pleasant

Decent all day smoke. Now I have added a pinch of McCellands Perique, I really enjoyed that, just really changes things.. Well aged for a year, it is better, Ill get another tub to jar.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Big bad Jon Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Big bad Jon (232)
★★★☆
Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

I tried this blend after reading all the great reviews on this site. What I found when opening the can was a rather nutty smelling tobacco that had a slight casing smell to it. I think that this is very similar to Prince Albert, but it has a bit more flavor. It supposedly has some latakia in it, but it might be just 5%. I think the majority of this blend is burly and Kentucky tobacco but overall it tastes good. None of the tobacco is of great quality but none of it is awful either, surprising for a drugstore blend. The tobacco burns great much like a burly based tobacco does, and is fairly dry throughout the bowl. Overall I like it as well as PA but wont rush out to cellar either.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Introibo Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Introibo (45)
★★★☆
Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant

My tub of Walnut actually smelled of something like walnuts, but it does not taste of walnuts. This may be on account of the pipe, but I find that most tobaccos do not taste as they smell.

As an English blend, Walnut is like Erinmore Balkan's quiet, rather uninspiring younger brother -- the one that nobody noticed until he ended up owning a huge software company in the 90s. I would call it an English for people who do not smoke English blends because it is very shy as far as the orientals and latakia are concerned.

Smoked in a cob, orientals come to the fore, and smoked slowly it has a flavour of its own -- English, yes, but different. As I said, it is the shy, retiring relative of the bolder English/Balkan blends, but should not be judged as of inferior quality on that score.

Smoke this if you want a little English flavour or an interesting mix of flavours without going to aromatics. More than a burley, less than a Balkan, Walnut fills an important space in the tobacco pantheon.

Judging from the number of years it has been around, an awful lot of people have enjoyed it, and I am pleased to join their number.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

tonalsmoker Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
tonalsmoker (30)
★★★★
Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is the finest of John Middleton's pipe tobaccos and his very first!To be quite frank,I'm not a fan of english blends...except this one.All of the blends I've experienced in my life have never appealed to me,Walnut has a special character all on it's own.The tub smell seems dominant of turkish tobacco,don't let this fool you.Taste wise it's very bold and flavorful,no casing is present(sorry aromatic fans)which is a great thing because it would destroy this well-crafted blend.There's enough of the tobaccos present to give an equal level of attention to your tastebuds,except latakia which is speckled lightly throughout.The small amount of Latakia adds a nice touch compared to english blends that rely on Latakia as their savior for selling their blend.Overall I highly recommend Walnut for an all-day smoke or best enjoyed in the winter:)

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Loboatomy Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Loboatomy (36)
★★★☆
Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant

Searched high and low amongst my few fellow pipe smokers around here to try and get a sample of this venerable oldie...to no avail, only the "tub" listed online. Several times almost ordered, then backed out at the last minute.

Then there it was a few days ago, sitting on the shelf at my local tobacconist next to a tub of (ugh, Mixture #79 CHERRY--can you imagine...).

$18, but its here...in my hands...a nice hefty block of tobacco...no shipping and no wait...no time to back out. I purchased...

Suprising look in the tub, more of a "normal" looking tobacco than the industrial american burlys I usually smoke. Wow, I can smell the latakia in this, also a nice stewed fruit sort of casing. Perfect moisture level to the touch.

Initially packed a smallish filter dublin and smoked a bowl on the ride home, windcap in place. Somewhat of a bite, but nice flavor and great "car note". No gurgle. I was suprised that it went out once or twice as I have been smoking mostly Kentucky Club, Cherry Blend and PA and I tend to chuff pretty heavily at times. Dumped it at about the 1/4 bowl when it got a little ashy.

I accidently left the tub in the car and smoked a couple of more bowls while driving and then brought it inside and loaded up a bigger apple/brandy half bent and concentrated on having a nice slow savoring type of smoke.

Very nice. Quality lightly cased burley with just enough Oriental to give that slightly "chalky" mouthfeel of an english and a hint of Latakia (just enough of a hint, in my opinion). When smoked slow I experienced no bite at all.

Delightful "nose aroma" out of a bent as someone had mentioned earlier. The casing burns off at about half bowl and you are left with a nice, though somewhat bland, burley/virginia kind of smoke that occasionally gives up the spirit of a touch of oriental and latakia to balance out the sweetness of the burley component.

Believe it or not, this sort of reminds me of MacBarens Solent Mixture but easier to smoke and a hell of a lot cheaper.

I think this is good stuff to keep around for a change of pace while still keeping with my recent "american burley" summer obsession. Blows the doors off of Revelation (similar "drugstore eschelon competitor) because of it's higher quality leaf, better cut and more subtle casing. I can imagine myself smoking more of this stuff as the summer gives way to fall...

If you're a snob about "english tobaccos", forget about it. If you like the simple pleasures of PA, Carter Hall and Half and half, give Walnut a try for a nice change of pace.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

bighitter Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
bighitter (37)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant

Finally got a sample of this, as it is hard to find here in Texas as well. I've been getting more and more into Prince Albert as the only tolerable tobacco I could get locally at first, now blossomed into something I like and crave... This being a Middleton blend, too, though I can't really stand Carter Hall or the Apple or especially the Cherry... (something's seriously topsy-turvy about my writing here)...

I got Haunted Bookshop, Stonehaven, and this in the mail... Maybe it's simply because it's the least challenging blend, I've liked this the best so far. Sure to change, right? I mean, I don't even like latakia, and I'm one of those that always say I don't like toppings. I'm sure to be tired of it in a week, but right now, it's a great change of pace, it's mostly burley, and it's nice...

Nobody has rated this review yet.

XDipper Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
XDipper (30)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Granted anyone reviewing this tobacco as an English, comparing it to the likes of Nightcap, London Mixture, and Squadron Leader will be fairly disappointed. This is in fact a codger burley. That said, I must confess that it is the most English-like of the breed. PA, Edgeworth, Half and Half, none of them have the taste and complexity of Walnut. Granted, the up front taste of Walnut is burley but there is a very faint, something unusual and oriental tasting in the background. It is a very unique and tasty tobacco. Probably one I may not smoke all the time but I certainly can see myself reaching for it often. If you're a burleyphile you'll probably love this. If you are an English blend smoker looking for something a little different to lighten it up and don't mind the occassional burley Walnut is also the ticket as long as you understand it is a burley, an American/English on its best day with liberal interpretations of the term. Expecting otherwise will certainly disappoint.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Matches Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Matches (19)
★★★☆
Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable

I always wanted to try this but couldn't find it until recently. I have found this a great alternative when I want a little more from a smoke than burley provides. A decent smoke at a decent price.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Mr. Dottle Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Mr. Dottle (162)
★★☆☆
Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

My opinion of this blend pretty much echoes Wolfpaw?s. Walnut was not an entirely bad smoke nor was it a completely satisfying smoke for me. It lacks in body and strength with a pleasing, mildly sweet, yet wanting, one-dimensional flavor. And for an Americanized English blend, the latakia, evidently in a minimal amount, is reluctant to make its presence known as are the other tobaccos in this blend except for the burley that clearly dominates. Because of this, I consider Walnut a mild, extremely light aromatic rather than a bona-fide Americanized English blend.

Walnut is loaded with PG but it does have superb burning qualities, doesn?t bite and it is inexpensive but I just prefer my tobaccos with a little more Oooommmmph than Walnut has to offer. Unfortunately, if you wish to try Walnut it is available only in a 12 oz. tub. But in my case this tub may come in handy. To wit, if I am lying penniless on my deathbed, at least I?ll have a ?pot? to pee in.

A cigarette is to be smoked. A cigar is to be enjoyed. A pipe is to be savored.

I rate this blend 7.2 out of 10.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Talonr1701 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Talonr1701 (119)
★★★☆
Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable

==Walnut==

Thanks to Albatross I got a generous sample of 3 year old Walnut. Someone said It was one of John Middeltons first blends and helped get him off the ground...I can see that....

The sample was made up of several cuts of tobacco. 1/4- 1/2 ribbon, chopped brown flake- in fact you can see almost all 7 of the alleged ingredients....Visually- there's no latakia......I couldn't find any....But I thought I could taste it.....

Packed in a Pete 305....Taste is a full, rich burley....My guess is its the predominant ingrediant....Which is fine with me. The Kentucky, Burley and Brown virginias seem to run the show....Turkish adds some spice- Especially when blown through the nose....But there is a sweet taste..For me I can see where people get the "Walnut taste" from. I got it in my head and the taste buds are convinced now....So I could be TOTALLY wrong....But I get a mild maple flavor. Mix that with the natural nuttiness of burlies....It reminds me of Vermont maple sugar candy- Which as I recall is garnished with Walnuts..... But nowhere near that sweet. Its mild....But there it is.

Burn is very clean...Nothing nippy. Room note is acceptable. (At least to my outspoken wife....)I could see me going for this on a semi regular occasion....Its good.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

BEN Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BEN (58)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

A great all day smoke! And at a great price! This ranks right up there for me, with my favorite "American English" blend, Revelation. Just a perfect, mild, old school blend that has stood the test of time. I really must say that Walnut tastes just as good to me as many of the "High End" American Style English blends I have smoked over the years. I know some people will be offended that I said that, so I won't mention which blends this compares to! For $14 a tub from Jr Cigar, I will always have this fine old "Drug Store" blend on hand! Highly Recommended!!

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Wolfpaw Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Wolfpaw (37)
★★☆☆
Mild Mild Mild Tolerable

Walnut is a tobacco that might be classified as an Americanized English mixture. Smoking a pipeful of Walnut stirs up nothing more than feelings of indifference in me; I can't work up a serious dislike for it, but it's not entirely satisfying either. I'm always left wanting more. Not more Walnut, but more strength, more complexity, more flavor. Perhaps because I'm accustomed to stronger, fuller-flavored English mixtures, I find Walnut to be rather bland. The Burley is the dominant tobacco in this blend and provides a light, inoffensive flavor that is indeed somewhat reminiscent of walnuts. The Turkish and Latakia are barely noticeable, while the Cavendish adds a slight background sweetness. The pouch aroma could mislead potential buyers into thinking that Walnut is walnut-flavored; it smells very much like freshly shelled English walnuts. I bought the bulk version, which was not excessively moist, and packed, lit and burned effortlessly. Maybe its most persuasive selling point is its very reasonable price. Because of that, it is a good alternative to the fruit-flavored mixtures that seem to dominate the low-priced bulk bins. It's not a bad mixture to smoke when one is busy doing other things; it won't demand a whole lot of your attention. It does leave me with a slight bitter aftertaste, which I often get from Burley-heavy mixtures. Not a really bad mixture, this Walnut, but not an exceptionally good one either.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Satc001 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Satc001 (64)
★★☆☆
Mild Very Mild Medium Pleasant

This gets two stars only because there are a plethora of better english blends, but this is one of the best cheap blends I have ever tried. It has a nice english taste, I noticed smoke filling my palate with the taste of nuts and rich latakia. It has a nice aroma, burns well, and doesn't bite. A good all day blend and one of the best cheap blends out there. I will probably stick to 965 for the time being, but you could do worse than to buy this as it is so easy on the wallet.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

roberteconnors Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
roberteconnors (9)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong

A nice introductory tobacco for those wanting to move towards more full-bodied English blends. This is a really unique blend that all should try. Those that call it a "cheap-drug store blend" are not giving it a fair shot, particulary since this blend has survived since 1856!. Sweet, nutty, but does not taste like Walnuts. I first started smoking this at SUNY Albany in 1974.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Mr.Vince Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Mr.Vince (11)
★★☆☆
Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable

This was my first experiment with a Middleton blend, better than I expected, but not my cup of tea. I'm not a fan of blends with much or any Burley in them, so far of all the burley's I have tried I have not liked. In this case the burley came through as tart bordering on bitter.I will say that it is better than what you will find in the drug stores these days, so I can't say not to try it , if you like burley blends you may find it very plesant and reasonably priced.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Black Seamus Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Black Seamus (56)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

They should put Walnut in the dictionary under "all day smoke."

Burley is indeed the star of the show here, with a mild undertone of Turkish and Latakia sometimes popping up, especially when exhaled through the nose.

Recommended for the Burley lover, and a nice change of pace for the English lover.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

BostonPipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
BostonPipe (83)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

This is one of those blends that I first tried when I began to smoke a pipe back in the mid-seventies. This was one of my Dad's regular blends that he kept around his rack. I recently picked-up up a tub and had a pleasant return to those early days. This is a quality, finely constructed blend. As several others have stated, you might have been able to buy it in a drugstore, but the craftsmanship said otherwise. A consistent taste the run of the bowl, with very little dottle at the end. I did not need a false light and it burned to a predominantly white ash. Just a nice, finely constructed blend that is as appropriate now as it was in yesteryear.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Moe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Moe (45)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant

This may be a mix of the worlds finest seven tobaccos, but I think that Burley is the star of this show.

To really get the best flavor from the blend, Smoke it very slowly, it seems to get sweeter, the slower you smoke it, try it fast and you will pay the price in both flavor loss and possibly a sore tongue, though you really gotta heat it up for the latter.

I load this in a pouch for my on the go baccy, I like it and people around you seem to like the smell (not that I care bout that so much).

It has no artificial moisture agents in it ,if you leave some out, or in a pouch too long and it will turn dry and crunchy.

When I open the tub I know I smell some kind of brandy/cognac/liquor they use to flavor it, its moisture evaporates (like alcohol does) quickly,and it can dry out if you dont keep it stored properly.

Burns well right from the tub, tastes good,doesnt cost alot...good stuff Maynard.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

CantTest Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
CantTest (14)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable

I love this blend so much that I have to give it four stars. A blend must be truly exceptional for me to do that and I really wanted not to rate this tobacco so high but I just couldn't go with "recommend." I think anyone who loves to smoke a pipe should try this one and I "highly recommend" it.

Walnut has a rich taste that is mild but satisfying, complex but not overpowering, unique but only in tobacco flavor--no topping. It burns easily, never bites, and lasts long enough to let a fella know he just had a great SMOKE.

I would say that this is the best Middleton blend I've tried and I enjoy other Middleton blends. Because it's a "drugstore" blend, the price is reasonable and belies the quality of the smoking experience it provides. You can bet I'll never be without this tobacco.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

DUPE.1512 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
DUPE.1512 (196)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable

Appearance and Tin Aroma: Golden ribbons and black course cut interspread throughout beautiful Light and medium brown crip cut weed. Tin aroma is of real tobacco sweet burley and latakia.

Packing and lighting: Packs easily, lights easy and burns all the way to the bottom of the bowl into a fine gray ash .

Initial Flavor: Real tobacco. The buttery, nutty flavor of quality burley bursts forth as soon as fire meets weed. This is immediately followed by the smooth creaminess of Latakia. The initial interplay of subtle flavors is simply mouth watering.

Mid-Bowl: The burley and Latakia start to come together, the burn is cool, even and slow. Thick billows of smoke form and the flavor between the burley and latakia begins to deepen and gain complexity.

Bottom of Bowl: The complexity of taste and aroma are sublime. Subtle yet satisfying while deep and rich. Already thinking of packing another bowl.

Overall: This is NOT a cheap drugstore blend. It is a very fine blend, masterfully crafted that brings lots of enjoyment. All this at a great price. This is a real sleeper that I feel many miss out on simply because it's a Middleton product. That's okay, cause thats just more for me!

Rating: Solid 4 out of 4 stars.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

SopwithCamel Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
SopwithCamel (256)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

Walnut is without a doubt, the best blend Middleton produces. It has a nice, rich, slightly smokey, slightly spicey, flavor. It isn't too wet. It packs well. It may have been available in drug stores at one time, but those days are long gone. An incredibly good tobacco for the price.

A good old timey American burley blend, with a hint of latakia. This was my introduction to Latakia, and as such will have a warm place in my heart.

I don't smoke this too much these days. I have other blends I prefer, but for a mild, inexpensive, American-English, you could do far worse. The only real down side to this blend, is that it can have an ashy finish. Worth a try. If you like it, you will save a bunch of money...

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Cohiba Coast 1 Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Cohiba Coast 1 (3)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

"Walnut" was my first experience with English blends and I find myself going back to it again and again. It contains just enough Latakia to offer a freindly introduction to the earthy, musty, smokey quality of that varietal without overwhelimng the newcomer.

Walnut lights easily and burns well after a couple of charring lights, producing just the right amount of smoke to unleash the harmony of the blend. The relatively high Burley content produces a delcious nuttiness that I really enjoy when my nose catches a whiff right off the smoldering bowl.

I enjoy Walnut most when smoked in a full bent pipe which places the bowl below and closer to the nose.

Though not as strong or full as many other English blends, Walnut is a great blend that I highly recommend. I give it 10 out of 10.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Spike Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Spike (296)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

A pleasant surprise. Tired of harsh tasting Latakias'? Give this a try. As the first pipe after work or during lunch in a medium or larger pipe. Smokes a bit fast as it is a finely shredded tobac. Very tasty indeed! Satisfies without hitting you over the head with too much nicotine.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

CaptnDan Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
CaptnDan (242)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable

= Be sure to read the last paragraph for an explanation of the overall rating awarded this tobacco=

The venerable Walnut. This one has been around for a while, and in fact, I have had a ?tub? of it for a while. I have put off trying it, half expecting it to be a typical drugstore tobacco trying to be more than it really is.

I was pleasantly surprised when I finally opened it up. The expected wet mess wasn?t there at all, and when rubbed between the fingers there is no greasy feeling to the leaf.

I know that this blend was named after a street, but I have to wonder if maybe the idea to do that didn?t come from the container aroma? It does have a bit of a black walnut aroma to it.

Walnut is a nice light English style blend without any flavorings added. There is a veritable smorgasbord of tobacco types in this mixture. Everything is quite well balanced, with no real complexity, just a well-rounded taste that is pleasant to smoke. Reach for this one when you want something that tastes good, but you don?t want to have to think about it as you smoke it.

If you factor in the price, this could possibly be one of the best values in the tobacco world. I?ll give Walnut 4 Stars on a modified scale. Compared to a Dunhill or Pease blend it would never rate anywhere near this high, of course. But keeping in mind that this is a Middleton blend ? essentially a drugstore tobacco, it?s worthy of the rating. It definitely stands head and shoulders above its peers.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Aldo Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Aldo (31)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

I'll go along with the crowd and give Walnut three stars, not so much as it is an outstanding tobacco, but rather because it is an outstanding value.

Well behaved in the pipe, smooth smoking, a relatively mild English tobacco. Most of the background taste is a smooth burley.

Certainly a bargain at the price and many steps above some of the other inexpensive English's I have tried.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

pop-pop's pipe Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
pop-pop's pipe (96)
★★★☆
Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable

I remember when I first tried this blend, I too thought it would taste like walnuts. I was surprised! Lightly sweet with an aroma of burning wood, and a rich taste. It is still the same today. The only thing with this blend and alot of other english blends is my pallet tires quickly and it becomes boring. I like english blends after a heavy meal. But I give walnut three stars for taste and consistency.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Meriadoc Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Meriadoc (5)
★★★★
Medium None Detected Full Tolerable

For a cheap, crummy, drugstore tobacco, this stuff is really good! Heck, for any class of tobacco it's good. There is a nice, mild tobacco flavor, free of casings or toppings, and none of the sour taste one occasionally finds in the so-called "drugstore" brands. While it lacks the tang of a Squadron Leader or Presbyterian Mixture, the taste is still highly appealing. It kept its mildness throughout the bowl,and burned to a fine white ash, with no glop or dottle left in the bottom.Walnut also lacked a bite, even when I smoked it hot. One caveat: the ash it produces is quite fine, so either smoke it outside or sitting down, so you won't be spreading ash throughout the room.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

justpipes Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
justpipes (1)
★★★★
Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant

Walnut is one of the nicest surprises I have come across in months. I had been reading post about it on one of the boards that peaked my interest in finding a very affordable all day smoke. Well I found it. I really like this tobacco. It is definitely a Burley based blend with a fair amount of what appears to be Red Virginia that probably accounts for the sweetness although it is subtle. There are a few black flecks that are the Latikia and bright yellow flecks that appear and taste like a Turkish leaf. The Burley is almost a plug cut and the Virginia is a short ribbon cut. What I have tried so far has been free of any humicants (PG) or other preservatives. I really like that aspect of Walnut. It has just the right moisture content out of the tub. It packs and lights very well not even really needing a relight except for the customary initial tamp and relight. I find it to be very flavorable with a slightly sweet and spicey combination yet not complex. This flavor remains constant all the way through the bowl. the tobacco burns cool and even all the way down to a light gray ash. In my humble opinion this is a great economical all day smoke. Simple and pleasureable. I will have this on hand from now on.

justpipes

Nobody has rated this review yet.

WNDE Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
WNDE (69)
★★★★
Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant

I agree with previous reviewers that this is a great all-day smoke for English lovers because it does taste well and it is extremely affordable if you are going to smoke a lot. I wish there was a little more Latakia in this however, because I really like the smoky taste Latakia brings to an English blend. I?ve certainly tasted better quality English blends but for puttering around you can?t beat the combination of taste and price on Walnut. This is a good, solid, mild English blend and I smoke it on a regular basis because I always have to watch the pocketbook. Pipestud said this is a hard brand to locate, and not to sound like and advertisement, but I buy this at JR Cigar and it only costs $13.50 for the 12 oz. canister and it is always in stock. Helluva deal I think.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Fazby Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Fazby (36)
★★★☆
Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable

I, too, like this one. For references, this actually reminds me (or perhaps the others remind me of this one as it is probably older) IRC International and C&D Americana. No, they are not identical, but they are similar enough you could see which you prefer.

For price, however, this one will win.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Noorrmm Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Noorrmm (193)
★★★☆
Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable

My first "English" blend. I tried it because everyone said it smelled like s**t, but didn't bite. The taste was a revelation, i actually tasted like tobacco, not perfumes. It's a nice variegated, mostly medium color short cut that packs easily. The aroma is that of a mild English/American blend wih Burley and Virginia noticeable first. The Orienal and Laakia are lighter, but wimpy. There is some PG present, which makes it a bit sticky to pack, and doesn't let the blend dry out at all. It doesn't come through in he taste however, which is a very pleasant melange of all the ingedients. An excellent intro to English style tobaccos, and a very good all day smoke. Also an extremely good value.

Nobody has rated this review yet.

Mike Reviewed By DateRating StrengthFlavoringTasteRoom Note
Mike (1)
★★★★
Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant

First off, let me say that one should not be misled by the name "Walnut". This tobacco was named after the street on which the orginal manufacturer resided (over 100 years ago) rather than to suggest that the blend has a walnut topping. Having said this, I will begin this review by saying that Walnut was one of the first tobaccos that I smoked when I began to enjoy the pleasantries of pipe smoking over 35 years ago. At that time, I made my weekly journey to the Lane Pipe Shop on 42nd Street and Lexington Ave. in New York City. And after having feasted my eyes on some of the most beautiful Charatans in existence, I would take the subway back to Brooklyn, making sure to stop at the drugstore by the bus stop so that I could pick up my weekly ration of Walnut. Now I know that the idea of "drugstore blends" make some folks shudder; but let me say that Walnut is not a blend that falls within this category. Yes, it may have been sold in drugstores but it is hardly a drugstore tobacco.

Upon opening the 12 ounce plastic can, one is first met with a rich somewhat sweet aroma of a predominantly medium brown colored tobacco. It packs easily in the bowl and lights quite nicely also. The flavor of the tobacco is mildly sweet with just a hint of Latakia coming through--ever so small but enough to complement the overall taste. The flavor is consistent throughout and the dottle is minimal. The smoke is a dry one which makes it exceedingly nice for those who prefer full bend pipes and Oom Pauls. The ash produced is of a light grey color. No bite was detected. This was true for all the pipes I smoked with this blend which included a variety of Charatans, Dunhills, and Castellos--bent as well as straight.

After smoking an endless number of higher grade tobaccos which included over the years Dunhill's Early Morning Pipe, McClelland's Mature Virginia's and Orientals, Sobranie 759, and Butera's Mature Ribbon--to name just a few--I believe that Walnut can easily hold its' own against these and any others. True, it is not a replacement for Balkan Sobranie but then again it does not try to be one. It is a light, mild English which makes a wonderful all day smoke.

If you are somewhst self conscious, embarrased, or whatever from buying or ordering Walnut through your local tobacco shop (you shouldn't be) then order a can over the telephone or through the Internet. Your palate and wallet will thank you.

Nobody has rated this review yet.